We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Amore

Amore
Ranked #135 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: ***Amore WILL BE CLOSED FOR SEVERAL WEEKS commencing on April 28, 2017 as we enhance our facilities to improve your dining experience! We apologize for the brief inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you back very shortly. We hope to re-open the first or second week of July 2017 Beautiful Italian restaurant in downtown (Centro) Puerto Vallarta, just 1-1/2 blocks up from the ocean and prominent Malecon. Enjoy lunch or dinner in a casual romantic environment. Our menu includes many of the traditional Italian favorites infused with a splash of Mexico! We look forward to serving you!
Ottawa, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have been to this restaurant several times and it just gets better each time, I hope the great reviews do not go to there head.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frog1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    36
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Homemade Excellent - Fresh - Neighborhood Like Place”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Skipping elegance - as this simple neighborhood 7 table restaurant has its excellence in very fresh ingredients and true homemade quality taste. The Owner greets you and serves you. Its not romantic, but its is the very best Italian restaurant for food quality and taste in Puerto Vallarta that we could find in the 5 years we have been coming down from Chicago - (we know Italian)! They also have pizza's.

They had only one white and one red by the glass. I was very hesitant to order the Mexican Cab wine at 550 pesos a glass (about $4 US dollars), I was surprised how nice it was (not bold, but balanced and very drinkable it was).

I had the Authentic Homemade Lasagna. It was excellent, rich and not at all resembling the layered noodles we all associate with lasagna. The fish was fresh was good and fresh.

The place is near the Malecon, so unless you are right there, you may be best to Taxi to it. We were in the Zona Romantica, so it was a 5 minute cab ride.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryrobinson1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Italian food and great service.”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

After many years coming to Puerto Vallarta, this is the first time having dinner at Amore. What a pleasant surprise. Starts you off with bread and an olive tapenade. Very good. Wife had the lasagna, and I had the pasta and clams. Both are huge hits in our book. It was pleasurable taking time and enjoying your meal. Added a couple of glasses of wine. The service from start to finish is great. And the owner and employees are friendly and treat you like they want you to come back. Don't miss this place. Enjoy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tansandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chef knows what he's doing”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Much better Italian food than is available in most US cities. Pasta Bolegnese is very well done.
Not a huge fan of the extemely thin crust pizza...but again very well done with top notch ingredients. Very reasonably priced given the quality. Friendly and elegant service, will return again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dom_ino191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I purchased a meal deal on Cupocity to try this restaurant. The food was very delicious, the spaghetti was el dente to perfection and the chicken breast was large. The pizza was thin crust and also tasty. The appetizer of tapenade on the house was perfection, we were able to purchase it to serve at home. The owner was very attentive to our needs and friendly. We will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amore also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Amore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing