We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago,Il USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This resort is beautiful. We enjoyed many parts of the resort. Service here is spectacular.
Puerto Valllarta is amazing-the people are very friendly and genuinely take pride in their work.
We met many people and the weather was perfect. My new Husband and I cannot wait to return.
A sad note we cut our Honeymoon short because of a emergency at home. The staff was more than gracious and understanding-Thank You.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gypsychicago_IlUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,139
    686
    245
    80
    49
See reviews for
233
2,257
71
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is a gem. We were looking for a smaller resort with great food and service and we were not disappointed at all. From the pool bar with Maricio and Omar to the preferred club bartender Leon we were treated like royals. The food in the French restaurant was our favorite but the Italian (capers) and the Japanese were a close second. We met the nicest people lounging at the pool. Christian who got everybody together to play water sports was hilarious! I think it is worth the extra money to upgrade to the preferred club as you can enjoy great food and coffee at anytime of day. We did hear the roosters one morning but after all the fun we had at night it would hardly have woken us up. Our stay coincided with the Fourth of July and it was one of the nicest celebrations we've had on the 4th in a long time. They had a barbecue, decorations, fireworks , special red white and blue drinks and ankle awesome band that played all day! It felt like we were in the states! We would definitely go there again!

Room Tip: Preferred club was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome!! I came here with my super hot boyfriend and our cute best friends who are married. The service was stop notch and definitely 5 out of 5 stars. The breakfast was amazing and their croissants were so good. The showers has two shower heads, perfect for couples, and jacuzzi baths. The Infiniti pools are really nice. The only thing is the ocean was less than favorable and it was dirty so you have to drive to different beaches:) but stay here!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EriksHotttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This place is fantastic. Very relaxing. Really nice rooms. Great service.

I give it 4 out of 5 for two reasons: 1) the beach in front of the hotel is rocky and the water isn't clear and 2) the dinners were hit or miss- we were in a group of four and usually only 2 or 3 of the 4 liked their food.

If the most important thing to you is easy access to a great PV beach, this is probably not the place for you. But if you're looking to relax, hang out by the pool, and have a good base for exploring, this is probably as good as it gets.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Erikgagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I wish I could say it is horrible so it doesn’t get sold out, but I would be lying. Fifth time here. We considered going elsewhere, but why take the chance?

What do these resorts have that others may not?
• no bracelets
• no reservations needed (except for Teppanyaki)
• very good security
• screen doors so you can listen to the waves with no bugs
• iPod dock: not necessary, I know, but indicative of how they think of everything
• floating mattresses for the pool (if you can snag one as they are limited, Secrets side only)
• the coffee shop
• 24 hour room service included, and free wifi (if working)
• hydrotherapy in the spa
• disco
• yoga and well-appointed gym

What they have that others seem to have:
• comfy beds
• friendly, efficient, helpful staff
• good food (above usual resort standard)
• sound of waves and spectacular sunsets
• music, beach/pool activities, nightly dance shows

What others have that this place does not:
• This is not the Mayan Riviera where the sea is blue and the beach stretches forever. They keep the beach as nicely as they can, and you can swim, but it is rocky and not tropical. Nice waves though!
• I have not been to places that charge twice as much, so I don’t know what more they offer and can’t even imagine how it could be better. Maybe tastier food? (The food here is beautifully presented, but the taste often does not match.)

What you need to know:
• avoid the time share sellers “shark tank” at the airport. Buy a ticket from one of the 3 taxi booths on left side just before the outside doors for $19 US
• the “tour desk” people you are sent to after check-in want to sign you up for a morning of high pressure sales for their vacation club (not a time share, but a membership)
• all of the rooms are good: get preferred if you want the tub on the balcony and snacks in your lobby (as if you will need more food!) and/or a swim-out if you want to swim after 8pm
• spa is beautiful, but expensive: if all you want is a massage, there are cheap, but nice, places just outside the gates
• pace yourself: a wide variety of food is available at all hours of the day
• be nice: the service is not as good for rude people, otherwise the staff will do all they can to please. They work hard for little pay so show your appreciation with tips!

(Vote Helpful if you liked this review) :)

Room Tip: all of the rooms are good: get preferred if you want the tub on the balcony and snacks in your lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank whirledgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My mother and I just returned from a one week stay at this property. We had booked a Preferred Club Room and were very happy with the room we were assigned (6th Floor - end of hallway). This trip turned out to be a very relaxing time. Service by all staff was wonderful. Special thanks to Ana and BelTran in the buffet who were always so sweet and attentive to me and especially my mother!!

Entertainment staff were friendly and always had a smile on their face. Ricardo was especially wonderful and always came by to check on us to ensure that we were fine (even the days that he was assigned to the Now side)!!

Food at all restaurants was good and drinks were well made.

The only things that I didn't like about this resort were the beach (but I knew that going in) and the fact that guests from the Now side would come to the Secrets side during the day and utilize all the facilities. This bothered me because we paid a premium for our suites on the Secrets side and some days the premium seating around pools was taken up by Now guests!! It was low season so we were always able to find a seat under an umbrella, however during peak season, it could really become an issue.

Room Tip: Although the lounge in the PC was nice, PC not worth paying a lot more for as the views are better i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank avd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

First time for us in Mexico...Dreamliner was fine booked seats 30a and b behind toilet loads of room made a difference on 11hr flight!! Had a little problem with room on arrival but soon sorted out by Miguel on front desk. The hotel staff for the fortnight were exceptional whether it was in the restaurants, bar staff, entertainment,reception and cleaners they were always friendly and courteous. A special thank you to the entertainment team, Christian, David, Jonathan, Ricciardo, Alliandro, Flo and everyone else who worked hard every day to provide us with different activities but didnt bother you if you just wanted to relax, to Ana and everyone in Market cafe who greeted us every day with a lovely smile and service. We have travelled to many countries with All Inc but never have we recieved the service we had here....there were many special touches we received from the Secrets that made our holiday so memorable......my only regret was that we didnt venture downtown on a night out. One of the best highlights were the massages outside of the hotel AMAZING!. Dont be put off they are very proffesional and cheap! Hello to our mates Uncle and Gail and nic,Ash and Karen, Stuart and Sarah from UK!! After experiencing the Secrets I would like to look at options of their hotels in other locations.....thank you again from Wales for an amazing holiday!

Room Tip: High floor has a better view and quieter...noisy by the preferred side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MandyRaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,771 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,547 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing