We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best meal ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best meal ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just back from a meal at the NOW Amber/Secrets and had the best meal I've had in a long time, but it was made more special by Francisco's service, along with the best camarones I've seen. Could write more but that is the most important point.

Room Tip: even lead in room was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    599
    190
    66
    45
See reviews for
1,110
886
41
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week long trip at the Now Amber & it was fabulous. We travelled with our two children (ages 5&6) and the resort lived up to our expectations. It is a smaller resort than we are used to with just over 300 rooms but that made it ideal for traveling with children. There was never far to walk and everything was there when you needed it. The downside to the resort being small is that when they are setting up for an event at the end of the day (4pm), you may be asked to move from your seats because they are doing set-up. It is a bit of an inconvenience since at that hour the pools are still quite full and finding new chairs can be near impossible.
Our children didn't make extensive use of the kids club but while they were there, they were entertained, and well supervised.
We were on the preferred club side & the only advantage we noticed with that was the free wifi, but if that isn't important to you, I wouldn't pay for the upgrade.
The beach is very rocky and the waves quite big, as well as there being a lot of jellyfish. So, if you want a lounger by any of the pools, you want to be up early to reserve your spots.
We were on the 3rd floor of the preferred side (great room, always cleaned well) and the only major problem we had was that there was a private event going on one night with a band and we could hear every song, shout-out & squeal that accompanied a very boisterous crowd. Normally when we are on vacation that wouldn't be a problem, but since we were traveling with our children, the music that didn't stop until nearly midnight was a huge problem in getting & keeping them asleep. There is very little sound barrier from the balcony doors (you can hear the waves crashing at night with the doors closed tight) so if you want a bit more peace & quiet, perhaps request a higher floor.
Overall, it was a fantastic vacation & a great spot for our children to experience their first all-inclusive resort.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Seachele1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The biggest reason I am giving this resort a terrible rating is to bring attention to the fact that if you go here you will be harassed and lied to in an attempt to join their rewards club. They are no different than the people at the airport selling timeshares offering crap you don't want. Once they get you inside they'll hound you for hours to join!!! The resort by itself is fairly nice and as long as you are tipping like you're a money tree, it could be enjoyable, however if you decide to travel here you'd better make sure there are no corporate conferences scheduled during your stay!!! We had 6 nights at the Now Amber, 4 of which were completely wrecked by 200 drunken women. The resort catered mostly to them including closing off large sections of the resort for their activities. After 2 days of dealing with drunks we requested to move next door, even after joining their "rewards club" we were told there was nothing available, yet there wasn't even half as many people over there. We toughed it out, came home with the usual gut ache from watered down drinks, and generic buffet food only to find the down payment we made wasn't included in our package it was "closing costs". DO NOT TRUST ANYONE AT NOW AMBER OR THEIR AFFILIATES!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay up near Punta Mita, much nicer area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank katie_acker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just returned from a week at Now Amber. This was our first trip to PV and we enjoyed every minute of it. As the title says this is a Fantastic Resort; absolutely beautiful setting, gracious, helpful staff, with great food and drinks. I did the research and picked this resort, I was praised for that decision all week. We especially enjoyed our time in the Tamarindo Restaurant with the Mariachi band entertaining us while we ate. Martin, Hugo, Reynaldo & Juan - talented and fun. They made my mother's trip! Be sure to tip them, it means so little to us and so much to them! Highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: we were on the 10th floor - quiet with spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TammyF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor,WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Flew in from Milwaukee - March 23-30. Weather was perfect 85-88 every day. Short drive from airport.
Having stayed at Dreams and Secrets resorts in the past, my wife and I knew what to expect. Cool towel and drink upon arrival after a short 15 ride from airport.

The view from the lobby is spectacular at all times of day, went there most every night for a wonderful sunset.

Service from all wait staff, especially at pool and beach was outstanding. I tip a couple bucks every couple rounds which I am sure helps.

Lots of Canadiens, which were all so friendly and fun. Met all kinds of great people! Great resort, always clean, food was very good. We ate Italian, Mexican"great mariachi band",Japanese and French. Get the Ribeye at the French, long time for service though. Ate Japanese twice!

Hot tub was actually hot, not like at all resorts. Swim up pool was always entertaining.

Wi-fi is terrible, never had access. That was the only drawback.

I would recomend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank SlickWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed at the Now Amber March 25 to April 1, 2014. We travelled as a family of four with 2 kids - 7 and 8.

This is only my second time to PV and my second AI. This time around, the trip was so much better (feel free to see my post about last year's resort). The Now Amber was a little more expensive than our first trip but worth the extra money.

Some of the pluses? The lobby is beautiful. The staff working in the lobby are attentive and friendly, always there to ask if you would like a drink. Each night, they had a entertainment in the lobby, either a singer, or someone playing the harp ... just playing softly in the background. It was a great way to end the day.

The rooms are large and clean. Large bathroom. Loved the nightly turndown service. And they left an itinerary of the activities happening the following day.

Food - good, not great. There was so much variety that you should have no issue finding something you like. Loved the coffee shop.

Entertainment - I thought the entertainment was excellent. You could be as active or sedentary as you wanted. Bingo by the pool, water aerobics, yoga, black jack, and so much more. Or just lounge by the pool. The nightly entertainment was awesome. The 80's rock band was the absolute best. But each nice was good.

The pools. 3 pools and a hot tub. One shallow for the little kids and attached to that was one that had a slide. Another pool had basketball nets. Very fun. And then the pool where those without kids hung out ... that one had a swim up bar. Great bar and food service at the pools.

Check-In - we were greeted upon arrival with a cold cloth and a glass of champagne. Very nice. Check-in was fast.

I didn't visit the spa as it was expensive. There are massage places right outside the resort. $25.00 for 60 minute massage. A few steps from that are an OXO and souvenir shops. Also, within a five minute walk from the resort is a grocery store. Great for picking up coffee, vanilla, or whatever you're looking for.

A few negatives of the hotel? We didn't get the room we booked. We booked a room with double beds and got a room with a king. Certainly not idea for a family of four. We did ask 3 separate times if they would let us know when a room with 2 beds came available and were told that none would be available during our stay. I find that a little hard to believe. It wasn't that busy while we were there.

Time share push. They can call it whatever they want, but trust me...time share! My husband and I were both left with an icky feeling after it was over. We didn't want to be rude but there comes a point after 2 hours of smiling and nodding our heads that we had to end it. It ended abruptly but thankfully, it ended.

Would I go back to this resort? Maybe. Would I recommend it. Yes. Just be prepared for the time share attack.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IDF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, Director General at Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
IDF_13,

We are thrilled to know that we exceeded your previous All Inclusive experience. Now Amber’s concept is unlike what many travelers have experienced in the past. We transcend and break the AI standards with our Unlimited-Luxury® concept. Going beyond the basic and stepping into true pampering of our guests with into filling gourmet meals and top shelf spirits for your enjoyments throughout your stay.

It is very satisfying to know that our modern architecture in your well-appointed suite and throughout the resort was also to your liking and that you enjoyed the entertainment provided by our Entertainment Team while being catered to by our courteous staff.

Although we very much appreciate you supporting local businesses It is important to mention that although the massage parlors down the street seem to be cost effective, please know you take their service at your own risk. On your next visit, allow our world-class spa by Pevonia an opportunity to truly pamper you. Our certified masseuses will gently guide you through our state of the art Hydrotherapy Circuit, nourish your with fresh rejuvenating Chlorophyll and envelope you in Zen. If you thought our suites, bars and restaurants were great; our Spa will truly mesmerize you.

We apologize for not having met your bed type request and any inconvenience it may have caused, please know that bed types are provided based on availability and not guaranteed. We encourage our guests to contact the resort directly with ample time so that our staff can prepare accordingly.

The Unlimited Vacation Club by AMResorts is an exclusive travel club whose members VIP privileges in Mexico and the Caribbean. It is an opportunity many take advantage of and it is meant to enhance your stay. Our guests should never feel coerced into participating and should they feel anything less than welcomed we encourage them to ask for a manager immediately.

Lastly, we love hearing about what our guests enjoyed and welcome the opportunity for growth based on what our guests, the experts share with us. We will take a closer look into how we can better our gourmet dishes and hope to share them with you on your next visit. We look forward to having you again soon.

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We just returned from 7 days at this amazing resort. This was our first family trip to PV and we were very impressed with this resort. We had a junior suite in the preferred club side. I would recommend the preferred side: you have your own separate check in (with champagne), you are in a separate building with your own elevator, bar, snack bar and host. All rooms have an amazing view of the resort and ocean. We fell asleep and woke to the sound of the waves lapping up on the beach. Our 6 year old loved the private jacuzzi on the deck. The room was very nicely appointed with many toiletries. The room was cleaned every day before noon and the mini bar and snacks were replenished at around the same time. My only "complaint" (which isn't really a complaint) is that the beds in the junior suite are small (two doubles). Would be nicer to have a king and a double. The hotel had 4 pools, 3 of which we used (water slide pool, swim up bar pool, and sport pool). All were great, but the swim up bar pool got a bit busy with people looking for drinks by mid afternoon. The pools were constantly being cleaned and, for that matter, so was the resort. Never a speck of garbage or dirt anywhere. The beach was amazing. Yes, the water is cooler (but we needed it for the hot weather) and yes there are rocks under the sand which make it slightly less comfortable to walk out into the water, but it was so clear and refreshing. I recommend kayaking in the morning when it's not so rough. There was a ton of activity going on and you could participate in as much or as little as you liked. There always seemed to be a beach volleyball game going on. The entertainment staff did not "pester" anyone to join in the activities, but everyone knew what was happening and when (the hotel handed out a daily activity sheet). We used the gym which was very clean, cool and nice and the tennis court which was very hot by late morning. The food was terrific and there was always lots of it at all times of the day. Our favourite was Hamitsu. A nice addition was the coffee shop where you could stop in for a cappuccino any time. For lunch there was always something new on the pool deck. One day it was paella, the next was fajitas, the next was a full blown buffet. The staff was incredible. Very friendly, excellent service, and very professional. Special hello to our favorite bartender Eloy!

Some tips:

1) pay the extra for the preferred suites - it was worth it!
2) have a drink every night before dinner in the hotel lounge - the view is spectacular!
3) take a trip to the Malecon and even wander down the side roads - there are some nice art galleries and shops off the boardwalk.
4) eat at Cafe Des Artistes a few blocks off the Malecon - one of the best dining experiences we ever had.
5) go have a massage at the place across the street (blue building) - cheap ($25), clean, cool and a terrific massage!

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank happyfamilycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
2.9 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,321 reviews
20.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Property: Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing