We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Welcoming Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Murphy's Irish Pub

Murphy's Irish Pub
Ranked #92 of 998 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome Home to Murphy's Irish Pub - Puerto Vallarta! Live Music~Whiskey~Sports~Food. Murphy's Irish Pub offers one of the best views in Vallarta! Located across from the infamous lighthouse (EL FARO)statue on the Malecon, Murphy's has an incredible view of the sunset overlooking the Bay of Banderas (Pacific Ocean) and a nightly firework display from the Marigalante pirate ship. The pub features a wide selection of whiskey and fantastic pub fare. Be sure to try the Guinness Pot Pie Stew, Sheperd's Pie, Jumbo Dublin Shrimp, Fish N Chips, Pub Burger with homemand chips (pub fries), delicious salads, Corned Beef and Cabbage (seasonal), and of course our brownie with Bailey's sauce & ice cream. Our Guinness Chili was awarded "people's choice" 1st Place! We have a variety of live music, the schedule of which can be found on our Facebook page at "Murphys Puerto Vallarta". Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights at 11 pm we have a phenomenal classic rock band! Every day we offer different drink and food specials, including some original cocktails found only here at Murphy's Irish Pub, Puerto Vallarta. Murphy's has FREE WIFI, 2 satellits for sporting events including: NFL "TICKET" with EVERY game, CFL, NHL, NBA, MLB, Champions League, Liga Mexicana and five different flat screen TVs to watch your favorite teams! The pub also offers a dart board, free pool table, and an assortment of games (Jenga, playing cards, uno, etc).
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We couldn't pass up the opportunity to vist an Irish pub in Puerto Vallarta. Although we were there during a slow part of the day, we were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. Lunch was delicious (especially the fresh cut fries upon which I sprinkled lots of malt vinegar) and people-watching from the balcony over the Malecon was a most pleasant way to while a few hours. We even bought a few t-shirts for friends back home. Will definitely come back to Murphy's Irish Pub the next time we are in PV.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    52
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, Food and Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

A great Irish Pub for drinks, food and friends. Spending the winter here it's been a great home away from home. Come and enjoy the good time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradley1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Fresh battered fish and shrimp and freshly cut french fries....best of the best for sure! Benny got our attention as we walked by the restaurant and convinced us to enter and eat, and I'm glad that he did. He spoke English very well and was the most helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Irish pub atmopshere!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a gem on the Malecon. A group of us were walking the Malecon and saw this place. The timing was perfect. We were hungry and thirsty. It was a late afternoon and the staff was very attentive. In addition other people in the bar were commenting on the service being great. The food was excellent as well. We met the owner John Murphy and he was very appreciative of us stopping. It occurred to me that we were looking for a place to watch the Super Bowl. Our hotel did not have it in English or the commercials. John had more than one TV , and it was in English and including the commercials!! We reserved a table( Glad we did!!) It was packed..The staff never missed a beat. Food was great, beer was cold, and we took a team picture with all the servers.. Highly recommend.. We will be back!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I understand that others have rated this restaurant as very good, but I would say it is only average, except for its prime location, near the center of the Malecon. The liquor was good and the beer was okay, but the fish and chips we had were mushy and the crust was made with a peppery batter unlike any I have ever had before. Perhaps because we were the only customers, the restaurant felt unwelcoming. Or, perhaps we felt that way because the owner's (or an employee's children were running around wild) we were fairly uncomfortable during dining. We were there around 6PM and it was a little early for dining in PV. I will say that the prices were reasonable

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Irish Pub also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Murphy's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing