We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I cannot say enough about the service at this resort. Every member of the staff went out of their way to assure we were happy. They kayak instructor helped my daughter with a sand castle to keep her entertained! Poolside service, restaurants, housekeeping and concierge all were very attentive, and always had a smile.

The food was fine, but not great. Restaurants were far better than the buffet. The best meal we had was the Mexican fiesta nite poolside - I wish they did more Mexican food at the resort. They clearly have good chefs, but it seems a waste to try to create Asian or Italian that's average when they could have great local seafood and regional cuisine.

We did not have to wait to get a table (5 minutes at the most) at any restaurant or the buffet at any time of day, and we found there were no issus with the dress code. Other reviewers have commented on this and while we did not go on the Secrets side, the Now side allowed shorts at all restaurants, and t-shirts were fine at breakfast and lunch. We did not see anyone turned away.

The entertainment was good and varied. The outdoor amphetheater was nice and had drink service up until show started.

The rooms are fine, good size bathroom, and nice balcony; the floors could be cleaner, but weren't dreadful. The closet shelves were dusty. The pillows are terrible! If you have a neck or sleeping issue, bring one from home.

The location was good, as it was close to town, but the beach was a bit noisy w/ jet skis for our liking. It was not as rocky as I imagined based on other reviews - fine to walk in and swim (there are rocks, but small smooth pepples, not large rocks that are actually dangerous).

I was pleasantly surpirsed that all-inclusive was really all included. It was our first AI, and we were expecting added fees for different restaurants, drinks, etc, like on a cruise ship, but found that there were no hidden costs. We were not asked about timeshare or membership after check in, which was also a nice surprise. Would stay at this chain again.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, higher floors will be quieter, especially if there is a wedding at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluedog67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,835
    663
    210
    74
    49
See reviews for
1,219
951
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We just returned home from an awesome week at Now Amber in Puerto Vallarta. Absolutely 1st class from start to finish. Fabulous room, excellent restaurants and the service is amazing. Although I wished they cleaned our room a little earlier as by late afternoon I was ready to go for a rest and they'd be wanting to clean the room then. But the staff work so hard....especially around the pool area where they are so accommodating and do everything to make you happy. So I was disappointed to see that many people didn't tip for anything. These waiters work so hard for so little....they have families too and depend on tips....come on people...loosen up! The only downside is the sales people wanting you to check out the time shares....but just firmly told them we weren't interested in that. Otherwise....loved this place!

Room Tip: Because of the clam shell design of the resort....the noise does travel upwards to probably all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Now Amber. It's a great place to stay with kids - the staff is wonderful to children. The setting is beautiful, especially the lobby, which is a gorgeous place to have a pre-dinner drink. We also really enjoyed relaxing by the pool. Leonardo was our server at the pool several days during our stay, and he was phenomenal ... friendly, helpful, and energetic. Sit wherever he's working while you're there! And order the iceberg beer cocktail - a new favorite I'd never heard of before. The food at the restaurants was just okay, and the buffet by the pool was pretty bad, so have lunch at the indoor restaurant buffet if you can drag yourself out of the sun. We generally had dinner off the property and came back so our kids could enjoy dessert from the hotel buffet. My major complaint is that the wifi access is basically non-existent, unless you're sitting in the lobby. I was almost never able to get online when I was at the pool or in our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Your first steps into Now Amber's lobby will depict your vacation. The MOST amazing lobby! Now Amber has the perks of a super-huge resort but perfect size if you don't want to walk far! The food is amazing, rooms are all ocean front, kid club is tops. Not much action for teenagers though. This is not you activity driven resort. Even though there are organized activities, it is not the focus. Close to town, close to airport. The only downsides are the inability to walk miles and miles on the beach and the rocky sand. But...it is the Pacific.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mkrempp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Place was great, nice rooms, decent food. Gustavo made the trip with his pool side service. Take 5 steps out the gate for the $25 massage. Overall great trip, only negative point is the WiFi sucked pretty badly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Gustavo is the best server ever! Get pool side and enjoy his company and top notch service! The view is Amazing. For being kinda of shy guy I found the place to be very safe, clean and above all Amazing!

But seriously you have to try the lobster bisque, it's amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmazedTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Returned from now amber on Sunday, was there for 1 week and the resort is AMAZING! The service is the best service i have had at any resort. A special thanks to our server by the bar pool MARIO! or as he called himself SUPER MARIO. He got our names the first day and our favorite drinks and did not forget them the whole week. He would have our drinks topped up and we wouldnt even know it. Look for him by the pool bar, his service was out of this world. The rooms are very nice, new and clean. Room tip make sure you get one on higher floor as those give you the best view. We didnt get bugged by the time share people too much. They regular rooms are just fine there is no need to update to preferred. All the alchohols premium and they will say you cannot use the secret side but we did not have anybody stop us. One thing i did not like about this resort though is how picky they were for the dress code. Collered shirt for breakfast and lunch buffet ! COME ON! its a beach ! and if you dont wear a shirt then they will provide you with one which is the same as what servers wear. Also dont bother going to there spa as you will find 3 - 4 just outside the resort gate for much cheaper i believe $25/Hr for the full body massage and they are very good at it. The Activities were cool and shows were good. The pool bar did close at 6 which is a bummer because sun does not go down till 8ish. A Quick advise however, Get one of those tumbler mugs which keeps things cool and are about 32oz in size, you can easily find one at walmart or target. They will keep your drink cool and you wont have to go to the bar everytime, the servers will also fill them up for you. Overall very good trip and will def return to this resort in the near future.

Room Tip: Anything above 6th floor is good and swim out pool rooms are not very private so i would avoid those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#15 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,450 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,424 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,760 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Property: Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing