We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but...”

Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula
Reserve with OpenTable
Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 1,020 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carretera a Mismaloya
Description: Creative Mexican cuisine, featuring dishes from many regions of Mexico. Our secluded tropical setting is perfect for a romantic dinner or special occasion. Most dishes are available in "Taste" portions at accessible prices. Taste is located at Casa Cupula, Puerto Vallarta's finest luxury boutique hotel for the gay and lesbian community, and is open to everyone!
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tasty but...”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The name of the restaurant is well chosen because all the food is consistently rich in flavour. The menu selections delight with innovative, extravagant combinations and nowhere is one disappointed as you hum your way through mouthwatering dish after dish. Whoever designed the wonderful food though is not always well served by the physical presentation. In place that aspires to perfection, small but annoyingly intrusive failures loom large.


My strawberry daiquiri was a thing of beauty. The two dinner rolls presented were unexceptional but the spicy butter with them was just fine except that the small dollop provided was niggardly in the extreme. I chose to have two Taste portions from the entree menu (quite sufficient) and thus got the starter salad for free. Basically a mesclun mix, the dressing was so powerfully flavourful that only a little was needed to make this a winning start.


The dim sum (from the "Asian Flavors" part of the menu) was four dumplings stuffed with local prawns and accompanied with two wonderfully rich sauces. But here the problems began. The rest of the table setting was impeccable but the cheapest of wooden chopsticks supplied (they didn't even split apart evenly) were a disgrace and an insult to the food. The dumplings broke apart when grasped and stuck to the banana leaf on which they were served. The sauces, served in separate cream carafes, posed their own problem: how to marry the sauce with the dumpling. You couldn't pour the sauce on the dumpling because the latter was in an open- bottomed bamboo steamer basket and the carafes were not wide enough to dip a medium sized dumpling in, even if it had not broken apart with the sticking. Rescued with knife and fork and I must admit with the incredibly delicious stuffing you want to salvage every last bit and use as much of those sauces as appropriate.


The cochinita pibil ("Mexican Flavors") is a local variation on pulled pork as rich and mouth-wateringly wonderful as ever with a spicy onion slice, sour cream garnish to tame on the side. Would have been better though if the pork had been more than just warm when it arrived.


Service was impeccable throughout and the upscale ambiance warm and comforting. Despite being built into/onto a precipitous hillside, little view and you might need shade in the daytime as it's south-facing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poolman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    44
    12
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT AMBIANCE AND REALLY GREAT SERVICE”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I live in Puerto Vallarta since a year ago. I follow Casa Cupula and Taste Restaurant in my Facebook. Last night I went with some friends from Panama to have dinner and we were really impressed... Really GREAT FOOD, the place is beautiful with a great ambiance and really good music and lighting... the best part was the GREAT service and attention to detail from Armando and Glenn. Need to try the Margaritas, I tried the "Margarita de Jamaica" and was awsome. Great place Guys, I will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OsoPVRPTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
351 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“great restaurant in a jungle "feeling" setting”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A little south of old town, it is best to take a taxi although we walked there from old town and taxied back. The food was great. We appreciated that you can get small plates if you didn't want huge portions. It has a romantic quiet setting When we were finished dinner we were about to leave and he waiter suggested we stay a bit for the entertainment which was a "drag singer" who turned out to be fun to watch. I recommend this place for a special evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great sampling”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had the tasting menu of three tasting portions and all were nicely presented and perfectly prepared. I was pleasantly surprised by the portion sizes, which seemed a bit more than 'tasting' but certainly in-line with the pricing. The chef's style has many different influences with many spicy spanish-style dishes. The menu can be a bit confusing, but the staff are really good at explaining it. It is quite a hike up the hill so we took a taxi, but walked home and it wasn't bad at all. The outdoor seating is charming, but not spectacular.
This is our second visit, and we would both go again because there are a number of other items on the menu that we would like to try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This place has it all”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our recent dinner at Taste was a wonderful experience. The atmosphere is casual, and there is both indoor and outdoor seating available. We felt that this restaurant scored well in every category: ambiance, service, menu creativity and food quality. The restaurant is attached to a hotel, and is built on the side of a hill. The decorating and landscaping give it a kind of casual elegance with an interesting view . We found the wait staff friendly and attentive. The menu offers "tastes" (small portions ) of dishes for those who don't want a full portion of food or who might want to try several entrees. Be warned-their "tastes" are generous, so don't overdo. One of the best parts of the evening was the quality of the bar. You won't often get a margarita made from scratch, but that's how they're made at Taste-don't miss your chance to have a really great drink.
For those visiting the first time, be aware that the entrance to the restaurant is at the top of the road as it curves around the hotel. The first entrance, where you see the sign for the hotel and restaurant is a bit misleading-this is for hotel guests who have keys.
Some nights of the week they will have live entertainment, so if you're looking for a quiet dinner, call ahead to see what's going on that night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingfisher752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing