We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gluten free at secrets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“gluten free at secrets”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we just got back from Puerto Vallarta last night after spending the week of nov 17-24/13.
+30 hot, humid and sunny. this is the first all-inclusive I have tried since being diagnosed with celiac 2 years ago, because I was leery about the whole no control over my food issues. we stayed at the secrets Vallarta bay resort in Puerto Vallarta. I emailed back and forth with resort customer service and was assured by violeta that they deal all the time with food allergies.
when we arrived I was given a gluten free card by the concierge that i was to show our waiters in all the restaurants. most of the waiters knew what i could not eat off of the menus and if they were not sure they would take my card back to the chef and check.
i was treated very well and had no problems the week we were there. the french restaurant was amazing we dined there on our first and on our last night. carlos our table captain and his wonderful crew found me excellent gluten free bread for our meal and on our last night even found me a gluten free crème brule for desert. I could have eaten at the French restaurant every night. the food and the service were by far the best at the resort.
the Italian restaurant was only very good. we dined there twice the first evening with another couple we had met down there. the food was quite good and so was the service. the second time it was just my wife and I and we were seated in an out of the way spot and the service was lacking, maybe a 4 out of 5.
the Asian restaurant had only one salad and one entrée that as a celiac I could eat, the service was ok but not up to our expectations, 3.5 out of 5.
we did not try the Japanese, which is the only restaurant that requires a reservation, because the dinner was cooked in front of the group at the table and I was not sure how I would be able to handle it being gluten free, we heard good reviews of it though.
lunches were spent at either the oceana seafood restaurant by the pool or at the marketplace buffet up by the hotel. both were casual and very enjoyable.
the first morning we had a breakfast buffet at the marketplace. when the matre de found out I was celiac he personally gave me a tour of the entire buffet, omelet station, quesada station and the usual breakfast buffet selections. he told me what was safe for me to and what wasn't, if he was not sure he called over one of the chefs to check.
the secrets side of the resort is adult only and the now side is family oriented if you are travelling with kids.
we went downtown and felt very safe, i did not eat down there so i can’t comment on the restaurants. we did a few excursions and i was careful what i ate. one of the excursions was “rhythms of the night” where we took a catamaran to a private island for a candle light dinner and a show “think circ de sole meets the jungle”. i found one of the chefs when we got there and showed him my own gf travel card translated into spanish and he walked me through the buffet showing me what i could and couldn’t eat, i was very impressed and felt safe and relieved about the food. our sever at the marketplace, carlos and sometimes ricardo, were very friendly and helpful. at our last breakfast I told carlos we were leaving and he told us not to leave and he disappeared for 5 minutes. he came back with a muffin sized chocolate cake on a white plate that was decorated with chocolate drawings and he had written "have a good trip home" in chocolate, it was beautiful. sadly we had already packed the camera because that would have been my picture of the trip.
one afternoon I got to put on a silly little chef hat and tour all the kitchen facilities at the resort. it was a very large facility, very informative and absolutely spotless. being celiac I can be a little anal about food cleanliness and cross contamination. after the tour I was quite impressed.
i would rate the resort as 4. 5 out of 5 as the asian restaurant was a disappointment for my wife and I.
on a couple of days our rooms were not cleaned until late in the day and they also missed the turndown service a couple of times.
if i can pry the gf bread recipe from yoana, the friendliest, most helpful and apologetic concierge I have ever met, i will change my rating to a 5 out of 5. i could have eaten just a loaf of the bread with butter and not even ordered off the menu.
if anyone wants to hire me to take them down and guide them through the around, let me know. lol.

my wife and I will definitely be back, maybe next year we will try the now family side if our grandson is old enough to travel with us.

paul

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 57paul57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,144
    687
    248
    80
    49
See reviews for
234
2,265
71
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh, pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked at Now Amber but on arrival was told we where booked on the Secrets side. As I had stayed at other Secrets Resorts which were mostly honeymooners/couples ( and I was traveling with my mother) I was concerned. Was informed that they had a large group of University students at Now Amber who were causing some problems so they moved us. It worked out well. We had a room on the 11th floor with a great view. The room was large and clean.
The food was great at all the restaurants, breakfast buffets were generally the same daily but had a lot of choices. Oceana has great shrimp and fish for lunch and is relaxing. Nouveau was my favorite with wonderful mussels and rack of lamb. My mother loved Capers, the Italian restaurant and the filet was amazing. We had Mexican at El Patio at Dreams PV Resort, Secrets made the reservations and we took a taxi over. I had stayed at Dreams last year and I love El Patio!
I don't feel the preferred tower at Secrets is worth the extra cost. We had free internet and free calls from the room to the US. I would recommend staying in the higher rooms for the view. But remember the beach and water are nothing like the Caribbean!
I would now like to recognize some of the people who made our stay wonderful:
Reception: Marilyn
Sugar bar: Guillermo
Coca Cafe: Laura
Bouveaux: Javier, Alex
Entertainment: Leo, Ceaser, Hugo, Alexjandro, David
Oceana: Carlos Francisco, Gil, David
El Patio: Susana, Alejandro
Pool Server: Alfredo, Mario
Market Cafe: The best of the best - Teodoro, Heriberto, Humberto and Ricardo


Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PennsylvaniaOnthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our third time at this Secrets resort, we are very familiar with the Secrets chain, also have stayed at Maroma, St. James, Huatulco.
During this stay their was a group of 10 of us. For the most part service was excellent. especially pool and beach service, Omar your the Best!! Food and Drink always good.
It would be nice If the lobby bar had more lively music for in the evenings. The Now Amber Side seem to get the better live music. Also as many reviews have said I agree lighting in vanity area poor. I would not hesitate to stay at this resort again for a 4th time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We are both in our fifties (behaving like 30-year-olds) who have visited numerous all-inclusives in our day. Hands down, this has been the best so far! Spotlessly clean, well appointed and extremely efficient, we look forward to going back (we rarely go to a single spot twice). Two features were what makes this place stand out above the rest: 1) Friendliest, best trained staff imaginable, and 2) Just crazy-good food!

A few tips: Spend the extra few bucks to move up to "preferred club", it will give you access to free top-quality liquor, even better checkin checkout, all day snacks in your lobby, and more. Also, if you want a real treat, upgrade to a swim-in swim-out room, with your own private pool right at your balcony door! The only issue with these swim-outs, is that they are not in full sun.
Don't be afraid to wander off the grounds into town. It's a five minute ride away and you will not be disappointed.

Two minor criticisms:
1) A "Now" family hotel is attached adjacent to the Secrets hotel, so occasionally some loud teenager noise may drift over, but no biggie. Stick your kids on that side and enjoy some peace.
2) If you are looking for a pristine soft-sand beach and clear water, you are better off on the Caribbean side of Mexico. The Pacific tends to be brown and pebbly.

Special thanks to Omar, who made us feel like royalty while on the beach and around the pool. Thanks to Octavio for managing one of the best tasting kitchens imaginable. Raoul and Jesse at front desk took care of all of our fussiness. Ellisia for great personal attention! BEST STAFF YOU CAN FIND!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is wonderful, clean. Always a watchful eye on patrons coming and going. The only pet peeve we had as a group is that the music lacked, around the swim up bar( was none) allot of lounge music around entire pool. Had asked if they might change to something a little more toe tapping. They tried 3 - 4 songs and went back to lounge music. The secrets hotels I have been to before always have been fun, this one I found very calm well almost boring. Don't get me wrong the staff are amazing, rooms are lovely just found the days lacked fun around the pool area had to leave to go town to change up to something a little more lively.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a de- humidifier in your room. Love the humidity, just not in my room. Makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoxerWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Loved every aspect of our stay at Secrets, our second time there and I think it was better than the last. We had one of the best racks of lamb we've ever eaten at The Bordeaux. Ultra comfortable, completely relaxing and as they say here, unlimited luxury. We would suggest better lighting in the vanity area of the bathroom, though, and a Canadian news channel would be really nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Macdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at the Secrets in July of 2013 with a group of friends. The staff were super nice and a lot of fun, so we were tipping them left and right. The hotel was clean and pretty amazing with their service. Def. recommend this resort and would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haleh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
0.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,777 reviews
20.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,348 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,622 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing