We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star except!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
ont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“5 Star except!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This resort is totally amazing! From the great staff to the food and drinks, everything is top shelf. The rooms are all very clean and up to date. We spent every day before lunch just having a drink and taking in the great view from the lobby. Other than the airport we were not approached by any timeshare people outside or inside the resort.This could be because we are in our mid 60s and maybe think we are too old to bother with. I have never seen such a great staff of pool waiters taking food and drink orders and returning very quickly. The entertainment staff keep everyone busy. We did not play many games but found it to be just as entertaining watching the games.
The only negative part about the resort could be the beach.There is enough sand for chairs and volleyball but that is about it. It is very hard to walk because of the course sand and the stones. This seemed to be all over not only at Secrets. Every day was a red flag day and there was not anybody in the water other than people in kayaks. I am not sure if it is like this all of the time or not. They do have parasailing on the beach at the resort which makes it very handy and fun to watch.
The resort was in my opinion 100% Canadians and Americans which made it very easy to strike up a conversation. There were never any communication problems with any of the staff which in my opinion is important. We walked to the Malecon and back and found it to be a very safe walk which makes up for not being able to walk the beach.
Unless you really have to swim in the ocean all day this resort in my opinion is a very easy pick to go to.
One last thing! I did not realize how great it is to not have to make reservations for dinner. It is nice not having to rush for a dinner reservation. They also have prompt room service 7/24 if you do not feel like leaving your room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank puckshyOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,056
    655
    233
    77
    43
See reviews for
220
2,164
67
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We picked this hotel after days of research on the internet...we were not dissappointed at all. This place is top notch and the staff is impecable. The rooms are gorgeous and not a bad veiw in the place...ask for a high floor if you want a good view of the ocean and sunsets.
There are a lot of peddlars on the beach that really don't leave you alone, that is truly our only complaint. Pick a seat by the pool and off the sand and no problem. The pool area is magnifcent but the beach is a little smaller.
We highly recomment this place.
Sonja & Robert L

Room Tip: Request a room on higher floor for spectacular view of the ocean & sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am hard pressed to think of anything negative to say about this resort. From the time we arrived until we checked out, we were treated like royalty. We stayed in the Preferred Tower, but I think it would be equally as nice staying in the regular Secrets tower. It was really nice having all of the wonderful lotions and sunscreen provided in the bathrooms. This is the first time where we were able to keep the patio doors open at night because of the screens to prevent bugs from coming in. No other hotel we have stayed at has had this. It was fabulous to hear the sound of the waves as we drifted off to sleep.
There were so many wonderful people who worked at this resort that I feel horrible not to mention them all by name. Some of them that come to mind who were over and above were Monserrat, the beautiful hostess at the Market Cafe who always greeted us by name every morning; Brian, the concierge at the Preferred Suites who was always polite and so eager to help. And then there was Noe at the swim-up bar who made the absolutely best margaritas we have ever tasted.
We never had a problem finding a lounge chair at any of the pools. Having the swim floats in the pools was a great idea, and we spent many pleasant hours just drifting around in paradise. I especially liked having the towels on the chair every morning and not having to go to a hut to get them. There were also many bins around the pool area where you could put your used towels and also numerous areas to pick up fresh ones if you wanted.
The restaurants we ate at were good. We never went to Bordeaux or the Tamarind, but Capers, the Mexican and the Market Cafe were great.
I am a big fan of the Secrets Resorts and definitely plan on coming back here again.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms on the preferred side seemed to be in the shade a lot. We were Room 2125 and had a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rfnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Been home a week and still miss it. how anyone could complain about this hotel is beyond me. you r treated like a prince or princess.Every single person that works there r so wonderfull. I wont repeat every other review but it is a beautiful hotel and if u dont enjoy yourself oh well u have no one to blame but yourself.

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virginia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Secrets the week of March 19-26. We we're greeted most graciously by Juan who took care of our every needs while there and calling us in our room to follow up that all was ok.The room, perfect.The restaurants and food quality, perfect.The bars and lounges, perfect. The service of front desk staff, waiters,hostess,bartenders,and poolside service was exceptional. The location is convient for any excursions you choose to go to.I highly reccomend this resort and plan to return here in the future. To all the staff at Secrets a heartfelt thank you from us. SEE YOU SOON!

Room Tip: Views from 9th floor were stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhinosally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at Now Amber last year at the end of March. We decided to try Secrets this year and Wow, we were not disappointed ! We paid $1787.00 tax in from Calgary, AB per person in the Preferred Club. We stayed from March 29 to April 5 . The room was beautiful, the staff went above and beyond to make our stay the best ever.
We enjoyed the beach, the pools, the bars and the Ala Cartes. Our favorite restaurant was the Market Café, we were welcomed every morning by Rosa, the ala carte for dinner was fabulous. Every bite was a taste experience for your taste buds, really , it was soooo good. We just wish we had discovered it sooner and ate dinner there more often.
We found the buffets had a good selection but a lot of the hot food was barely warm and this caused a lot of food to be wasted.
We found the beach vendors to be a bother as they would come up uninvited past the roped fence and try to sell you stuff. Security did little to discourage them. We have never experienced this at other resorts, including the Now Amber.
We saw Victor , The Food and Beverage Manager and a member of his staff , Nayeela and they greeted me with Welcome Home. It was a pleasant surprise to realize they remembered us from last year!
A special Thank you to our Preferred Club Concierge Yoanna and Brian, always smiling and helpful !!!!
Thank you for exceeding our expectations Secrets, PS . We'll be back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank resortwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful! There isn't any other way to describe your experience here. Sorry for the folks who were turned off by the time share sharks at the airport or maybe their vacation provider was less than "up and up". This place is 5 star, when it comes to accomodation and service. The staff are second to none, that has been reiterated--shout outs to Monserrat, Rosa, Teodoro at the buffet, Miguel, Ricardo at Oceana, Omar, Mario, Luis at the
Pool, Abril at the lobby , and all the servers really--it is incredulous how they can remember the finest details of each client. Alejandro in the entetainment team stands out as well--you rock dude! Also, the servers at the Mexican and Asian restaurants were first class as well, I just didn't get their names. There is a second resort which shares the same "property" and you may find a lot of the adults come over to the Secrets side for the swim-up pool Bar...a bit of a piss off when you pay 15% more supposedly.

All rooms have a great view, and everyone I that I have met is 100% awesome! Five star all the way.....

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BCJim69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,692 reviews
2.9 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3,592 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing