We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, and more”
Review of Casa Dulce Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Dulce Vida
Ranked #22 of 72 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Yes, there are breathtaking views (on multiple terraces) across old Puerto Vallarta, over the Malecon, and out onto the Pacific Ocean. Yes, there are well tended gardens, architectural subtleties, tasteful interior decorations. Yes, there is a delightful swimming pool with a bright, tiled basin and comfortable lounging chairs. Yes, there are fine restaurants, shops, and churches nearby, through which colorful festival processions frequently pass on cobblestone streets.
But the peaceful atmosphere maintained by the gracious hosts inside Dulce Vida will do more to ease whatever worries you carried with you than most vacation establishments. Spontaneous friendly conversations with other guests from around the world will engage you, and the stories you take home will be about much more than the famous sites of this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkLandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dulce Vida for a week in November 2012. We were staying at an all-inclusive for a wedding prior and were overjoyed to find this perfect spot afterwards. We really love luxury and exploring new places. This was that....a beautiful casa in a surprising and lovely city. (first time in PV) The all-inclusive was nice and fun for a wedding party, but staying at the Casa was our heaven. There was only one other person staying there so we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We spent sunsets on the roof and enjoyed cool swims after hot days exploring the city, hiking in the hills, and shopping at the markets. We were in Casa #2, which opens right onto the pool. Audrey and Lee were the perfect hosts. They offered so many amazing suggestions about things to do, were helpful in booking a scuba trip, and offered us a cool beer and homemade guacamole upon arrival. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for uniqueness, friendliness, and a romantic spot. I could imagine if the Casa was full it would be a little cozy with the other guests, but luckily most of the casas have a degree of privacy with the stairs and entry-ways.

Enjoy PV and say hi to Lee and Audrey from Brooklyn, NY!

Room Tip: Casa #2 is large and luxurious. The main room opens on the pool so is great to step out and dive in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPChristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dulcevida, Owner at Casa Dulce Vida, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

hola, thank you for your comments. hope to see you at the casa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

In Puerto Vallarta you can find a hidden paradise, it's behind the facade of touristic traps and will give you a feeling of something which is just there to be found by you.
As you approach this beautifull casa you'll maybe think your just not at the right place but don't let that fool you, you are about to enjoy the hospitality of Chaneli and Coco (the sweetest dog ever)

Enjoy this hidden treasure, take a swim in the beautifull swimming pool with imported red tiles. The great bed and the rustique feeling the place gives you, it's what we exactly needed in our trip to Puerto Vallarta.

Join us in one of our best hospitality expierences in Mexico

Greets,
Eldert and Jana
(Netherlands)

Room Tip: If you always wanted a pool in front of your bedroom.....casa 5 is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janicka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this fanastic place for 10 days in November 2012. Audrey and Lee were the most gracious kind hosts. Great views and close to the bus and Malacon. Close to some of the best restaurants in PV. We stayed in Casa # 3 which had plenty of room for a couple with your own private patio ! Very quiet and secure place to stay. We look forward to going back next year. Thanks for making our stay pleasent .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjorgensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Dulce Vida is an excellent choice if you want to avoid the Puerto Vallarta ‘hotelzillas’. The area generally isn’t as quiet as La Zona Romantica - busses and trucks roar up a lot of PV’s main streets for reasons known only to the local planning authorities - though it is at the top of a quiet street. Nor is it closer to the best beach in town (which isn’t blow-me-down great, in my opinion) but closer to many great eateries and bars. Plus it has a superb pool, more space in the rooms than you’ll probably need for an average stay and an excellent vibe. Extended stays would be easy as the rooms have kitchens and closets, etc.

You won’t be able to book Dulce Vida on any of the well-known sites such as booking.com or Expedia (at least at the time of writing). You’ll need to contact the place directly via the website. They have a 7-for-6 night deal in the off-season (June-July-ish). Which is nice.

Two minor downsides to Dulce Vida are the internet access which can be a bit marginal (I think it’s actually an ISP issue as any kind of rain tends to kill it). And, because it's a very old casa (the history is on the web site and is more interesting than many), you might experience the old bit of water here and there and an occasional crab which has wandered a bit far from home. Sometimes there’s a bit of noise from “insanely hot clubs” down the hill, but it’s not too bad. (Though how the people living nearer them cope with the nightly racket, I have no idea; the inventor of the sub-woofer deserves an Ignoble Prize.)

Chawnalee, our host, and Cocoa, her large, docile and friendly canine amiga were both excellent. Chawnalee is ready and willing to assist with car arrangements and is well-connected in town so she can point you in the right direction if you need help or just a good place to eat. Overall, superb value and very hard to go past. We’ll be back before the end of the year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique so each has its own attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Casa Dulce Vida was the perfect place to stay. Everything -- from the spacious and comfortable apartment, the step out to the pool (and the morning and evening swims), the views, and our affable hosts -- made for a great start to travels through to the interior of Mexico. Thank you very much for a relaxing and inspiring stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

If you are looking for a beautiful place for solitude, yet close to experience the local culture, this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellys747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
#1 of 72 in Puerto Vallarta
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Alemana
Hacienda Alemana
#5 of 72 in Puerto Vallarta
412 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mondavi Resort Spa & Wellness Center
Mondavi Resort Spa & Wellness Ce...
#50 of 72 in Puerto Vallarta
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hacienda Escondida Puerto Vallarta
Hacienda Escondida Puerto Vallar...
#6 of 72 in Puerto Vallarta
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Fantasia
Casa Fantasia
#14 of 72 in Puerto Vallarta
112 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Suites Mar Elena
Hotel Suites Mar Elena
#20 of 72 in Puerto Vallarta
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dulce Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dulce Vida

Address: Calle Aldama (El Centro) 295, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $40 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful large property has great views and is centrally located to Pv's best restaurants, shopping and 4 blocks to the beach. Enjoy many of the casas as a group or select one individually. There are many gardens, patios and entrances that provide privacy. The swimming pool is large and there are many lounges and gardens. Maid service is Monday to Saturday. There are on site massages and beauty services. All casas have complete kitchens. The free wifi is throughout. We so appreciate our new solar system. Don't just visit .... Live it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dulce Vida Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing