We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Dulce Vida
Nearby Hotels
$377
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$256
$195
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
$299
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$307
$250
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$375
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$432
$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$159
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
$500
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
89
10
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
10
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancetiled poolprivate deckart walksquare feetliving roomother guestscomfortable bedsopen airtilesmaleconvallartavillapvtiendaoceanaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 104 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Just back from a four-day stay in Casita 4. Wow! Incredibly spacious, beautiful furnishings throughout (two bedrooms, and an extra small sleeping area; large living room, dining room, and kitchen; two well-functioning bathrooms), windows and doors aplenty opening out onto gorgeous gardens, and an enormous terrace area overlooking the pool with views down to the ocean. I think two other apartments were occupied while we were there, but it seems you always feel you have the place to yourself. And it's perfect walking distance from everything in town -- a few blocks from the Malecon (be warned, though -- they're steep uphill on the way home...), from Barcelona Tapas and Cafe des Artistes, River Cafe, Vitea, Trio, and a lovely walk to the Zona Romantica. John Huston's former house is right next door -- and the gardener started out working for Richard Burton! My only caveats are that it's incredibly hot in summer, despite an excellent fan system, and the geckos which keep you insect-free are very noisy at night, so bring ear-plugs. Other than that: Dulce Vida is stunning. Look no further.
PS The website really doesn't do the place justice; look at traveler photos instead.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trilceana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I stayed at Casa Dulce Vida for four days... regretfully!! I could have stayed there for a couple of weeks and still need some more!

We stayed at Casa 4 which is beautiful and big, it was so much more than what I expected. All houses seem to be very nice and the pool (with its red tiles) is beautiful. The sights from the "casas" are great and we simply loved the place.

It's well kept and all staff is very nice. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferncab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Thank You to Audrey, Lee and Chawnalee for their outstanding hospitality. We have been coming to Puerto Vallarta and never stayed in El Centro. We loved the location. It was in walking distance to all our favourite spots in Vallarta. We found Casa 3 spacious for 4 adults. It was like having our own apartment in paradise. The pool was surrounded by stunning gardens. We will be back to Casa Dulce Vida.
Thanks again!
The Scotts

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petitsyrahsyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

'We've stayed other places in Puerto Vallarta but this is the only place we'll stay from now on. Lee & Audry & Chawnalee are terrific hosts and the service we get is outstanding. Our second stay was even better than the first and now we've signed up for next year a full year in advance!
The location is great and there's very little NOT to like about Casa Dulce Vida.

Give this place a try--you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santafetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Casa Dulce Vida is a hidden treasure in Puerto Vallarta that we were lucky enough to find. I would much prefer to stay there than at any other hotel or resort in the city! Staying at the Casa is like living in your own spacious apartment downtown. Everything you could want is within walking distance and you feel that you are truly a part of the city. It is a much more authentic experience than staying at a resort.

My daughter is in high school and we have stayed in Casa #2 for the last two years during her spring break. She scoffed at staying at a resort and said "we might as well go to California!" Instead, we become part of the neighborhood and enjoy the quaintness of PV. There is so much to do and see--the malecon, the mercado (trading areas), little shops and galleries, the old cathedral, the beach or just lounging poolside. You can also take the bus to many places nearby for very little money.

Our typical day was something like this: sleep in (or watch the sun come up--it's nice and breezy in the morning), wander across the street to the tiny grocery for some fresh fruit and Mexican pastries, have breakfast and coffee by the pool (Casa #2 opens into the pool area), go downtown for a little stroll, come back and spend a couple hours in the pool (the sun is perfect but the rays are more direct there), go back in and have a nice siesta (there is real merit in this!), get up and shower and clean up to go back downtown or along the malecon, have a late dinner at one of the many restaurants, stop someplace to listen to music/dance, go home at midnight or so....and start over! The pace is totally different there and the weather is perfect. That sounds like a lazy schedule but it was exactly what we wanted.

The casas are very clean and Audrey and Lee are the perfect hosts. The pool is fully lined in shades of red and rust glass mosiac and is a work of art. Much of the time we had the pool all to ourselves. A charming man is the groundskeeper and the setting is rather tropical. You can wander up to the rooftop to view the city and watch the sun go down. The bed is very comfortable and all the casas are decorated in the style of Mexico. They boast many original pieces of art that date to the time the casa was built and there are fresh arrangements in every room. After you have stayed for a few days, you will find yourself looking around the neighborhood, wondering what it would be like to own a little place there.

Before you consider making reservations at one more resort.....go to Casa Dulce Vida first! I promise you that you will be glad you did. And while you are there, have a drink (and chips and guacamole?) at the rooftop of Chez Elena, a wonderful neighborhood restaurant two blocks away. After the spectacular sunset, wander on into the restaurant for a late dinner--the food is fabulous.

Casa Dulce Vida is not to be missed. We highly recommend it to all our friends--you will love it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrilld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews