We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome getaway and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #18 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The view and atmosphere are incredible. We were impressed with the room and everything in it including the most comfortable bed my wife and I have ever slept in. The A/C worked great, the shower was incredible and the view was spectacular. We booked a garden view but was upgraded to ocean view (Which all of them are) but got moved to 9th floor and it was great. We did though have some problems with the toilet constantly running and then not flushing but when we spoke with them the problem was resolved quickly and reoccured a couple times but in the big picture not that big of deal. The room was inconsistantly cleaned...it was always at a different time of day and it never seemed to be put back the same, some days were better than others (again was not in there much except to sleep and shower so not that big of deal but could turn some people off).

The staff was incredible and the pools are excellent. From the bellhops, to the front desk and conceirge was great. The bar staff on the beach from the bartenders to the waiters were the best I've had at a resort. There were too many names to remember out there but everyone wearing a yellow floral shirt was awesome. The inside bar at secrets was very good as well with service and drinks. Very friendly, fun, and very effecient. The drinks were incredible and the poolside food was excellent for snacking between the nice meals. We spent alot of time in the pool area and it was relaxing and they had a ton of activities going on if you were up for it. The entertainment staff did a great job interacting with the guest and creating activities alot of people enjoyed. The ocean is a little rocky but its okay and they had kayaking available which was fun.

The restraurants were great....food and staff. It was our anniversary so we would always get an extra special dessert or champagne at each one. Our favorite was Bordeaux the French restraurant (the staff was extra charming and went over the top for our anniversary dinner).Oceana had excellent food but we only ate there at lunch. The Hibachi was good but did not get alot of food, but the show and chef was good. Capers the Italian was good and Tamarindo the Mexican was okay but our meal didnt have alot of flavor. I think the restaurants on the Secrets side were much better then the Now side. The market cafe had a good dinner as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shasta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,782 - 2,788 of 3,607 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I spent the week 7/20 - 7/27 at this Secrets location. We had a spectacular view of the ocean and the property from room 1809. Daytime weather was a bit hot and humid but at night it cooled down enough to sleep with the sliding screen door on the balcony open and the overhead fan on. We could listen to the waves gently crashing on the shore. Several nights we were treated to some spectacular thunder & lightening shows.

Everything was first class... all of the restaurants ... with so many choices.. .served up excellent fare. We talked with the restaurant staff and they explained that chefs were trying to put a fusion twist to each cuisine. The french, italian, mexican and even the steak & seafood were presented with much flair and creativity. No complaints ... the service was superb... everyone had fantastic friendly attitudes and while at times it seemed the pace may be slow... it was really an opportunity to just relax and enjoy. A drink never went unfilled ... My wife commented to me that the next time we are in a restaurant at home and a wait person has that California lax attitude she is going to suggest that they go down to Mexico and work at Secrets for a week.

We took a trip to the Marieta Islands for snorkeling. There weren't as many fish as we have seen in other locales but the swim through the cave to the secret beach made the trip worth it. We also visited the Botanical Gardens which is also a great day trip. They have a fantastic restaurant onsite. We took a cab there ($30 USD) and a bus ride ($2 USD per person). The bus ride was like Mr. Toad's wild ride through the jungle. I did get a great massage for $25 USD at a great place, Healing Hands, located about half a block outside the main gate of the resort. The spa at the resort looks beautiful but it is very pricey (even with discount coupons).

I could write pages about what a wonderful and relaxing vacation we had at this Secrets resort. We came here to have an early celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary which is in September and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view above the 5th floor in the regular Secrets building. While there may be some e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanB_in_the_OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I just returned from your resort and wanted to leave you a few comments. We were very impressed with your location and facilities. We loved all the pools, hot tubs and activities. We loved how there was an ample amount of towels through the beach and pool area. It was also comforting to see plenty of lounge chairs and shade. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The shows were great and enjoyable.

There were a few things I did not like and I thought you would like to hear about them...
1. The web site stated free international calls for preferred members, but when we arrived we were told it was only for USA and Canada.
2. We paid extra to be a preferred member for the Jacuzzi on the patio and the mini bar... The Jacuzzi did not have hot water, so we could not use it. We told the manager in the VIP desk and he said he would look into it... It never got fixed... The mini bar was not refilled everyday. I told the VIP desk and it never got better. I even saw the house keeper and tried to communicate my thoughts to her, she took some drinks from the room next door for that day only. I even made sure to tip her everyday. The incense in the room was not replaced daily and the dirty drinking glasses were not replaced during our week stay. Were we expected to clean our own glasses after we use them?
3. The web site said that there were 5 different restaurants, but Carnival and Oceana have the same menu and same kitchen, only a different name, but not a different restaurant.... Deceiving!!!
4. Entering our room for the first time, it had a musty smell... after a few days it was gone. It seemed that I was the only one emptying the dehumidifier in the room...
5. The presentation for the food was wonderful, but the quality did not seem to meet the standards of a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Do NOT spend the extra $$$ for the preferred member rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank singleInCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Brand new resort..rooms get an A+ staff is very friendly and accomodating. Was a 1 hour wait to get into french rest. They need to give priority to pref club guests. Also need to offer a la carte breakfast..food is good but i have had better at other secrets properties. Room cleaned at 3pm? And i found a large dead insect in the room! Yuk! I will definately return. Staff is willing to listen to feedback and attempts to correct issues
Btw..they will try to sell you their unlimited vacation club which is $$$$$...spa access pass for 1 day pp $65 :(

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just got home from such an amazing vacation! The staff was absolutely fabulous! You must visit this resort! The spa was out of this world, it included not only your massage but an hour full of hydrotherapy, steam shower and sauna. I plan on going back here!! Also, the bartenders Ramon and Alfredo are awesome! They are super friendly and make the best drinks! The view was great and pool area was warming atmosphere. Also, the food was very good too! The French place and Castaways was awesome! I highly recommend this place to adults, you have time to relax without any disturbances. The entertainment was excellent, make sure you join in and participate! You will not regret it. Secrets also was so clean! I could not find anything wrong with this resort! We made many new friends and had such an unforgettable time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff received us with a warm welcome. Beverages are included and food was delicious, specially Bordeaux, the french! OMG. Clean rooms and a nice lobby to watch awesome sunsets!
I definetely would love to go back.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My fiancee and I spent five days and four nights here. It was incredible. The staff is competent and friendly, the food in the many restaurants is uniformly great, the beach is great, and the activities in the immediate area are outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
5.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,799 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
810 reviews
0 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,026 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#13 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
8,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta

Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico (Formerly Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $301 - $1,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing