We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Secrets Puerto Vallarta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Secrets Puerto Vallarta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I just returned from a stay at Secrets Vallara Bay January 2013. This is a new property very beautiful. I viewed several of the rooms it would be hard to find a bad room in the hotel. All rooms have an amazing view. I would recommend the upgrade to the club side for the privacy alone but not necessary. We enjoyed the Club upgrade for the private bar and the food that was always out. All rooms have a hot tub on the deck. Note they are not very private. Frosted glass seperates them from the room next to you. We did meet some fun amazing people on this side. One big downside for us staying at this property is the dress code for the restaraunts on property. While I understand they do not want swimsuits in these areas in the evening there is no reason a guy should have to wear pants to go to dinner. We talked to several others in this same situation. When on vacation you shouldnt have to dress up. With the price of baggage on the airlines now who wants to bring the extra clothes? I would suggest perhaps having two sections in each of the restaraunts one for those who want to be dressy and another side for casual diners. The room service menu needs a lot of work. Very little choice of food items on the menu. Many items are only available at certain times. The room service needs some work. With the rooms so nice why would you want to leave your room? The buffet on the Secrets side is so so the NOW side is much better. You can expect last nights leftovers for breakfast if you go early I found later was better for the food. The entire hotel staff is amazing. The hotel very secure. I didnt find the timeshare sharks that bad they were fine with a yes or no just be aware that they are out there and they are all over town. The spa is stunning. Service is good. I had a facial and a hair style. My only complaint here was that I arrived at 9:00 a.m. for a 9:00 a.m. appointment and was told I would have to come back a 11:00 because I was late? Or I could stay and get reduced services? I wasnt late they just want you there way ahead of time to complete a form that takes 2 minutes to complete? I went ahead with my service and didnt feel that I received less time but it did slightly ruin the experience fo me that day because arrival issue. Overall this is a great property and I would stay there again be aware that it is new with some kinks to be worked out. Probably needs a seasoned hotel management team to come in for a few weeks to work them out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shelleyrtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,841
    563
    201
    72
    40
See reviews for
180
1,919
57
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crockett, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tania with entertainment, Felipe with transportation, service at the pool was wonderful and personable. It was our favorite part of this secrets hotel.The restaurants are good. Hotel simple. 5 min drive to dwntwn.

Room Tip: Tower 1 is awesome but the dogs at night and the roosters are terribleeeeee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This resort is just so relaxing, beautiful, food is great really good, elevator's to get to any section because it is split level. Spa is nice hard to find, yes has a gym noting for the bodybuilders like my fiancée but he managed because there's a Gold's Gym just down the street literary a 2 min walk, up to date machines you can do everything, he was there for 3 hours every morning. :s
You can walk around town, but there really isn't anything to see, malls have shut down a while back they had a rescission and are slowly getting things back together the main mall in Puerto Vallarta is the main mall for the locals.
On my opinion, The Now (Family's) & Secrets (Adults) is the only nice resort in Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: The bottom rooms are all swim outs, top corner rooms are larger but all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I didn't get to stay at this wonderful new hotel long enough! It's located on a great stretch of beach in Puerto Vallarta, not too far from the famed Malecon. I am saying that it's a cool place, because it really does capture a modern vibe in the way it is designed, in decor choice, in music played, in the whole setup. The food was really lovely in the dining room at breakfast; it didn't seem at all like a typical all inclusive. I love the way the chaise-lounges are built right into the water! Also, large sized amenities can be found in the bathrooms, and I also loved my comfy luxury-designed bathtub! The way the building is angled, it would be hard to get a bad view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This resort caters to adults only. Although it shares a property with the Amber Now a family resort.
One huge plus is no wrist bands! The rooms are beautiful - full attention to detail. The preferred member bar area is a plus - Carlos can make a wicked Caesar.
I recommend tipping for drinks and at meals. The staff work hard to make sure every thing is to you're standards.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill-Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a well designed new hotel on the beach in the Hotel Zone on Banderas Bay. There are four towers that share various amenities on the campus. "Secrets" is the adult-only half of the complex, and this is where my wife and I stayed. "Now" is the family section of the campus. Secrets guests can go to the Now buildings, and vice versa except kids have to stay at Now.

Positives:
Clean, and kept clean 24/7. Good sized rooms with normal package. Free stocked room refrigerator with soda, water and beer. Large, well appointed shower and bath. Wonderful bedding. Food: Well above average for an all inclusive, except at the pool. Skip lunch poolside and go to Market Café for better food and service. We mostly ate breakfast and lunch on property and went into town for dinner.
Bars: As far as premium liquor goes, I drink Bourbon, and the best they had was Jim Beam. Their rum and vodka selection was better, probably for all the fruity drinks they make. No Heineken, limited wine at lobby bar, even the Mexican beer selection was limited to Modello and Pacifico, with the omnipresent Corona for Coors Light afficiandos. Great bartenders, eager to make your time pleasurable. If you can find Alejandro, he's your man. Best restaurant is Oceana, which is a seafood restaurant in the Now building. The hotel was 25% occupied most of the time we were there. No need to get up early to stake a claim on a lounge chair here, most everyone is a mature adult, and happy in this clean and pleasant place. Interesting architecture with heavy use of stone tile and some nautical touches, like the sail overhang at the entrance and teak decks off the lobby.

Negatives: They advertise $200 of hotel cash with your reservation. What you get is a coupon book with weasel clauses and provisos. My mom's cigar box of grocery coupons is worth millions by the same mathmatical conventions used here. Completely worthless and insulting to anyone who can afford to stay at hotels of this caliber. Lastly, at some point you may encounter the hotel's own gang of hyper-polite timeshare sharks, who swim near the main entrance and concierge desk. Their job is to feed referrals to the "Unlimited Vacations" timeshare operation in the Now building. They are an annoyance to steer clear of, although they are strategically placed to be in your face several times a day. Free WiFi is good for email, not much else - there are only 3-4 access points that are chronically overloaded - but maybe that's good, too, since we're on vacation, right? Concierge service is OK, but limited to the concierge website they rely on. Your own advance research will serve you well, use the consierge for making reservations, and taxi drivers will get you there with Mexican precision.

I'd give this place five stars if they would relocate the land sharks completely out of the lobby and into a shack down the street. And finally make public indoor areas, like the lobby, smoke free.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a full view of Banderas Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The property is quite new, food is of good quality, rooms are really nice, several pools which are kept clean, a variety of meal options... but staff is the best attribute of the resort. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Vallarta.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#30 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#44 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
2.9 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
2.6 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing