We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Romantic Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #17 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Romantic Resort”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We were taken care of from the time we arrived. The beach is smooth and beautiful, every room has a stunning full view of the ocean. Housekeeping for our stay was a bit spotty, had to phone housekeeping late in the day twice to get our room made up. Somehow we kept getting skipped. The staff all are smiling, happy, and seem genuinely pleased to assist you. We did not use the Spa, but wife received a wonderful massage for about 1/3 rd the price just outside the main gate at Healing Hands. While the Carnival buffet is a terrific breakfast spot, I would suggest avoiding it for any other meals...ver inconsistent food. We enjoyed Castaways for casual lunches and dinner, and food was perfect each time. Highlight of our resort dining experiences had to be Himitsu. We made reservations for the Teppanyka table, and while our chef wasn't as proficient of a showman as we observed at other tables, he was personable and the food was exquisite! In the evenings, the atmosphere is stunningly romantic. However, we learned that we had booked the "family friendly" side of the resort...which translates into LOTS of kids in June. Next time, we'll book the Secrets side of the resort that is children free.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TightTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    630
    201
    71
    45
See reviews for
1,165
928
42
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Six of us stayed at this resort. Two families (four adults, two children). The grounds are beautiful, everything is very clean, the food is great, there are good choices for variety of restaurants. The dress code isn't necessary but they do enforce it (long pants and collars for men). Beni at the preferred club was so nice and helpful and Antonio at Carnival was great. All the staff were very friendly! Every single room has a ocean view, even the garden view rooms. The garden view are the first few floors and the ocean view are the higher ones - all are awesome. We stayed at the preferred club but honestly the extra perks really aren't worth the extra cost because the entire resort has such good amenities - really don't worry about spending the extra money and use the difference to tip the great staff.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view. Really, every room is awesome and the preferred club just isn't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzan2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

10 of us stayed at the Now Amber preferred club and the concierge made sure we were all on the same floor. The service was superb, Beni and Nicholas made the best drinks. Fernando gave us the special shots and kept the drinks coming, he even went above and beyond and helped us move umbrellas to our area. Antonio took care of us at breakfast at the buffet.The food at the restaurants was delicious. We tried the Mexican, Japanese, Seafood, and the Market Cafe at the Secrets resorts. Felipe, with olympus tours, was the best, he made sure we booked the excursions we wanted and stayed late while we made arrangements. He always met us before we left and ensure we had water and arrived at our destination. Thanks Now Amber for making our vacation an experience to remember forever

Room Tip: preferred club is the way to go, we wish we would have had the swim out pool...next time we will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJones514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having stayed at other Now and Secrets resorts, we already knew what to expect from the way of food and beverage service. It's all top shelf and the restaurants are all top notch. The location of the resort is absolutely perfect, 15-20 min from the Airport depending on traffic and only a 20 min casual walk to the downtown area of PV. The property itself is situated perfectly so that when you get to the check in area, all you see is ocean and not another resort on either side (see photos).

The property is split in two parts, the Now on the North side and the Secrets on the South side. We knew that they were attached properties so paying extra for the Secrets/Adults only side didn't make much sense to us seeing as how you share all the restaurants in the complex. Something to make note of in case your looking for a true adults only experience. We also didn't care because of the time of year we traveled and didn't expect to see many children at the Now side (which we didn't).

Check in was smooth but the room wasn't ready due to our early arrival so we just changed into our bathing suits and went to the beach for the afternoon. The beach area is nice for long walks but the locals selling on the beach is about the worst of any beach resort I've been to in Mexico. The staff even let some come up all they way onto the decking area close to the pool to try and sell the tourists. I know they can't stop them from using the public beach but on the AM Property itself? It can from time to time harsh your calm.

If you haven't been to the AM Resort chain yet, don't get fooled into their 'time share' program. It's not a time share but a club where you pay, in advance, for the possibility of saving on future stays. You are only supposed to be in a presentation for 90 minutes, which for us turned into almost 2.5 hours. The money they say you save is based on their 'inflated' nightly rate, which I have never paid at one of their resorts ever (I have stayed at 5 different AM Properties). Paying in advance for stays guaranteed to be better than the standard nightly rate I would do. You do get a resort credit for the time you spend with the sales staff; so you'll have to weigh the value of the wasted half day for yourself.

A recommendation to AM Resorts: Put together a decent repeat customer program since I can't believe I'm the only person that really likes the Secrets and Now Resort chain philosophy. They do know what they are doing when it comes to providing a good travel experience. On our last day, our server Javier presented us with a 'so long' dessert (see photo) after breakfast that was really nice and unexpected. Totally recommend the Now Amber PV!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views,,, no need to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Brand new, had a 2500 sq.ft. Ocean Front. Deck amazing,lounge chairs so comfortable! Bathroom wonderful,could use better lighting. Got a deal because it was so new, but now very expensive. Restaurants great,night life quiet. Go out the front entrance,turn left and Healing Hands is right therefor a massage! 20 bucks, wonderful! We would be back in a minute ,had they not raised all the prices. Secrets is also very nice, they share restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My hubby and I spent a week here in Jan. We only stay in AMResorts and so far put this location high on our list!! We stayed in the preferred club and highly recommend it. The food was very good, drinks were plentiful and the staff paid high attention to detail. Neither of us have a single complaint for the whole week. The negative reviews of this place baffle me.
I am returning here with my co-workers in September for a girls week. If it comes even close to the experience we had in January my co-workers are in for a real treat!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishprincess75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First of all, loved that the resort isn't far from the airport. Upon arrival we were greeted with cold drinks/little snacks while we got checked in nice chairs facing the open air with a view of the pools, palm trees and the ocean. The resort itself is beautiful, new and looks it. An added bonus is that it's next door to Secrets (same ownership) so you have more restaurant options (it's adults only so if traveling with kiddos will need to put them in the Explorer's club.) We tried all the restaurants except the Japanese one and were impressed with all of them. The Italian one was our favorite and the French one at Secrets had the best desserts. Another treat was the early afternoon fajita set-up by the pool area. So tasty! The kids club was definitely the coolest kids club I've ever seen vs. other hotels and cruise ships (we were traveling with our two kids, eight and 12.) They have an in-ground trampoline, rock climbing wall, mini-soccer field, regular trampoline with bungie cords and several playground equipment sets and the girls that worked there were so nice. Every evening housekeeping does a turndown service and leaves the next day's itinerary. Always packed with activities throughout the day including at the kids club and there's always some type of show at night (comedy, dance, fire show etc.) Some of the shows were better than others but still entertaining enough. The entertainment staff was GREAT! From organizing beach soccer, volleyball, water polo, tequila tastings, always something going on. The wait staff was very friendly in all areas, bars, restaurants. There was an incident that happened which made me even more impressed with the hotel and staff. Midway through our trip my son and daughter collided on the water slide and my son cut his chin. Immediately, a staff member came over and within minutes someone came down with a first aid kit. It wasn't a wide cut but deep enough for stitches. Was worried that we'd have to go to the hospital which was NOT appealing at all, then found out that there was a doctor/office at the hotel/on-site and since it just required two stitches it was taken care of right there! They even had the antibiotic and pain medicine delivered to us. WOW...so well handled! A doctor is there every day until 8pm so every evening for the remainder of the trip we would take our son back for the wound to get cleaned/fresh bandage. My son now is very proud of his expensive (actually not that bad cost-wise considering), permanent souvenir. We did two excursions while there...highly recommend the zoo...for an extra charge you get to hold tiger cubs and play with monkeys...even get to feed several different types of animals including parrots, flamingos and a GIRAFFE...it was awesome!! Other excursion was to a beach Las Moletas (sp?) that was a boat ride to a beautiful beach with snorkeling, kayaks, paddle boards, small ziplines for kids, donkey rides etc. Also included a nice lunch and unlimited drinks. Speaking of beaches that's the only thing that was a bit of a disappointment. We have been to Cancun and Cozumel with Corona commercial worthy beaches and that's not what you'll get here. Water still blue but don't plan to snorkel at the hotel. Also, there are a lot of rocks where the waves break so bring water shoes! My husband and I did some walks on the beach which were nice...if facing the beach make a right. You'll get approached to buy all sorts of things but when you say "no thank you", they were all very good about saying ok and walking away. Overall, was a fantastic trip with the resort being a big part of what made our trip so great. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Puerto Vallarta!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mediagirldallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,505 reviews
2.9 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,642 reviews
8.8 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Property: Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing