We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$123
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$226
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,133)
Filter reviews
4,133 results
Traveler rating
2,731
903
317
113
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,731
903
317
113
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket cafepreferred clubbarefoot grillfrench restaurantpool arealobby baroceana restaurantunlimited vacation clubpreferred buildingentertainment teamhealing handsturn down servicerain showerdress codeall inclusive resortrose petalsocean view
Filter
Updating list...
3,324 - 3,329 of 4,133 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our first resort "stay".
Found it very dificult to get used to the idea that we could virtually ask for anything and it was there.
Our room was good and had a sea view.
Air conditioner did not work but was promptly fixed.
The food was varied and first class.
20 minute walk to the Maicon district.
Cabs were reasonable at 60-70 pesos.
Lastly ALL the staff were fantastic!!!

Room Tip: Go high to avoid any pool noise. I think all the rooms had a sea view so not a problem.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n0ts0g00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great resort. Beautiful place to visit, would like to return. The staff was either very good or indifferent. Turn down happened only once. Had to make multiple requests to get things corrected. Would definitely recommend this destination. Very safe and the people are very friendly. Within walking distance to almost anything in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What an incredible resort! The property is new and very well maintained, and the staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful at every turn. We stayed 6 days and wish we had booked at least 6 more! The restaurants were excellent (only wish they brewed stronger coffee at breakfast, but there is a separate coffee shop in the sister property next door - NOW Amber). Room service breakfast was a treat!

The rooms are fantastic - loved the large shower with two shower heads, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The housekeeping staff does an amazing job, and turn down service made each evening return to the room a special surprise. Tomasa was our housekeeper for most of our stay and she was an absolute gem of a lady.

There was a lot to do in PVR, so be sure to book some excursions and visit some of the local restaurants. We enjoyed the ATV and jet ski excursions, and one of our favorite local restaurants was called (in English) the Happy Lobster - about a $6-$8 cab ride away. I'm sure the spa is excellent too, but we decided to head to a local message shop just outside of the resort and had amazing full-body one hour messages for about $45-$50 for the two of us.

We will definitely return to this resort - it was hard to leave!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "bad" room on the property, but the Preferred tower rooms have hot tubs on the balconies.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffandMiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed April 14-21 for anniversary. First let me say, Puerto Vallarta is beautiful. Charming and naturally beautiful. I would reccomend anyone travel to this area. If you go, you can't go wrong with Secrets Vallarta Bay.

Pros:
-Brand new crisp and clean hotel, showing no signs of wear.
-Great location, close to the airport, Marina for activites and Malecon (boardwalk) no more than $6 cab ride to most activities.
-Stylish rooms with comfortable beds
-Exceptionaly friendly service, we do tip, but people are generally people working are upbeat despite tips. You want to tip them
-Great options for in hotel activites: Yoga, Archery, Pool,ect
-Food is generally good, for an All inclusive. Many healthy options to avoid the resprt weight gain, if that's your thing. Lots of fresh fish, Veg and Fruit.

The only Con was the beach. It was so rocky that we didn't even go in!
Pools are great and we went on island trips and swam in ocean there.

We did stay in Perferred Club and were upgraded to Master Suite. It is a nice luxury, but not neccesary, because the resort is great. You don't wear wristbands, so no one treats you differently because you are preferred.The pros are upgraded liquor if you drink and changing fresh buffet. This was nice if you missed a meal, or wanted a snack. They did accomidate every need in preferred club. Splurge if you can, if not don't worry. Check in and out were great in preferred. Not much of a vacation club pitch, so pressure was off.

Tips:
Rush past Time share people at airport, to get your cab at Taxi Booth. Seems like they are ruining the charm of PV and the locals don't like it either.
Bring singles to tip, it goes very far:)
Get a swim out room if you like to swim at night. Water is warm, but Sun only hits it in late afternoon. My husband and I got one because we enjoy moonlight swimming

We have stayed in many All inclusive and Secrets ranked among the top experiences, especially for the price. It is very balanced. We know it's a good vacation, when we want to plan our next trip, before we even leave.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are great if you like to swim at night, when it is quiet, in the moonlight. water is warm. Preffered club is awesome, but not essential. Great liqor, food and service, but if you don't upgrade you will still have a great time.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The reviews say it all! I'm not gonna repeat what everyone else is saying, this resort is absolutely exceptional in all areas.

The staff by far stands out the most for us, they went above and beyond to make this an unforgettable vacation.

The timeshare people are very easily avoidable, a simple no and you won't hear from them again. The food all around was the best quality we have ever eaten at an AI.

My husband and I are both 30. We were not looking for a vacation to go partying but at the same time were not looking for a sleepy resort. We found the perfect medium here, wonderful. The entertainers keep people busy and laughing all day. They are fun to watch as they go around inviting people to join in on activities. A lot of silly adult humor and fun games that kept the entire poolside laughing.

HIGHLY recommend this resort for couples. It's not really a place for a young group of guys or girls looking to party or meet other singles.

Can't wait to return and visit the absolute best waiter!! His name is Omar, you'll find him by the beach and swim up bar area everyday! Anyone who has been, knows which one is Omar!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mommascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews