We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong here”
Review of Bistro Teresa

Bistro Teresa
Ranked #18 of 1,016 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: COCINA CREATIVA , VISTA INCREIBLE A LA BAHIA, ATARDECERES MARAVILLOSOS, AMBIENTE INTIMO Y AMIGABLEPOR FAVOR RESERVAR
Hogansville, Georgia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We dined as a party of four and all of us the peach and lobster soup followed by the shrimp with bleu cheese sauce. We were a little leery of the bleu cheese on the shrimp; however, the waitress assured us it was not too strong. It was very good - very rich, but very good. Dried apricots, blueberries, raspberries and arugula complimented the shrimp and sauce. The shrimp were all meaty and large. Good size portion. We shared a chocolate mousse and cheesecake dessert. My husband prefers a dark chocolate so he wasn't impressed with the mousse. The cheesecake was good. Service is excellent; however, we did have a problem with our mastercard debit card and had to use cash. The other party dining with us had a visa charge card and it went through. Overall enjoyable experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    120
    63
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you want a delicious meal, great view and great service this is the place. 6 different starters and entrees, 6 very happy guests. A few standouts were the Teresa salad and the creamy peach soup with lobster. Salmon with mango sauce, ahi tuna with a pepper sauce and the amazing shrimp with bleu cheese sauce were highlights

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagotim60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dynamite Delicious ~ Magic Memories!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Every friend who mentioned Bistro Teresa raved about it. First the food, then the service and of course the perch above Banderas Bay in Puerto Vallarta, MX. We live up the mountain and it took us only a couple minutes to drive there for the early seating at 6 p.m. Parking was easy, but if you go later, park down the hill on the first side street.

From the moment they greeted us at the door, reminded us of the sunset, and gave us ample time to study the huge menu on the chalkboard, our 2-hour calm and luscious adventure was a PRIMO HIT~ All was magnificent. We are kicking ourselves for not treating ourselves earlier to the delectable delights that awaited us. All 4 of us had the same 5-star experience.

We started off with 3 appetizers. Ahi tuna tartar, the best asparagus, melon, goat cheese and prosciutto salad, and the FANTASTIC poured-at-you-table tortilla soup that I would have sold one of my kids for!

Next came the main course of succulent rib-eye, uniquely presented shrimp in a to-die for blue cheese sauce, sea bass with cilantro cream, and my favorite, OMG, Ahi tuna steak. I ordered it as rare as I dared. Spectacular. For dessert, the cheesecake dressed with raspberry fruit compote disappeared almost before the waiter put it on the table. It was topped by the best cappuccino I have had in Vallarta. Velvet and perfect froth that lasted til my last savoring swallow.

This lovely restaurant festooned with large and cool artwork is casually intimate. We had a wonderful time chatting with our neighbors at the surrounding tables. I even got up to sing Happy Birthday to a lovely man from Winnipeg who was celebrating his 81st birthday in style, Frank.

Laura, the owner, came for a friendly greeting and so did every one of the servers. Amazing, elegant service with a smile from everyone. We love Vallarta, but this restaurant is in an exceptional class all its own. You cannot miss it. You can walk to Bistro Teresa from Old Town, too. How wonderful!

A+++ and we now have our favorite restaurant only a few blocks away! Can't wait for our next dining adventure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyKrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service, but food was disappointing”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were really looking forward to eating here, based on the high ratings on TripAdvisor. The staff is excellent, speaks fluent English, and Teresa herself waits on each table. She and her staff are lovely. The place only has about 13 tables, so reservations are a must. They have a limited cocktail menu (my partner asked for a rum punch & the waiter told us they don't make them, which is odd in PV) so if you want anything besides a cosmo, margarita, pina colada or good wine, you may be out of luck. My asparagus salad with proscuitto and the blue cheese shrimp were both excellent, but my partner's salad was rather bland and his beef filet was stringy, tough and full of gristle. Compared to many high-rated PV restaurants, the prices are not bad at all. We were surprised that the total bill for two people was under $1,000 pesos with drinks. However, unless you are staying in the Zona Romantica or South PV, this is a long, expensive cab ride from the Hotel Zone and anywhere north, and there are better restaurants in downtown PV that are closer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCACAPULCOFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining with a view!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This small bistro was great! Teresa will take your order and explain the menu listed on chalk boards. Everything we had was beautifully prepared and would rival a 5 star restaurant in Chicago.

The bistro sits on a cliff so you can enjoy a beautiful sunset.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chicagospots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Teresa also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Bistro Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing