We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our trip in Paradise!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Everyone kept telling us to go to the Mayan side for our first visit to Mexico, but we rebelled and chose Now Amber in Puerto Vallarta. We are so happy that we did. We (myself, my 7 year old son and my mother) spent 7 luxurious nights here from July 28th - August 4th, 2012. Now being a first-timer at the all-inclusive I may be a bit star-struck if you will, but I can say that our trip was a trip of a lifetime. Now Amber is an amazing property. My only complaints, and they are few, are that just as you are finishing checking-in, there are staff from the Unlimited Vacation Club that are pretty sneaky in making you think that they are going to give you the guided tour of the resort and show you to your room. These people are not doing that; they are trying to get you to see a presentation about a time-share. A polite no thank you, not interested and they backed off. However, I wasn't happy with how sneaky they were. They are literally right on you as you are checking-in at the desk. We found that the staff in the lobby i.e. the Concierege and the front desk were not overally helpful and accomodating. The rest of the staff in the entire resort were AWESOME! For being only 30% full, we were not very happy with the speed of the room service the one night that we ordered it. They say 35 minutes, it was 90 minutes. But the food was amazing. The only other weird thing were the times that they cleaned the rooms. Our room was being cleaned everyday at around 4-5pm. Not that big of a deal, but not great when you come home from a long day tour and want to shower, change etc. But really not a big deal. Those are our only complaints!

We don't speak much Spanish and found that we didn't have a language barrier at all with anyone. But we most definitely used what Spanish that we knew and they appreciate that. The resort itself, is such a beautiful, spa-like, open-aired and clean property. It was actually pristine while we were there. The rooms are very comfortable and exiquisite. The beds are firm, but comfortable. The bellman showed us around our room and showed us how the A/C worked and the TV/Satellite etc. This was handy as some of the switches are hiding behind the bedside lamp. There is also a trick with the do not disturb lights at the door. Make sure if you leave your room to turn off the do not disturb or else they will not come in and clean. If you are in your room early, put do not disturb on as they will just come in for turn-down service anywhere between 8-10pm. Also, the ceiling fan levels: 4 is low and 1 is high. We had requested a cot, but the bellman suggested we use the chaise lounge for my son instead. It was way better than a cot. Housekeeping made it up with sheets, pillow and duvet and he loved it! I liked the touch with the incense in the bathroom too. I had that going while having a jetted tub one night.

The pools are really nice and clean. We especially loved the kids pool as it has a small, but fun waterslide. There is a barefoot grill near the kids pool too that serves hotdogs, hamburgers and nachos and cheese all day. That came in handy! The servers around the pools and beach were great! They worked really hard! Shout out here to Lincy! Thank you for all of my pool-side "Red Skys"! The infinity pool is beautiful. That contains the swim-up bar which is fun.

The Explorer's Club for kids is great! You can drop your child off at 9:00am and pick them up at 9:45pm. They give you a pager and buzz you if your child needs you. They have different hourly programs for them and they take them for lunch and dinner. My son had fun there and the staff are all trained and have their First-Aid, CPR etc. The staff were great.

The restuarants were wonderful too. We had the buffet breakfast at Carnival every morning. We had dinner there once and it was really good. We had dinner at Caper's (Italian), Tamarindo (Mexican) and they were both delicious. The service was exceptional. We also had dinner at the Mexican Fiesta buffet and the Caribbean night buffet. Both delicious and really fun. Great entertainment and music. Our most favorite night was at Tamarindo. Our server was Juan and he was AWESOME!!! Thank you Juan! There was a 4 piece Mariachi band that were amazing and very entertaining. The food there was really good!

The Spa is unlike any spa I have ever been too. It is so beautiful and serene. The detail in the design is really something else. The services were fantastic and the hydrotherapy pools were wonderful!!

The beach was truly beautiful, but we spent more time at the pools. We just got inundated with vendors that we just had to leave. They were all really nice, but it was really annoying after a while. If you plan to spend time in the water at the beach, bring some water shoes (pool shoes) as it is quite rough on the feet in there. But the setting is absolutely beautiful.

The weather was great!! Averaged around 95 degrees F. everyday. Only at night while we were sleeping would it thunderstorm.

If you are considering staying at Now Amber you will not be sorry! It sure was worth every penny and we would go back in an instant! Great for families! If you don't have kids, I would say to stay at Secrets that is attached to Now. There were a lot of young families staying there while we were there which was great for us.

Room Tip: Personally we had the Garden Suite room on the 8th floor and it was amazing. Every room in the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank OriginalBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,841
    665
    211
    75
    50
See reviews for
1,227
953
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Looks nice because it's new. I purchased this with one child 10 yrs and 2 adults. Told by the air vacation company it was wonderful but they must not of had children. Not much to do for 10 yr old turns out they are not allowed in the other resort next door as that is an adult only club and again you pay for all the restaurants but cannot use them because children are not allowed again with most of the activities ie yoga tennis etc. we asked the rep about this issue of saying there is services but then their down to half once your here she offered to see if she could move us to Dream or another (have stayed there before and would of if the Canadian rep didn't recommend
This place as she had just been here.) The rep hear then told us for 800.00 we might be able to move. Make a long story short I,m very disappointed the vacation company and have always used them when traveling
So if your just adults coming the place is fine. I have been to puerto Vallarta many times and stayed at lovely hotels where the care, quality,services and activities we're much better so if you have children I would stay elsewhere. The workers do try and were generally good but due to lack of their english and our poor Spanish. We would get told one thing and try then be told we weren't,aloud because of the children rule. I,m still here for 7 more days at least it's puerto Vallarta

Chris from Alberta
Canada

Room Tip: This hotel is new but safety may be an issue when it rained they had to put towels everywhere In Or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chbaldwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We are very satisfied with Now Amber in PV! Although it is just our third night here ( staying for 7 nights), we are so happy with the service and the quality of food that I really want to write the review now using their free wifi!
Room: spacious, clean, modern decor, and with ocean view.
Service: very good! In fact, most of the Mexican are really nice people. They don't ask for tips. But Please tip these hard working and courteous people. I think they're extremely sweet and dear to all tourists in the city.
Food: we really like the food here! Great quality!

We are so glad that we picked this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DenCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I just returned from a fantastic two-week stay at Now Amber with my wife and 6-year-old son. We arrived late afternoon on July 21st and were greeted with champaign and checked in within minutes. We upgraded to a privilege room using the coupons from the resort to pay about 1/2 the cost. I was also approached about their vacation club but a polite "no thank you" was all it took and we were never asked again. Photos of the resort fail to capture its excellent layout and design. The open-air lobby is actually on the 3rd floor which provides a spectacular unobstructed view of the bay. Enjoying sunsets from the lobby bar is a must. Easily the best lobby of any resort I've stayed at.

Our room was on the 8th floor and also had a great view of the bay. We used the jacuzzi tub on the balcony a few times after spending our days at the pools or beach. The room was spacious
and tastefully decorated. The bed was firm but comfortable with nice bedding and we never heard noise from other rooms or the hallway. We had nightly turndown service and anytime we needed anything, there was someone at our room within minutes of calling. No problems here.

The food at the resort is uniformly excellent. We did not have a single meal that disappointed over the entire two weeks. We dined at Carnival (buffet), Castaways ( grill near the beach), Tamarindo (Mexican), Bordeaux (French), Capers (Italian) and had room service several times. We also ate in the ballroom on Caribbean night and for the Mexican Fiesta. We couldn't dine at Himitsu because it was adults only but we were able to order off its menu next door at Tamarindo. Service was always great although it was pretty slow at Capers. Castaways was our favourite because the food and service were just excellent. Make sure you also visit the coffee shop behind the lobby for a cappuccino or frozen coffee drink.

Our son visited the kids' club four or five times during our stay and always enjoyed himself. He received a t-shirt, hat and backpack filled with crayons and some activity booklets upon his first visit and was given a bag of candy on our last day. They had a good variety of activities planned each day and it was obvious that it is very well run.

The beach is a bit of a disappointment compared to how great everything else is at Now but I thought it was still better than the surrounding resorts. Make sure you bring aqua socks if you plan on spending any time in the ocean. I didn't find the beach vendors to be as annoying as many of the other reviewers on here and the few I spoke with were very friendly.

Here's a few other points worth mentioning. I used the gym almost every day. There is plenty of equipment and exercise machines which are all new so it was great. The live music at the lobby bar in the evening was very good and we enjoyed the shows we went to. However, some nights the only entertainment was in the disco and we were unable to attend because we were with our son. Every night the resort did show a kid's movie near the beach or behind the lobby bar depending on the weather. Our son really enjoyed this.

Overall, Now Amber is an excellent resort and I would recommend it to anyone. Despite only being open a few months, everything was well run and we encountered zero difficulties. We stayed at Dreams PV a few years ago and I would say we enjoyed our stay here more although the beach at Now comes nowhere close Dreams.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank The_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford , Ga.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Spent three great nights here. Rooms are top shelf. We have some snafus when we checked in,but they quickly responded. The staff really seems to care.
Yes, they will try and get you to go to a time-share breakfast, but handled my "no thanks" well. We used the Secrets pool, and it was quite empty.
Only short falls is their entertainment (almost none), and communications (don't count on their daily schedule for opened restaurants and entertainment as being correct).
The Italian restaurant was average, but French was better than expected. We thought their buffet selections were excellent. One night I had then quickly grill an excellent fresh piece of Tuna, add Wasabi,etc.-great!
Overall, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for preferred tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JimandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went there to spend our wedding anniversary along with our 14 month old son. Here is our feedback:
- Decors and view from the terrace is very nice. The whole hotel is nicely decorated
- It is mostly cement with minimal grassy areas. A Las Vegas hotel has more green areas. This is of course a problem when you have kids you want to let loose.
- The explorer club has a nice playground but if your kid is under 3, you are out of luck since they don't accept them or allow you to supervise them yourself while they play on the playground.
- There are actually two hotels, Secrets (adults only) and NowAmber. But it works great for adults and not families since even the restaurants on the NowAmber side is mostly adults only. Your only bet then is the Carnival (buffet restaurant) or Castaway (beach restaurant). Japanese, French and Mexican (mostly) restaurants are adults only.
- The Carnival has mostly greasy food and didnt offer much for healthy food. The grilled food was buttery, even when we asked they use no butter the left overs on the grill from earlier cooked food made the salmon greasy.
- The service at the restaurants are slow, probably because there is not enough visitors at the hotel and the waiters dont get enough tips to be energized to work hard.
- The swimouts were always dirty with insects, bird poos, and even a dead bird once. At our last day, we realized it was because they didnt fill it up to the overflow levels so the stuff can just drift out. Instead they send cleaning crew when we asked that pool get cleaned.
- We stayed at a swimout room at the preferred club and the food left-over from lunch or breakfast that they put in the sitting area smells just awful. Each time we went by that food, we were gagging. No reason to stay in preferred club, really none.
- Nobody welcomed us with champagne and towels, instead when they check up the name, they said we would be checked in in the preferred club desk and this lady took us there, told us to sit down by the food area (smelly, really smelly area). We did wait for 30 mins at least, then we were checked in. We were then sent to the desk of the lady who brought us there, she tried to sell us a presentation via more coupons, we said thanks no thanks and went to our room to wait another hour for our luggages to arrive.
- We also waited for the bell desk while checking out, at least 45 minutes again.
- The coffee table in the room is a lawsuit waiting to happen. It is top heavy with wider top and narrower base. So as soon as you put something heavy, it trips. It happened to us, the marble at the top narrowly missed our sons foot, and crashed into pieces. We told the person at the reception to replace it, it was never replaced but 3 hours later when we were passing by, he said the front desk manager wanted us to pay. This kind of came on top of all the other issues, so we refused and said the hotel hasnt been delivering on its promises and it may be best if we check out early and find a hotel who will help us have a nice anniversary we hoped for. They said no worries, they would do that.
- Even though we have given a copy of our marriage license, they brought the flowers 3 days in advance. When we let them know of their mistake, they apologized, but forgot again on the actual day. Nothing special was done until I went to the concierge to order the beach dinner.
- In the last few days, there was constant day time work outside our room, breaking the cement driveway up. Thank God, it was not for the whole week while we were there.

In summary, behind its cool, trendy decor, this is a hotel that is not managed well. It lacks the most basic standard operating procedures that should have been a second nature by now. The workers look and work unhappy. The promises are undelivered. This place is like an ultra lounge. It will only please its guests when it is 100% full with single young adults who wants to party and care about the decor, drinks and people watching. Take the veneer off, and you have a badly managed organization with lots of organizational issues even a guest can see.

Room Tip: Don't go for the preferred club. If you choose a swimout, make sure they overflow the pool to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Detroiter248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us to spend your wedding anniversary at our Resort. Thank you for taking your time to share us your comments which are very important. We kindly regret that your stay was not entirely of your full satisfaction and that you have some issues on the way.

Please understand that our Explorer's Club is intended for children from 3 years old up to 12 years old for safety purposes and we schedule activities that are for those ages. Although, we do have babysitters on site at our Concierge Desk that can take care of your children with no age restrictions at a low hourly rate.

As far as the restaurants that are Kid’s friendly are the Carnival Buffet, Capers, Castaways and Tamarindo. The only restaurant that is for Adults only is the Himitsu our Japanese specialties cuisine. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the food at Carnival; be sure that we will serve more options and variety in our food.

Our maintenance pool staff do their very best to keep the areas especially the swim outs as clean as possible. Though, they have some challenges during this time of raining season and our tropical gardens can make it more difficult to keep the birds out the balconies.

We regret that you had the inconveniences during your check in, we understand that the first impression once you arrive is the most important one and therefore we extend our sincere apologies for this situation.

We honestly hope that these issues that you encountered during your stay will not keep you from coming back to visit us.

Best regards,

Mauricio Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed week of July 14th. The rooms are beautiful and the resort is also. Unfortunately it was vacation for Mexican citizens and their kids. I have never seen or heard so many screaming children. You can hear everything in your room. We were woke up every morning by noisy children, either screaming next door or outside. I would have stayed at Secrets next door if I had known better. We enjoyed the food at the French and Japanese restaurants. The buffet was average and nothing special, the Mexican restaurant food was just awful and the Italian restaurant had terrible service we left early because we got tired of waiting for someone to come to our table. Also had to call twice to get our room cleaned. The cleaning lady never did show up.

Room Tip: I wished I would have got a swim out room. There were many days I wished I could just go out and si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieMc1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear DebbieMc1960,

On behalf of Now Amber Puerto Vallarta and staff we would like to express our sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations. We honestly regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us; please understand that it is not easy to control the noise of kids on vacation; of course if they go beyond control, destructing furniture or wild behavior we always take measures to secure other guests comfort.

Be sure that our staff from our Italian Restaurant does their very best to greet you as you deserve and sometimes it can become challenging to serve over 200 guests at on time.

The housekeeping lady makes sure that our guests have their rooms cleaned once every day and confirms that no guests are in the suites with our light system in the door.

Once again, we regret that your stay with us was not entirely of your satisfaction. We truly hope that these inconveniences will not stop you from coming to visit us once again.

We look forward to welcome you to this your home!

Sincerely,

Mauricio Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#15 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,463 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 12 in Punta de Mita
2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,427 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,771 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Property: Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing