We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Can't wait to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Can't wait to go back!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked our honeymoon trip to Now Amber and were blown away from the moment we arrived!! All previous reviews were very helpful to give me tips so I want to do the same. The staff greeted us with champagne and cool towels as soon as we stepped out of the taxi. We had booked a premium junior ocean suite but were upgraded to the Secrets side (if you are not traveling with children I highly recommend the Secrets side). Our room was breathtaking with rose petals and a bubble bath drawn. We had a huge honeymoon banner on our door. The service staff is what made our experience Dutch a memorable one. Vanessa our concierge- incredible. Gilberto in the premium bar was extremely helpful as well and made great cocktails. Luis the lobby bartender was outstanding and made us his special drink that was amazing!! He gave us great tips and accommodated any of our needs. However ALL staff and I can't stress that enough were sooooooo friendly and made us feel VIP!! Everything was terrific and I can't wait to go back!! The food was better than any other all inclusive I have been to and the drinks were top shelf. I Reccomend Oceania and Himitsu but didn't get to try Bourdeaux. We loved loved it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annejohnson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,835
    663
    210
    74
    49
See reviews for
1,219
951
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friend and I scored a great deal at cheapcaribbean.com for this all-inclusive resort which has many restaurants (not just buffets) and activities. The resort is right on the beach so you have the option of any one of their pools or just take a few steps out onto the sand. Gorgeous views and the weather was great the entire time we were there (September 2012). Staff was amazing - service was comparable to what I received in 5 star hotels in the US. Calling you by name, arranging dinners and activities outside of resort, always asking if there is anything else they can do. Secrets is the adults only side but we manages to check it out since we didn't have kids and Now Amber is more family oriented. Activities are planned all the time - water aerobics, shuffleboard, etc. and everyone is very friendly. I would definitely stay here again! Make sure when you arrive at the airport to bypass EVERYONE until you are nearly outside. Pick up your bags and go through the airport to the very end. As you are literally walking outside you'll see someone in an orange golf shirt to take you to the resort. Don't get caught up in the time share presentations at the airport with all the people yelling at you that it just takes a minute of your time!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view if you go out on the balcony/patio. So, I wouldn't spend the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BeachGirl021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Now Amber Resort & Spa is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. While exiting the bus that brought us from the airport, hotel staff greeted us with wet towels and champagne. Check in process went smoothy and we did not have a problem with timeshare representatives (which was mentioned by a few reviewers). The lobby was spacious and had a great view. Our room also had an amazing view of the ocean, it was modern and well cleaned every day.
FOOD:
We had breakfast & lunch every day at the buffet downstairs, this was probably the only place I wasn't a fan of. The food there was simple and boring, and at times I felt that it wasn't fresh.
Our favorite place for dinner was Mexican and Asian Restaurants. We did not enjoy the food that much at the Italian Restaurant.
The gym was well equipped.
We had no problem swimming in the ocean at all, it did depend on the weather though, sometimes it was too dangerous to swim due to massive waves. The hotel offers free kayaking @ 11am, we did that a couple of times and had lots of fun ( no reservation needed ).
All of the pools were clean and had nice water temperature.
The music lounge downstairs was awesome ( similar to a club ).

Room Tip: Room service is free. Internet is free - good connection. If you run out of alcohol or feel like h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigerr08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

OVERALL: This resort (conjoined with Secrets Vallarta Bay) is upscale, lovely and well-appointed. I would welcome the opportunity to stay here again.

SERVICE: The service was plentiful, cheerful and pleasant. For an all-inclusive resort, I was quite pleased with the quality and variety of food (and I can be picky on this subject).

ROOM: My chief hesitation on not making 5 stars is the room size. We had a "Junior Suite Ocean View", which means a standard room above the 4th floor. Note that ALL rooms face the ocean, but the views from the lower floors are obstructed by the resort's gardens and greenery. We were in the main tower (not Preferred Club) and they call all the rooms there suites. Unfortunately, I felt the room was only somewhat larger than a regular Sheraton/Marriott room. The bathroom was larger than average (double sink, big shower & jacuzzi), but the only suite aspect was one chaise lounge that comfortably sat only one person. There was not a separate sitting area, which is what I expect for a "junior suite". Plus, balconies are narrow, which only allows room for a cocktail sized table and two cafe style chairs.

A few random tips:

TEPPANYAKI (@ HIMATSU): This is the only restaurant that requires reservations. The cooking "show" is engaging and quite similar to Benihana. Teppanyaki tables seat 12. Be sure to arrive on time! We showed up 10 minutes late (on "Mexican time") and were refused to be seated as the "show" had already started. Not to fret, we were invited to join the next seating time in place of 2 no shows (who arrived late and were also turned away from the Teppanyaki table). My suggestion - plan on arriving 30-40 minutes early and sit in the "regular" part of Himatsu and order some sushi, tempura and drinks.

BORDEAUX: This is the French restaurant that's only open some days. Definitely my favorite! I recommend this for couples - delightful menu and fantastic service. We were served a slow and delicous meal - a great night!

DRESS CODE: For the theme restaurants, men must wear long pants, collared shirts and closed toe shoes. We saw a guest turned away at Bordeaux because he was wearning sandals. Ladies should wear a skirt or dress.

SAND FLEAS: Apparently, there are lots of sand fleas in PV, and this resort is no exception. We left full of itchy bites. If you're concerned, bring bug repellent.

CONDITIONER: The hotel provides bar soap, shower gel, lotion and shampoo/conditioner combo. I'm not a fan of the combo, as I need a separate conditioner. Wish I would have known this. If you like a separate condiioner, bring your own.

MUSTY/MOLDY SMELL: Our bed linens had a musty/moldy smell even though they were changed daily. I believe this is due to the high heat and humidity of PV in early Sept., rather than a specific fault of the hotel.

TIPS: Technically, you are not expected/required to tip at all-inclusive resorts. However, we received lots of outstanding service and felt we should reward the waiters, bartenders, etc. We noticed they remembered us from one day to the next and provided us even more attention. Of course, this is totally up to you. But, if you subscribe to my philosophy, I recommend going to the bank prior and bring a bunch of $1 bills and a few $5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Measure of a place is "would you stay here again now that you've stayed at the hotel?". Whole-heartedly would say 100% yes! This place is two resorts in one:

Now Amber: Family friendly side
Secrets: Adults only side

My wife and I stayed on the Now Amber side given that it was cheaper than the Secrets side plus it was "off season" which meant not as many kids running g around. We splurged for the Preferred Tower" given that the Jacuzzi was on the deck overlooking the ocean. We loved sitting in the tub to start the day and end the day - gorgeous view while sipping coffee or drinking a cerveza from the tub!

The service is impeccable - cant say enough good things about it.

This is the AI place to go whether you are with your family or coming for a romantic couple get-away. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Putt4Doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just came back from our trip yesterday and couldn't wait to write a review. First time in Mexico and we had such a wonderful time. The service was amazing. We love our view from our room. 24 hours room service was a plus. We enjoyed the night entertainment and the live music. The food was great and the staff remember our names. The view from the lobby was amazing so we took a lot of pictures. Miguel from the pool area took care of us while we were there.

It was also safe to go outside the resort. We went to Malecon and went Tequila tasting. At night, we went dancing. We met a great couple and spent time with them.

We went Parasailing and it was an amazing experience. If you are not afraid of heights, you should do it.

We are def. going to visit Now Amber hotel again. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h0tcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Now Amber and have nothing but praise for the wonderful staff and stunning grounds. Unlike some of the other reviewers we were never once approached or hassled by any timeshare people, I don't even know where they're located in the hotel. And the other complaints regarding locals selling their goods on the beach were not an issue for us. All they may do is hold up their goods as they walk by you, we never had any issues with them at all.

Service - this is the absolute best service we had ever received at any hotel. Everyone works so hard and is always smiling, going out of their way to help you. They remember you by name and are always courteous and professional
.
Restaurants - the bonus is that there are no reservations necessary for the restaurants, only that they can be strict about the dresscode. My husband had to buy some shoes because he forgot to bring a closed toe shoe per dress requirement for some of the restaurants. The food is absolutely amazing!!! The presentation and flavor is unbelievable.. Our favorite was the Italian place. The Japanese food was delicious as well (even the sashimi!). The breakfast buffet was usually similar from day to day, but with the amount of food available you never get bored. We took advantage of the free room service and I ordered 5 different breakfasts one morning and just gorged!! I felt like a beached whale later at the pool. The drinks are premium brands by the way, and the blended drinks are all delicious!!
.
Room - we were just speechless when we got to the room. We had a basic junior suite and it was huge!! The modern decor was beautiful and the amenities covered anything you could possibly need. The balcony overlooks the ocean and the entire resort. We both took a bath in the jetted tub it was so large. There are his and hers sinks and tonnes of storage. They even have a pillow menu for those of you who need. The fridge is stocked daily with several bottles of water, four juice boxes, five coronas, four pops.

Pools - the pools were such a refuge in the scorching heat. We never had to get up for drinks because the pool waiters were constantly coming to take your drink order. We took part in the water aerobics and dance classes there as well. There were tonnes of lounge chairs available and you don't have the problem where people leave their beach towels on them to "reserve" them. The activities team did a great job trying to get people up, but with the heat most people preferred one of the 3 pools. There was beach volleyball, soccer, kayak tours, jetskis, and parasailing.

Gym - nicest gym at any resort I've stayed at. Five treadmills, four ellipticals, free weights, and universal gyms. There was a fitness instructor as well and I took part in his class one morning. If you've ever tried P90X - its like everything combined only harder. My abs were killing me the next day. Of course, you go at your own pace (mine was a snail's pace however). I think the gym is open at 6 am until 10 pm.

Internet cafe - anything you can get at a cafe back home plus yummy desserts you can get here. Free internet and printing, as well as grab and go snacks like cookies and tea.

Area - my hubby and I went to the massage parlour just outside the resort and got a 60-75 minute massage for about $25. We also did some exploring and walked to the mall/walmart which I do not recommend (holy heat) plus it took us about 30-40 minutes at a slow pace. The malecon was about a half hour walk away or a $6 cab ride. We also took the local bus to bucerias but ended up missing our stop and ended up in punta de mita. Its only $1 per person for the bus.

On another note, despite the rainy weather at night time we had a spectacular view of the thunder and lightning from the lobby. The pouring rain, sound of the waves, and breeze were a nice treat on the look out points.
Feel free to ask me any questions you may have!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Travelbug_ruverbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#15 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,453 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,424 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,760 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Property: Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing