We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence in every way! (Palace transplants)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence in every way! (Palace transplants)”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

First of all, we were supposed to be vacationing at Vallarta Palace but stayed at Now Amber due to Palace' renovations. We were contacted by Palace a few weeks prior to our trip but were told conflicting information. Palace ended up making most of it right (other than we were supposed to be automatically upgraded to Preferred Club and ended up with a bill at checkout!-hopefully Palace will come thru on that one!)

Now Amber was wonderful to us! The staff was amazing! I cannot say enough good things about the resort~but especially their employees! Luis our server on the beach outdid himself! He was one step ahead of us and would have a drink ready before we could even ask for our next one! Royder (sp?) bartender at the Pool Bar was also awesome!

Israel Parra (worked as lifeguard first day and security the rest) was so friendly and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable in every way! He is a definite asset to Now Amber!

Cynthia and Lorenzo at the Lobby Bar were also exceptional! Cynthia always had the sweetest smile on her face and both worked very hard! Another waiter Israel at the lobby bar was great also!

We were celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary and again Now Amber did an amazing job! Rose petals, tub filled for us, Happy Anniversary banner on the door, champagne, roses, etc. all as a surprise in our room our first evening! (Thank you Jesus-concierge)

The resort was only at 10% occupancy so we got to know most of the people there and made some great friends!

The only negatives were some of the restaurants were closed due to low occupancy but they rotated them. The other negative (which Now Amber isn't at fault) is the beach vendors. There were tons of them that kept coming and coming by and they would stand in front of us. We enjoy buying a few things while lounging in our beach chairs but you couldn't read or take a nap because they were constantly coming by and asking!

The food was overall pretty good! We loved staying in the Preferred Club with free phone calls home and wifi! (did hear a baby crying early the first morning but never after the first morning)

I would highly recommend Now Amber to families traveling-we had a great time as a couple traveling without our children but would probably stay on the Secrets side if there were more people there! Secrets side was pretty awesome...we never felt the need to hang out there b/c there were only 6-8 of us on the beach the entire week on the Now Amber side.

We are Palace members so we missed not having the extras at Now Amber but still had a great time! Palace is giving us free nights to make up for all of that.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Now Amber to anyone! Enjoy!

Room Tip: I would stay 3rd floor or above to get better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JETKFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,758
    615
    197
    69
    45
See reviews for
1,143
907
41
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a great time from when you enter the resort til you leave. From the shows and dinning experience it was a great time . The rooms are new and it still has that new smell. The staff was very helpfull and maybe they might need or we might need translaters other than that it was a great time . would highly recomend Rythem of the nights and do another excursion then you get the 3rd free from one of the websights.we also did adventures on both zip lining national park rythm of the nights and want to do more but 10 days there is not enough to get everythibng in so i cant wait to go back in october again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a beautiful resort, my husband and I were transferred to Now Amber from the Palace Vallarta, and we were a bit aprehensive at first because I have never hear of this resort. Upon arrival the staff were friendly helpfull and absolutely wonderful, no complains in that department. The food was great and service spectacular. The only complain that I have is that because we came from the Palace Resorts they gave us a room in the family side of the resort and the noise from the fans of the cooling systems from the resort next door were attrocious. We were originally on the 3rd floor and they transfer us to the 7th floor, the problem was that it was in the same area. So the noise was still pretty audible even on the 7th floor. STAFF WERE AMAZING!!

Room Tip: If you plan to stay at this resort in the family area, asked for a room closer to the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraM0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I wrote a review about the Vallarta Palace a while ago that was pretty harsh. The reason being that my wife and I were in shock when we were not contacted about the hotel being under construction and in even more shock when we arrived at a totally gutted hotel that is soon to be the Hard Rock.

However, NOW Amber is where our reservation has been moved and it is beautiful. Honestly, we have been spoiled. The only thing that was disappointing was not receiving the $1500 resort credit that we paid for with our Palace booking. As a resort, my wife and I did not plan a budget to pay for all the activities we wanted to do while down here. So we were not able to partake in a dinner on the beach, or spa treatments because they were pricey. However, to the credit of Palace Resorts, we have been compensated for several free nights at any Palace, and we still have the $1500 resort credit during our next stay.

I feel a little bad because I was really harsh on Palace in PV, but in the last couple weeks they have gone out of their way to compensate us. Now Amber is still a brand new and growing resort. It is maybe a 5 minute taxi ride to the town where all the vendors are, and it is gated which adds a little security to it. There were maybe 30 other people in the resort at the time because it was so new, and it actually made everything more enjoyable for us. We were taken care of everywhere we turned. I don´t think I ever even finished a drink before another one arrived. It was great. I have nothing bad to say about Now Amber, and highly recommend others to enjoy it. Even with some small little construction projects going on around the resort (still not quite finished with the resort), it was awesome.

Happy vacationing...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dafaid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the Now resort mid April which was only 2 weeks after they opened. We were transferred there from their other resort Dreams which was the best thing that has ever happened. This resort is AMAZING. The service staff are so friendly especially when you arrive and the first thing they say to you is 'Welcome Home'. They make you feel so welcome and can't do enough to help you. The first impression is the reception which is so open and gorgeous and looks out over the pools to the ocean with a stunning view. The rooms are beautiful, the beds are so comfortable and the bathrooms are gorgeous. The food is really yummy, espeically when you have a choice of 8 different places to eat. The pools were clean and the bar staff were so friendly. We would highly recommend staying in this resort.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the beach/pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HoneymoonersApril12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I am sitting under a new beach hut enjoying the sound of the waves. Absolute heaven. I can check on things at home with free wifi. We are staying in the preferred club swimout. Stunning!!! Honestly you can't ask for anything else. We have stayed Dreams Punta Cana, Tulum and now Puerto Vallarta. By far this is the Best! If you want great food Beautiful rooms excellent service then you will be very happy here. I have 2boys 7 and 10.They love the kids club. All the staff have gone out of their way to entertain them And make sure we are all enjoying ourselves. I took time out of my holiday to write this review because the entire team deserve to be congratulated on running a beautiful hotel that will be enjoyed for many years!!! Thank you for everything!!!!

Room Tip: Splurge and get the swim out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We just returned yesterday from a week at Now Amber/Secrets Resort. This is probably the nicest hotel I have stayed at in recent years....the service, the food and the amenities were all top notch. We stayed at Amber Preferred but had access to the entire property, including Secrets, the adults-only side. Our beach/pool waiter at Secrets, Miguel, was the best...after 2 days he had our chairs & towels waiting and drinks on order..he would even bring snacks and lunch without us having to order. The Mexican, Italian and French restaurants were outstanding. The breakfast buffet was excellent...so many fresh choices! Located near town, the beaches are not the best (not like Nuevo Vallarta which has stunning stretches of silky beaches). The beach in front of Now/Secrets is probably the best in the area. However, being someone that likes to spend most of my time under a palapa with the sand in my toes, this was almost an impossibility as the local beach vendors were like terrorists..they would not leave us alone, even after numerous attempts to tell them we were not buying anything. They basically ruined our "beach" holiday...the majority of beach palapas were left empty because of these aggressive beach sellers...most guests moved up to the pool deck so we could actually relax and enjoy the atmosphere. Hotel management needs to do something with the vendors and their annoying behavior towards the guests. It's become a lose/lose situation for everyone, as the guests aren't sitting on the beach anymore and the vendors aren't selling anything. Overall, I would definitely stay again at the Secrets/Now properties. Their impeccable attention to detail, excellent service and fantastic food offerings are well worth the experience.

Room Tip: Anything over 4 floors has a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TracyP666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.0 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3,064 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,224 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,401 reviews
2.9 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3,592 reviews
8.8 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Property: Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing