We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food with a Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ah Caramba

Ah Caramba
Ranked #161 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: International cuisine with seafood specialties, a perfect spot to celebrate with friends, family or a romantic dinner, we have the best bay view in Puerto Vallarta, this is the perfect spot to enjoy the sunset!
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food with a Great View”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our taxi driver. As we were being seated I overheard a couple telling the waiter that it was quite possibly the best meal they ever had. I also ended up making that exact same comment! I loved the food, the atmosphere and the service. I believe what I ordered was called Happy Seafood, the portions are huge, at least enough for 2 people. I will definitely go back next time I'm in Puerto Vallarta, I loved this place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcrusnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    63
    24
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
167 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice view, but food disappointing”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you are a foodie, skip it. But if you want an interesting evening experience with average food and a great view - go there for the sunset. The restaurants sits on a hill and walking down the cobblestone street after the meal is an interesting little cultural jaunt too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

You definitely need to take a taxi to get there. The views were outstanding especially as the sun was setting. We got the mexican platter, it was excellent. I'm not fond of tamales but I liked this one. As others have commented huge portions. when I come back here again I will definitely come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food with a View”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This restaurant is not easy to find. Take a taxi, and if possible arrange for him to wait for you, as during the summer, when we were there, there would be a long wait. The view is unbelievable. We think it probably rants among the top three or four in Puerto Vallarta. They make guacamole at the table, and have a tip bowl. It is just great. Make sure you are there in the early evening hours to watch the sunset. The portions are huge and most people won't be able to eat it all. Service is great and the restaurant is very clean. This was our first time, but now that we have found it, we will be back next year for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PalmDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Incredible portions”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

So, my friend and I were at the pool bar at our resort talking to a coule that has been to PV several times. They raved about a restaurant they go to every time in PV, and asked us if we wanted to go with them one evening. Of course, we agreed! Ah Carumba is a no frills, huge portion, seafood lovers paradise. I am not a huge seafood lover, but decided to give it a try. I ordered the crazy lobster and let me tell you, that plate could feed three people easily! The food was good, great view from the patio of Banderas Bay, and service was good. The only negative I have to say is that it would be nice if they had a little nicer tables, chairs, etc. the prices they charge warrant a little more ambiance!

Helpful?
Thank rdh_1_kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah Caramba also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ah Caramba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing