We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Slc, Ut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Resort”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is an excellent resort in an ideal location. The resort is only a few years old so the whole hotel is very modern, especially and including the rooms. It is owned by a Mexican company is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,338
    615
    144
    46
    26
See reviews for
1,080
1,428
70
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

As other people already stated, the property is nice and clean. Staff is very friendly and try their best to accommodate your needs. It's located north of downtown and served by bus (7 pesos) or taxi (100 pesos). The two restaurants on property are OK but you can get much better outside (El Arrayan if you want authentic Mexican, La palapa to dine on the beach, vista grill for a night to remember). My biggest downside about this property was the useless wifi connection. With or without personal access point in the room we never got to stream a movie or youtube video or even share pictures with friends. Max download was 0.32Mbits at best. Browsing the internet was extremely painful. Staff was helpless in this regard. Even though we were on vacation, internet access was very important for us. This property completely missed the mark.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic ocean view. We were at 14th floor and it was pretty awesome. If they only h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Sunset Plaza is one of the if not the nicest hotel in Puerto Vallarta. The staff is very professional and friendly. After several stays here, they have come to remember me and give me a warm welcome back. The rooms are beautiful and very well appointed. The pool area is perfect for a nice relaxing vacation. I would highly recommend this hotel if you plan on staying in style in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is my second stay at the Sunset Plaza...the rooms are very nice, the staff are attentive to your needs without being intrusive. They have a wonderful swimming pool which looks out onto the ocean. It is clear that this hotel caters to honeymooners, businessmen and families all happy in the same location. When you check in they give you a glass of wine, cold water or orange juice to help you get comfortable if you have to wait for your room. The hotel is close to downtown and costs only $.50 by bus to get there or about $6 in a taxi and taxis are everywhere. All the rooms have lovey ocean side view.

With all of this said there are a few things that bugged me. First...their restaurant which is a busy hub of activity serves a wide range of food some of which is good and others are only mediocre for the price. I came here on a diet this time and had been longing for a nice piece of flan which I ordered. It was the worst flan I have ever eaten...a school girl in Wisconsin could have done a better job on her first try out of Betty Crocker. It was dry and cake like and lacked the soft custardy base as well as having no caramel sauce to speak of...for $10 bucks I was disappointed. Also having been served fresh squeezed orange juice twice at the same spot I was given bottles juice this time. When I questioned them they gave me fresh squeezed.

Another issue is there is constant music playing in their main court yard...and it can be very loud at night. If you are unlucky enough to have a room close to the ground floor there is no way to get away from the noise. Okay so Latin America is loud but if noise is a factor ask for a room higher up it makes a difference.

The hotel is also super cautious about security. You had better be quest at the hotel or there is no way they are letting you in...in fact being a quest does not guarantee that there will not be a hassle. On four separate occasion when my taxi pulled me into the security area there was an argument as to if I was really a quest. Even after giving them my room number and on one occasion showing my room number from the hotel with my bracelet the guard could not find my name on his paper and had to call the main lobby to make sure I was okay to let in. I find this frustrating because I often like to visit cities when I have friends. In many places you can invite them to have dinner with you or come see you room. Here I think you would have to get some kind of special permission which would be embarrassing if not cumbersome. While I have found this to be an issue in other Latin countries...worries over security but also worries that somehow you might slip in an un paying guest...in the end I felt secure, just a little too secure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The property exceed our expecations. The people were helpful and freindly. The suite is well appointed. The only issue was the property next door had a speical event during the day that had LOUD music. However it ended promtly before dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a 5 star property but the beach club next door specializes in spring break parties and rave music events. The loud music blaring from the DJ's sound system is annoying at the pool and unbearable when in your room (even with the windows and doors closed).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank lhuff238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Staff was extremely cooperative and friendly. Rooms were nice sized. The 2 bedrooms each have outside patio/balcony. It would be nice if they had thought about patio ceiling fans, especially late afternoon. all rooms face the ocean.dh

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arizonajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,455 reviews
6.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,875 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,381 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing