We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great idea to sample great cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula

Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula
Reserve with OpenTable
Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carretera a Mismaloya
Description: Creative Mexican cuisine, featuring dishes from many regions of Mexico. Our secluded tropical setting is perfect for a romantic dinner or special occasion. Most dishes are available in "Taste" portions at accessible prices. Taste is located at Casa Cupula, Puerto Vallarta's finest luxury boutique hotel for the gay and lesbian community, and is open to everyone!
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great idea to sample great cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved all of the dishes especially the squid ink black ravioli and the Mahi Mahi this restaurant is a keeper. Will be going there over the next few years. Everyone who goes to Vallarta should experience this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    44
    12
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Good Place for a 'Date' Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

A group of us (5) went on Valentine's Day. Great place, Great Atmosphere. Food was very good. But as with most higher end places the price of each dish is higher while the potion you get is smaller. It is a place to go at least once whie in PV. It's just up the hill, a short cab ride.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baraboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had never heard of this restaurant until our friends suggested we all go. It sounded intriguing. A trip out of town into the hills and a blank door you hast ring to be let into. Once inside they sat us at a lovely terrace table. We all had the three taste dinner, and loved it. The shrimp dim sum, the Mahi and the pork tamale were excellent. I was not as happy with the goat cheese ravioli. It was too sweet. The favors of the sauce were not in concert with the filling. We had a sampling of deserts that was a perfect end for the meal. I would definitely recommend eating here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lojadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in PV”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been here several times and love the tasting menu. Our favorite thing is BY FAR the dim sum (our whole table ordered it this time and said they could only eat that). We also really loved the pork, goat cheese ravioli, and shrimp risotto. I wouldn't really recommend paying extra for the short rib - it was good, just not tender / fall off the bone like we were expecting. Service was fabulous and the atmosphere is great - we will definitely be back.

We came for their Thanksgiving buffet and didn't really love it. It was very expensive, hence only 4 stars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

for a restaurant of this SUPPOSEDLY high caliber they are certainly disorganized >>> when we asked for the wine list we were told that they had no SAUVIGNON BLANC of any kind (in any price range) so we had to go to a second choice >>> when we got the dessert menu we were told that they were out of 3 of the 7 or 8 choices >>> their menu is very limited and their choice of taste special is very confusing

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
optionsf, Owner at Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
As the writer said the restaurant was not what (s)he expected, we would ask: what was the expectation? Our menu has about 15 different items: hardly limited, and we are happy to cook to special requests.

Apparently the writer's expectations are quite high since all the writer's reviews of puerto vallarta restaurants are terrible. Since Taste got the highest rating of 2 stars, thank you!

It reminds me of my great Aunt's highest compliment to any restaurant "It wasn't so bad."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Taste Restaurant at Casa Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing