We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place for any great expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro
Ranked #92 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

PROS:
Within a few blocks from all the gay bars, in fact, only 1.5 blocks from one of the main dance clubs Mañana and a local gay bar is across the street

Close proximity to a ton of great restaurants

Great water pressure for the showers and the sink

Bathroom is in pretty decent shape

The triple occupancy rooms seem to have tons of space and their balconies overlook one of the local gay bars (would reccomend these rooms over the double occupancy rooms)

Adequate daily maid service

Relatively close to the beach (within a few blocks)...however, about 12 blocks from the gay section of the beach

CONS:
The rooms need a lot of "love"...tons of rust on fixtures, gaps in exterior doors, dusty fixtures

Lacks sound proofing, so you'll hear people chatter and the rumble of large-size vehicles...not recommended for light sleepers

No in-room phone for contacting the front desk

Pool is on the small side and only appropriate for soaking with very few people

TV had volume buttons physically removed and could only be turned on/off by plugging/unplugging

Free wifi, but very slow and spotty

BOTTOMLINE: great for its location, but this hotel wouldn't fit my definition of a 3-star hotel...if location, tight budget, and simply a place to lay your head at night are your only requirements, this place could work for you...but, if you're looking for amenities & rooms equivalent to that of a Holiday Inn or a Best Western, this isn't it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daloneranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 87 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

...this hotel was well kept and clean, with a maid cleaning our room daily. It's basic style accommodation, so don't expect anything fancy, but the pool and roof top area were a bonus, both clean as well. Great location and if you like walking, it's easy to get to most places on foot.

The biggest issue was the street noise. Our room was facing one of the streets and was a thoroughfare for the local buses which are incredibly noisy, and usually very early in the morning. If you're a light sleeper, this may be an issue. We had our own pillows so managed to sleep fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaPricklyPear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I am not one of those people who thinks that I have to stay in the best places every where I go. In fact, I sometimes prefer the quaint, out of the beaten path dives. But I'm sorry, this place is not clean, not maintained, not managed very well at all. We got there a little early because we were already in town at a timeshare resort for the prior seven nights. They told us that check in wasn't until a certain time. Which is fine but funny since it's the off season and they couldn't possibly have been full. But whatever....... So we get back at the agreed upon time, they check us in and send us to the room, and it's horrible. Not clean. It has the most interesting (not in a good way) layout of any room I've ever seen. There is not a single towel, wash rag, or bath matt, etc... in the room, But we thought, it's ok, we are just here for a night. So we put things in the room and go to turn on the TV. The TV has no working switch. To turn it on you have to plug it in and the self designed mounting unit the TV sits on has parts that block all of the buttons on the TV for switching channels or turning the volume up or down. Absolutely hilarious. The A/C unit.....same thing. You have to plug it in. It did cool the room pretty good but it was a window unit and it leaked all over the small balcony the whole time it was on.

So, we decide we are going to have to have towels. I go talk to the maid (because I saw her on my way to the front desk) and she tells me that she will have them ready for us in about 10 minutes. 2 hours later I go to the front desk and they have to go look for towels because they only had one. And the one they had was ripped which they still gave us. No pride in thieir business whatsoever.

The room had no ceiling really just the underside of the roof which was alright. But the bathroom looked like it was built into the room as a separate structure long after the room was constructed. It even had it's own roof under the room roof. One of the brick walls that made up the bathroom had that design where they intentionally left out some of the bricks. I was in the bathroom looking out into the room. So much for privacy when you are on the throne.

The positives: It had a fridge and a little two burner stove and some dishes. There was a makeshift little kitchen area with a bar to sit at. The chairs were plastic footstools, but they worked. The location was fantastic. It's really too bad this hotel was so bad because with it's location, it could have been a great find if it had any other redeeming qualities whatsoever. I will not stay here again if I can help it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 9 days in March 2012. The hotel would be in the budget/value category. It is similar to a Motel 6, Super 8, or Econolodge. Simple, basic lodging. It is well located in old town Puerto Vallarta. Shops, convenience stores, and several very good restaurants close by. The staff is friendly and the hotel is kept clean. There is a small swimming pool and a rooftop sundeck. There are other outside sitting areas. The hotel does have wireless internet. The signal was strong and was always available.
Now for the big negative. The hotel is extremely noisy. It is located on two very busy streets. One is a major bus route and the other leads to the only south bound road out of Puerto Vallarta. This means lots of traffic noise. About the only quiet time is from midnight to about 6:00 am. If you are one that likes to sleep in. Its not going to happen here. Don't expect a pillow top bed. This is a Mexican hotel and the beds ares "extra" firm.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the street noise that you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCIndy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I am staying here at the hacienda de Vallarta Centro now. I have been here for 5 days so far and it is a beautiful clean hotel. I booked for 2 weeks and am glad I picked this hotel. The rooms are large and clean and the staff go out of their way to make your stay here a great experience. A five minute walk will have you to the beach. All the best local restaurants are at your door. Now the bad. Lots of noise from the traffic, but turn on the ac and you will sleep like a baby, it's just part of the excitement of staying in Puerto Vallarta. Also there is no elevator, so if stairs are a problem you may want to consider somewhere else. That's all the bad. There are also great outdoor spaces to sit and sun or just watch the traffic go by. There is also very nice pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here in late August/September. They have a great, super-clean pool and some interesting spacious rooms. There are two parts to the hotel and the rooms facing Insurgentes are very spacious, Mexican-styled. Our room was huge! You could make 3 basic hotel rooms out of it! We had a balcony that overlooked the city and a great view of the cathedral. The staff was friendly and helpful and their English was pretty good! They had complimentary coffee in the morning and fresh chilled bottled water outside the room. The room rates were excellent! A considerable value and this hotel is close to everything in Old Town and near buses to go to Mismaloya or Walmart (for those tourists that need to go check out a Mexican Walmart!) There are many good eateries just down the street and an excellent coffeehouse, Cafe Catedral around the corner. The proprietor did everything she could to make our stay exceptional. Forget the all inclusives! I'd rather find my own food and make my own adventures. Clean! Friendly, and safe.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have air conditioning which is helpful during August/September. The cost is sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank biteoftheiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank michell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#61 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#100 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suites Plaza Del Rio
Suites Plaza Del Rio
#95 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mocali
Hotel Mocali
#76 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
53 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hacienda de Vallarta Las Glorias
Hacienda de Vallarta Las Glorias
#94 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azteca Hotel
Azteca Hotel
#90 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro

Address: Calle Insurgentes 322 | Colonia. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $26 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing