We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Now Amber Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel was great! The drinks, food, atmosphere and staff were amazing. The pictures don't lie. There is nothing the staff wouldn't do for you. Abraham and Reuben (lobby bar staff) were very hospitable and gave us tips on where to go and how to make sure we didn't get taken advantage of. You can stay at the posh resort or step outside and get the real feel of Mexico. We booked an ATV tour through Kukuican which was cheaper than the packages offered at the resort. Massages at Healing Hands were $25/hour walking distance from the resort. Basically we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amber side instead of Secrets, but we got a chance to see the other rooms and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshandBrittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,420
    489
    151
    51
    32
See reviews for
881
733
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

love it, great for kid(7 year old), great food, great service, dont miss the sushi restaurant.
enjoyed the prefered club breakfeast, benni at the bar and Adriana for evening concierge.
and we had Nancy from kid club babysitting our daughter when we went out one night, she was
great too.
will consider going again

Room Tip: really enjoyed the prefered club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlb699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I booked this vacation as we needed a break from busy lives. Now Amber provided us with just what we needed to relax and unwind. I had read many of the reviews on this site so I had a pretty good idea of what to expect. I will start by saying that yes, the time share sales staff is highly aggressive. I made it clear from the time of arrival that I was checking in and had no intentions of taking their tour. They then left us alone until two days prior to our leaving when Gina called our room. My husband did stop by the desk to speak with her. She scheduled a "romantic dinner" on the beach for us. When my husband attempted to cancel, she told us that it was too late and that we would be responsible for the 200.00 charge. I simply told her that this was unacceptable and that she could take it up with my credit card company. We never received the charge. Do not feel pressured by these individuals. You are on vacation and obligated to no one!
The hotel itself is beautiful! Everything was lovely and clean. We had a gorgeous room on the fifth floor. The view was wonderful although we did not have a clear edge to our patio and standing was required to see the view. There are approvimately 6 rooms like this on the fifth floor. We tipped our maid daily and she took exceptional care of us. We also tipped the gentleman who stocked our refrigerator on the day of our arrival and asked that he return freguently. He accepted the tip and we never saw him again. When I needed the refrigerator stocked, I would stop at the front desk or call room service and it was always taken care of. As far as location, the hotel does not have any excitement in close proximity. We did walk back from town once, but it was a long walk and we did not feel entirely safe. We grabbed taxis and it was a 6.00 ride each way. The vendors in the city were also very aggressive and made site-seeing less enjoyable as well.
The food. We did not enjoy the food as much as some others have commented. It was typical all inclusive food. The restaurants were generally slow and service not fabulous. Also, it is required that men wear collared shirts and pants in the restaraunts which is ridiculous when you are on vacation at the beach. We tended to eat at the buffet or the cove outside where the fish tacos were pretty awesome. We also tended to order room service which was faster and tastier. We also ate poolside on several occassions which was also fun.
The service. Overall, the Now Amber staff was fabulous. The service in the lobby bar as well as the servers at the pool could not have been better. Gustavo, you are the best! He was always poolside with a fresh drink or food without having to order! We did make sure to tip all of the wait staff in the hotel as well as at the pool. These people work hard without great salaries and we made sure to reward them for their efforts. I did not see many others doing this but keep in mind that you are paying for your hotel, food and flight when you book an all-inclusive. You are not paying for service.
I cannot say that I will return to this hotel again but it was a lovely, relaxing stay. I will also mention that the beds were comfortable and we slept with the patio doors open every night! If we do decide to return, most likely we would stay on the Secret side, which is the exact replica of Now Amber but it is for adults only. The walls are thin and we had a crying baby for the last two nights.
The beach. Not fabulous. The beach was rocky and not what I have experienced previously in PV. It is short and not much length for walking. Also, the vendors are ruthless and will not leave you alone. Families seemed to be spending the majority of their time at the pools which were all lovely.
I felt that this was a nice hotel for the value and can recommend it as long as you are not expecting too much in the way of food. Our vacation was very relaxing and that was the desired goal!

Room Tip: fifth floor has some rooms that have a wall at the end of the balcony that you cannot see over witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Food was very nice, service was excellent. I felt some pressure with reps trying to sell time shares or vacations (I felt that I was constantly trying to avoid them- somewhat annoying ) Rooms are nice but are showing wear & tear which is not good for a resort only one year in business.
Desires dance club seems to need some energy. The club is nice looking, but the staff seems to expect the guests to do it on their own. The evening format is all hip-hot & euro beat, and the in house DJ says nothing all night.
Mabe I'm sounding bias, but I've been a DJ for many years, and my saying is when in doubt....take requests, read the crowd and create energy!
Other than that- they are trying, but let us approach you for time shares and future vacations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCSBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

ended up there [4-16 thru 4-23]on a square deal and was better then expected.been to about 20 ai's mexico and caribbean.food: was above average,bar: average,service: excellant,room: very nice once i got in what type of room i requested.the beach was awful,full of rocks and that is why i would not return[i am a beach person]. it was nice being able to go to the secrets side after 6pm[bar and restraunt use].i would recommend the amber,between the service and the food,it made for a good trip.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgo5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great location, the hotel was beautiful, staff was excellent, rooms were nice, food was good like always you just want a good pizza when you get home but lots of good choices. Drinks were some of the best. The only downfall was the beach was hard to walk and very rocky.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My title is in reference to a recent negative review. I seriously wonder if they stayed at the same hotel I did. I stayed the 15th thru the 19th as part of a large group (150+people). The resort is just beautiful with everything in close proximity. Rooms are lovely with great views (i was on 6th floor)
FOOD- The Carnival is the place for breakfast and is large, brightly lit with an amazing abundance of food from traditional breakfast items, fresh bakery products, bagel toppings bar, large selection of fruit, granola bar, at least 4 yougarts (loved the Mango), my gosh what else could you ask for. It's possible the writer was refering to the small food bar in the preferred sectioin that is meant to provide a small selection of nibbles if you don't want to go over to the Carnvial. The food was overal very good- ranged from ok to awesome (French restaurant- yummy), Once in a while something was not as warm as it could be but generally that wasn't a problem. Lunch options included the Carnival (large selection- some choices extremely tastey), with many people just covering their swimwuits to enter, Castaways by the ocean with great fish tacos, and pool food, with grilled items readily available (just ok) and a good sized buffet of Mexican choices put out about 2pm. You could also go to the coffee shop, with quick breakfast items in morning (pastries, yougart etc), and sandwiches and goodies the rest of the day (loved the apple strudel). Other reviewers have thorughly covered the wide Dinner choices. I went on the optional Kitchen Tour and was impressed by their sanitation (all fruits and vegs that will be served raw are rinsed in a santizing wash), and other efforts for food safety (meats, veggies, fruits etc are each prepared in their own special temperature controlled chilled rooms). I also learned (and saw) that all bakery products are baked from scratch on site. We did room service twice once for mid day snacks and once for midnight pizza. It all was good and served hot in less than 30 minutes.

ACTIVITES- The kitchen tour (guide was cheerful and helpful) was the only day activity I participated in (only 5 of us went on it) but the daily newsletter had a wide list of scheduled options, IF you take advantage of them.

STAFF- VERY FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING.- They never appeared confused to me at all. They were consistantly warm and welcoming even when we were in large group gatherings when they were clearly not expecting tips. They did need more bartneders at the pool bar, as they were often overwhelmed and take a while to fill orders.. Although they were very hard working, tipping did add a little extra cheerfulness to their demeanor. Tipping is especially appropriate at dinners and when one server is extensively helping you at the pool or beach. The staff seemed to make an extra effort to be engaging in their interaction with children. I would not hesitate to bring children here.

Other than the pool bar issues, the other opportunity area is consistant maid service. The maid service is not in sync with the high standards set for the rest of the resort. Day 1 room looked great, prompt turn down service. Day 2 room not made up till late in afternoon, prompt turn down service, Day 3 room not made up till after 6 pm so turndown sevice was done at same time. Day 4 they came by mid afternoon when we were in the room and gave us extra towels and we never saw them again- no maid service at all.. It was not a major inconvenience but clearly didn't fit with the standards clearly set for the rest of the resort.

Would not hesitate to highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views- upper floors have much less pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauricesbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
5.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
2.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#10 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,486 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Property: Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing