We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Mn
1 review
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a wonderful trip. No complaints. Food was great, drinks were great. Some rowdiness in the main pool area but the adult pool had a much quieter atmosphere. We really enjoyed the service and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,137
    578
    136
    44
    25
See reviews for
973
1,331
65
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torreon, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This resort was everything I expected from my research and the reviews I read online, I enjoyed the pool, the food, the drinks and the great atmosphere! Met many great people on this trip and I will be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our party of 6 adults bought a one week all-inclusive package to Sunset Plaza for the week of Apr 3 to Apr 10. We’ve been to several all-inclusive resorts in the past and this was by far the nicest.

Airport: after clearing customs, you enter an area with a “Welcome” sign along the wall fronted by a counter with uniformed employees. Rather than being tour operators, they were there to sell timeshares. We agreed to attend their presentation at Paradise Village which was not a hard sell but it did run over 3 hours despite their claim that it would not exceed 90 minutes. In return we received 6 tickets to a Marieta Islands boat trip to and 6 tickets to a tequila bus tour. We were served breakfast during the presentation and they provided taxi service to and from our resort.

The hotel: absolutely beautiful. We were the only group who arrived and the manager, Javier, was waiting to welcome us. Our “butler” took our luggage to our rooms, but that was the extent of his assistance during our stay. Otherwise, the staff was great, in particular Saul in the restaurant. The suites are amazing; larger than most Toronto condos. All rooms include an ample-sized safe, large enough to accommodate a laptop and camera. The beach was less appealing as it was deep, had strong waves, and an undertow.

Food: Part of the appeal of visiting a foreign destination is to experience the local food but sadly only Continental cuisine was offered at this resort. Even the fruit was typical North American produce: watermelon and cantaloupe. No guava, mangoes, passion fruit or anything tropical other than pineapples. Though the food was well presented, the portions were small and the veggies and sauces were rich with butter. This was the first resort we stayed at that had an a la carte menu but after a few days we missed the variety that a buffet offers as the menu did get a bit repetitive. The Italian restaurant was also disappointing. Stick with the Bistro and ask the staff to prepare what you want; they will do their best to accommodate you.
The deli makes lovely sandwiches from a set menu but you can customize your order if you like. They also feature an array of desserts.

Reservations: Monday and Wednesday offer “BBQ on the Beach” which is really by the poolside. Make reservations as soon as you arrive. Friday night there is a dinner show.

Activities: we took the 6-hour "Sea Mi Amor" catamaran cruise with "Sierra Madre Adventures" to Marieta Islands. Though life jackets were provided, you have to be a strong swimmer to swim the 200 metres from the boat to the island; no one opted to do so because of the abundance of jelly fish in the water. Others did snorkeling and kayaking. We never did make it to "Las Animas" beach as advertised. We were lucky enough to spot a pod of dolphins and a mother whale and her calf, which for us was the highlight of the tour. If you suffer from any degree of seasickness, be sure and take Gravol BEFORE getting on the boat as the ride can be quite choppy.

Also went on an “El Eden and Tequila” tour. The drive through Mismaloya was quite scenic, and residences along the way are some of the nicest you’ll see in PV. The Don Tadeo tequila facility was not a distillery but a tourist trap to get you to buy their very expensive tequila ($65 US/bottle and up). The hike through the jungle at El Eden was a bit precarious, as the path was dry and slippery but you can opt out of the hike. The restaurant there is in a lovely setting with a swimming hole; they serve huge portions of food, best for sharing.

Transportation: we rented a car for a day and drove to San Sebastian. We also took the local bus to the malecon. Both were effortless and well worth it if you want to get a true taste of Mexico.

Duty Free: rather expensive save for the Kahlua which was $15 US/1 litre bottle. We did not appreciate the saleswoman who tried to dupe my elderly parents into buying a $35 bottle of tequila. Before completing the purchase, we asked to exchange it for another cheaper tequila but the saleswoman said the sale was rung through already even though we hadn’t entered our credit card PIN. We asked two more times before she finally relented. Buyer beware: some of the Dufry salespeople may appear helpful but are only interested in maximizing their sales. The liquor store down the road from the resort at the main intersection had better prices than the airport duty free.

All in all, our vacation was enjoyable (though my son and I were out for a full day with a stomach bug), the resort was lovely, and the staff was most accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoTica2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I came to Sunset Plaza for our honeymoon. We did the all inclusive and we couldn't have made a better choice; everyone was so kind and the food and drinks were delicious. Our room was so spacious and the ocean front view was beautiful. There were plenty of activities to do and i loved that they took photos of us during events; great for memories! We will definitely come back; would come back with friends and family as well--this resort is great for any type of trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Samantah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked this resort after a good deal of research and frustration looking at places just a little cheaper. It was more expensive but totally worth the small increase in cost.

We travelled as a family of three (2 adults and a nearly-two year old little girl) and as such, opted for a suite so that we could put our daughter to bed but not tiptoe around in the dark while she slept.

The most obvious difference between the Sunset Plaza and most other all-inclusives we've stayed at is that it didn't feel crowded at all. Despite being told by staff that they were near capacity, there was no competition for great chairs by the pool (Even when we came down later in the morning) or seats at the restaurant. It was extremely refreshing.

The food was also quite good although the timing of the meal service is the only thing keeping me from giving a 5/5 rating. The restaurant was open for a great number of hours per day, but lunch didn't start until 12:30 (our daughter never lasted that long before heading up for her nap) and dinner didn't start until 7pm (her bedtime). So we often ate a late lunch and then dinner separately or as room service which was a little disappointing.

The facilities were excellent and a particular gold star should go to Gloria in the Kids Club. She was an all-star and our daughter loved her (as did all the kids there that week and there was a pretty big number of them). She had different activities every day, knew them all by name and made sure they had lots of fun in a safe way. That was a totally unexpected bonus and she should be recognized.

As well, the lobby was beautiful, the pools were amazing and the gym area (although small) was more than adequate and with very little effort, I could time my workouts so that I was usually the only person in there.

It was only a short cab ride to the city centre and we made the trip 3 times over the week. The beach was small but never crowded and overall we were ecstatic with our choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was the second time staying at Sunset Plaza... Excellent and very professional staff. I love the accommodations and its so close to downtown you can ride the bus or walk it. I recommend this hotel to all my friends back home..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Home away from home!

This was my first visit to Sunset booked through a friends timeshare. We stayed 10 days and it was absolutely phenominal! Very sad to leave :(

The suite was more than I was expecting, food options and taste were very good.
Despite the building swaying because of an earthquake
we will definitly visit again.

Thank you for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#13 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
5.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#10 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing