We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 1st Mexican Vacation”
Review of Vallarta Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vallarta Shores
Ranked #9 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Hawesville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best 1st Mexican Vacation”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The pictures on the website are very accurate and once you arrive is so much better. Most relaxing wonderful place. The beach was clean and private. Vallarta Shores employees made it feel like home. I was afraid PV would not be safe... but I felt very safe and relaxed. A group of 6 of us recently stayed in Penthouse A. Daniel in the lobby was great at speaking English and helping us negotiate cab fare. When my room air gave out...Daniel and Rodrigo made sure after a day at the beach my room was cool and clean. Rodrigo was our chef. He would take our food list the night prior and in the morning the fridge was stocked. Rodrigo went above and beyond his job title of chef and took us during the weekend to local beaches and allowed us to experience the true authentic Mexican culture. The town, food, hotel, pool, beach all exceeded my expectation!. Only advice is when coming through the airport...keep walking till the middle where you hit the taxi stand..prepay..then exit. Do not get intimidated by the timeshare salesman. Don't worry about being polite..just keep walking. Also, when on the beach, and a vendor is selling, they do not get their feelings hurt if you just nod your head with no gracias. Lastly, only use an approved ATM inside the bank Rodrigo takes you to..we went to one by the market and well....we all had funds taken from acct upon stateside and had to cancel our cards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    40
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
133
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Sooo happy w the whole experience that this hotel had to offer... I have been in the restaurant and customer service industry my whole life and everything about this hotel is Top Notch!! We rented the Penthouse A (The best spot in this hotel), the space, the location, the pool, the rooms, the bed, the pillows, the air conditioned rooms, the staff (both front and cleaning), the view were all incredible... We also hired the Chef Rodrigo Lopez to cook two meals a day for us and this actually made our trip 10 times better... Rodrigo was so much more than a Chef to us and he became my friend.. Trust me, hire him!!! I will be coming back to this hotel at least once a year for the rest of my life and will be sending my friends and family always... To the entire staff of Vallarta Shores - THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Penthouse A!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TurboWowowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I love Vallarta Shores and stay there exclusively. The staff becomes like family very quickly. Friendly and helpful. VS has a unique charm that I've experienced no where else. It's like a home away from home. Thank you Daniel and all of you for another amazing trip!!

Room Tip: I've stayed in all sorts of rooms - I especially love Penthouse A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our anniversary vacation at Vallarta Shores. We loved the mexican charm and listening to the surf just feet from our balcony. Our room decor was quaint and having a kitchen allowed us to wake up late, drink coffee on our veranda and cook romantic breakfasts. This is a small hotel with a great staff that made you feel welcome from the minute you arrived. It's exceptionally clean with everything you need. There's a pool if the surf is rough and iguanas to make friends with as long as you feed them red hibiscus flowers. We can't wait to go back. L&J, San Diego

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John_LeslieSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've been staying at Vallarta Shores for years and it just keeps getting better. It is like a second home. The place is a palace and you immediately feel welcome and at home. The views are priceless, the beach at your front door, and the sunsets are priceless. Thank you Daniel and the VS crew for yet another great stay. See you soon!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smcobn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you want the ultimate rest & relaxation Vallarta Shores is the place. Immerse yourself in Spanish charm on a quiet dead end road with your beach front Condo. The views are outstanding. We rented the 2 penthouses with a group of 10. Two pools, two chefs, great maid service & Daniel the manager arranged for massages for us the 1st
day we were there so we melted into our vacation immediately! We wanted for nothing. Our chefs Rodrigo & Elle were amazing & we when we tried to
clear the table to help them... they just said.."you are on vacation leave it!" What a treat to have a condo experience without the cooking & cleaning!
Daniel will help you with any excursions you want to do or just leave you to relax the days away. This was my 7th trip to Vallarta shores over the years & it
still does not disappoint. I highly recommend this place to anyone & of course keep introducing all my friends to the experience. Will come back again & again!

Shannon Portland, OR

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was my second trip to VS. There were 10 of us that went down and reserved both penthouses. Everyone had such a great time. It's so convenient to have your own chef's, your own kitchen, your own pool, and all of this at an affordable oceanfront condo/hotel. Our chef's (Rodrigo and Ellie) were amazing. We ate like kings, but did not spend a fortune to do this. We are all looking forward to our next trip. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveandKandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#11 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
706 reviews
3.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
511 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,494 reviews
4.6 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallarta Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Shores

Property: Vallarta Shores
Address: Calle Malecon 400, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vallarta Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Vallarta Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Shores International Puerto
Hotel Vallarta Shores International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing