We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central to Old Town and well equipped”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Iguana de Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Iguana de Oro
Soquel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central to Old Town and well equipped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I really liked staying in a studio at La Iguana de Oro. It wasn't like staying in a hotel where you have personal services but The Hotel Encino was helpful at check-in and check out. The homey room came with a fully equipped kitchen, which I appreciated, and Lupita made sure that everything was very well maintained. I highly recommend taking earplugs because the clubs below were VERY loud at night. I think there must be an "afterhours" Karioke bar between 2-5am! Also, I needed to leave the hotel before dawn for some excursions and the stairwell was pitch black...no illumination whatsoever (nightlights would be fine). I consider that dangerous especially for an older person. I enjoyed being right in the middle of Old Town and getting to know the neighborhood. I felt very safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: Lights in the stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a month Dec 2012. After 2 nights of listening to the unbearable notice from the club across the street we asked for our money back so we could find another place. We couldn't get our money back, so we bought ear plugs, which helped.
The noise from the bar goes on until 3 - 4 am.
The room is nice but if you plan to sleep this is not the place to stay. There are nicer places for the same money.
Love PV but wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a week before Christmas, and while we enjoyed our stay, it was extremely noisy. We were in studio #101, with a balcony facing the street. There is a male gay club next door and another across the street, so between 10 pm until 4 am, we could hear music and people outside. Even if the gay clubs weren't there, the street is very busy with loud buses and trucks running throughout the night. Maybe the other units are quieter. Also, above our door, there were brick slots that are open (probably for ventilation), so we could sometimes hear conversations in the hall (it was fine for us, but you'd probably need to be discreet if you were having a private conversation).

Other than the noise, this was a very nice place. IThe maid cleaned every day, there was plenty of hot water, there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, a grocery store about 2 blocks away, and about 3 blocks from a wooden bridge that crosses the Rio Cuale (if you cross the bridge, you'll enter the outdoor market), and about 5 blocks from the south part of the Malecon. There is also a fan in the room, but we didn't need to use it (maybe in the humid months, it'll be necessary). And there are 2 small and shallow (about 1 ft and 3 ft deep) dipping pools on the roof. The bed was very comfortable.

The price was about $35/night if you pay directly from their website, and it costs more if you reserve from a travel site like Expedia.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, ask for a room that does not face the street, but I don't know if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The studio apartment we rented was great. It was nicely updated, very clean and with a seemingly endless supply of hot hot water. The kitchen had the basic necessities, the refrigerator kept beverages nice and cold (worked especially well for cerveza), and the gas range never gave us any problems. I found the bed extremely comfortable and the closet space was dreamy. The rate also includes housekeeping one day a week! But best of all is the location, in the heart of the action, could not have asked for a better location.

The only reason that I don't give this place 5/5 is because there was ALWAYS laundry being done by the housekeeper. the wifi was unreliable and front door wasn't always closed properly therefore strangers would frequently walk in and knock on our door to ask about renting....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbunny116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#58 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hortencia
Hotel Hortencia
#87 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Estancia San Carlos
Estancia San Carlos
#79 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suites Plaza Del Rio
Suites Plaza Del Rio
#101 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plazamar
Plazamar
#70 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vallarta jr. suites
Vallarta jr. suites
#51 of 92 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Iguana de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Iguana de Oro

Property: La Iguana de Oro
Address: Calle Lazaro Cardenas 310 | Col. Emiliano Zapata Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48290, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Iguana de Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguana de Oro Vallarta offers brand new boutique accommodation and is located in the heart of the city, between two of the liveliest neighborhoods; Down Town and the Romantic Zone.They can be rented for short and long times and we have maid service,Iguana de Oroqueen size beds, kitchen, TV, cable and free WiFi. We also have a roof top terrace with a small pool and sun umbrellas to unwind and relax. Nearby attractions include the new remodeled malecon, pubs, bars, clubs, the finest shops and art galleries ion town, restaurants, beaches, the flea market, all in a walking distance. We strive to make the Iguana de Oro Vallarta feel as your home away from home and continuosly aim to offer the warmth and attention that you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Iguana de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing