We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST TOUR”

Vallarta Eats Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Signature Taco and Street Food Tour in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We say COME HUNGRY and we are not kidding! Experience real Mexican food with Vallarta Eats Food Tours! With three tours to choose from, Vallarta Eats Food Tours won't take you to usual tourist restaurants. Eat like a local.We'll help you discover Puerto Vallarta's most popular foods while getting a taste of Mexican culture and history. Authentic foods, local guides, and a window into the real Mexico, doesn't get much better - or more appetizing. Join us for a day you will always remember.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
1 review
“BEST TOUR”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

THIS WAS GREAT! Old town Mexico, All local taco stands and food establishments, hard working families creating authentic great Mexican food that the locals eat every day. We took our two children 14 1nd 15, this was there favorite part of our adventure. A Wonderful learning experience. We also went through the family markets with all the local produce that is being grown for sale, visited the local ice cream and candy store. The food and drink is truly awesome. We did not get sick! Come hungry and pace yourself it is a lot of food. Wear comfortable clothes and shoes. The walk is not long but the streets are uneven and stone. Memo your tour guide is excellent and very informative! This tour is a must! You will not be disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,205
    35
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just do it!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Who does not like a tour with a fantastic guide, 8 tacos, lots of agua fresca, and some desserts to boot, all at wonderful local establishments? This was a major highlight of this trip. Go starving and you will come back bloated, yet happy. And no issues after drinking all the agua frescas, sampling 80 salsas, etc. Thanks Memo and Eric!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

There isn't much more to say that hasn't already been said.... but I'll say it again just to reiterate how awesome the Vallarta Eats tour is.

This tour was easily the highlight of our trip to Puerto Vallarta. Our family of four (kids ages 9/10) all agreed this was the best and most fun activity. Memo was our guide and he was so gracious, hospitable, knowledgeable and interesting. Lucky us, the other couple on our tour rescheduled so we had him all to ourselves. Memo said he's given over 300 food tours so he's so familiar with all of the proprietors of the food stands. He exhibits incredible enthusiasm

They are not kidding when they say come hungry. Skip breakfast if you do the 10am tour. We were down to 3 tacos for 4 people by the last few stands and down to 2 quesadillas for 4 people by the last one! We were so full we had to go back to our hotel and take naps afterwards! LOL.

We immediately returned to two of the taco stands the following day so definitely take the tour on the first few days of your trip. I wish we had more time in our schedule to revisit more of the taco stands!

Many thanks to Memo and Vallarta Eats for an amazing day!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenk421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Foodie Tour”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I'm a long-term Vallarta visitor (30 years) and Mexican food eater (live in L.A.) but wanted to do this tour so I could become more familiar with dishes that I wouldn't normally order. So we did the Mole, Pozole and More tour and loved it! As it turned out, the other people that were supposed to be on our tour had to cancel, so it was just Memo, my partner and me. Memo was so enthusiastic and informative - we learned a lot both about food and PV. Three stops at street food stands (for Tacos al Pastor, Churros and Quesadillas Adobadas) and two sit-down restaurants (Chicken Enchiladas with two kinds of Mole, and a bowl of Pozole). You wind up walking about a mile through the Zona Romantica and Downtown. All of it was delicious and the places and their workers were charming. Definitely recommend doing this if you're at all interested in food and/or Mexican culture. Great!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very cool adventure”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We did our tour on our last day in PV. Our tour guide Memo was amazing. he was so knowledgeable about the area and had a friendly relationship with the local businesses we visited. We went to I think ten or eleven different places. We enjoyed seeing apart of town and tasting food we would have never known about.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank liyah409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallarta Eats Food Tours also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Vallarta Eats Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing