We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean, Affordable, Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Resort is 3 years old, very clean with modern appointments. Staff is wonderful. Food is excellent, and the ala-carte menu, beautiful pool, quality restaurants, swim-up bar are great. Do all-inclusive!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,889 - 1,895 of 3,383 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is the best vacation resort I have ever stayed in. Staff makes you feel like you're family. Food is exceptional and being so near the beach was great. I always feel so relaxed when I am there, especially in the adult pool ares with those great bed lounges.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We just returned from our first visit to Sunset Plaza Resort. This place offers the absolute best in accomodations and dining. Everything was so awesome! The entire staff is to be commended for their attention to detail and fabulous customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver BC
221
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We highly recommend this beautiful resort. The staff all did everything possible to make us feel very welcome and comfortable, from our maid service to restaurant and bar staff. On our own private outings, there was always a friendly fave to welcome us back. We always worry about a comfortable bed but this far exceeded our expectations with the exceptional linens and comfort of the bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel was great, the staff were very helpful, and the food was excellent. The first room we had, the bed had a plastic cover on it, which i found uncomfortable. the second room we had the bed was excellent, the grounds were small, but had a good pool, and the beach was not the best. However, the place was overall good value for the money.

\

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

As new owners at Sunset Plaza we were in a 1 bedroom suite. All romos are oceanview which is a big plus. Beautiful romos and a very panaramic view of the bay from our 11th floor. We were not on all inclusive but we Heard good things about the food. Very friendly staff and the butlers were wonderful. Everyone we talked to was very impressed and would come back. This is a smaller resort and for those who have mobility issues would be great ( unleike some of the mega resorts we have been to where you have to walk miles to get to the beach or restaurants). We are looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JJ18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our third visit to Puerta Vallarta in the past year, the other two being to a Riu and a Dreams. The Sunset Plaza was the best we have been in over the past half dozen years of frequenting all-inclusives in Puerto Vallarta, Nuevo Vallarta, Cancun and Cabo. The service and personnel were excellent (as has been standard in Mexico). We were assigned a personal butler (Hazael) who was very attentive without being intrusive, checking once each day to see if there was anything he could do for us. The resort is significantly smaller than the others we have visited, 100 rooms. Consequently there were only two restaurants but the food was by far the best we have had at an all-exclusive and the variety of choices was sufficient. Meals were all sit-down with service. The food presentation was skillfully assembled. There was a sunset BBQ one evening and an Aztec dance performance at dinner on another evening. Cleaning service was very good and the one minor repair we had was taken care of immediately, something we had not encountered elsewhere which can be frustrating. Beachside sales were not overly aggressive. We could walk to the city center (Malecon) in about a half hour. (The local, frequent bus was $0.75) The only (minor) downsides were a soft-sell of a special program when we first arrived (requesting us for a 90 minute breakfast, which we declined); some few surcharges (on food, a special poolside meal, and some high-end wine which is the only surcharge I would not object to); and if you have children and are used to daycare as Riu and Dreams provide, there is none. The age of the resort customers covered the full span from newlyweds to codgers. We would definitely return (as a couple, without kids and grandkids).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,799 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
810 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#18 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,607 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,579 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $210 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing