We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“luis is great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“luis is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The highlight was the rec guy named luis. Made us welcome and had yoga sessions on the lawn every morning! He even gave a spanish lesson. I should not fail to mention h, his name is hard for gringos to remember, so he asks to be called h. What a gentleman, was always there to answer our questions. The housekeeping staff works so hard, everything sparkles!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your gratifying experience in our resort and lovely Puerto Vallarta.
We appreciate your recognition for our resort characteristics, room comfort, and for highlighting the strengths of our facilities to fully comply with our guest expectations.
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,218
    592
    136
    45
    25
See reviews for
1,014
1,371
67
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Best thing after the great food were the canopy beds around the adult pool. The water temperature of the adult pool was perfect. The service was very good and we enjoyed the a la carte breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The grounds were immaculately maintained. Beach towels were plentiful,

They released newly hatched turtles during our stay which was interesting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Murray,
Thank you for posting your nice comments regarding your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation.
We are very proud we were able to surprise you with our a la carte all inclusive. We strongly believe in the personalized service and the benefits of having menu choices with tasty dishes. Thank you for your appreciation.
It is always great to know our guests are interested in our turtle release program. Sea Turtles and baby sea turtle releases are a major ecological conservation in Puerto Vallarta as thousands of Olive Ridley Turtles who were born on the region’s beaches return every year to lay their eggs to perpetuate their cycle of life.
The challenge for the hatchlings is their journey from sandy beach to the sea, avoiding predators including birds and iguanas.
Turtle farms dedicated to the harvesting, hatching and releasing of baby sea turtles are a fascinating activity that delights our guest with an interactive educational and emotional experience, we are very proud to be part of it.
We look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime.
We will be waiting for you to come back really soon.
Best Regards
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

the resort was very Clean, the resort had great service, the resort had comfortable rooms, the food was good, an all around great place to take your family, or as a romantic couple get away. located close to the marina and close to the downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dino l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is great to hear your nice comments about our resort; I shared them with the staff involved.
We are very happy to hear that we were up to your expectations.
As you mentioned Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa Located right on the beach at the center of the hotel zone, just a few minutes´ walk from the rich culture and traditional architecture of downtown and it is only 2.5 miles from the international airport and steps from the most important malls and beautiful Marina Vallarta. Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa is very close to everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer: dining, nightlife, shopping, golf and culture – yet far enough to ensure a relaxing and tranquil retreat.
We hope to see you in a near future
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, CANADA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

overall a good experience
started off well; room view could be better (we overlooked the air cond unit lower level); food quality very good except selection did not vary much. (may be a little different each day of the week?)
Restaurant staff tried to accomodate but often forgot items ordered;
they started off well but felt all-inclusive did not motivate service due to tipping? (servi-bar was not replenished daily)
Beach not too large , pools great
Separate the tipping $ in the all-inclusive and give to guests as tokens to hand out during the stay (ie non refundable) less hassle and also we know it is going to the staff that deserve it
will consider returning, good for family

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DENNY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Denny,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoy your vacation with your family.
We’re glad to know that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the food quality.
On the other hand we are sorry to hear that you consider we lack on the variety of food. We offer a selection of menus that change every other day with tasty dishes.
Mirador Bistro Grill: you will find a variety of dishes from international cousin, with 3 different menus for breakfast, 3 different menus for lunch and 4 different menus for dinner. Open from 7:00 to 11:30hrs.
Luciano Restaurant: Where you will find a wide selection of 100% Italian dishes and a selection of wines, with 3 different menus. Open 18:00 to 20:30hrs.
Deli La Canela: offers a wide variety of sandwiches & European style baguette, fresh and delicious salads, where you can be the author of combination of your liking and choice. Open 12:00hrs to 20:00hrs.
Lobby Bar: Chic, lively and casual, a space specially designed for socializing and relaxing, featuring premium drinks and the best domestic and international cocktail selection. Open from 17:00 to 01:00hrs.
Aqua Bar: Located in the main pool. Offering refreshing beverages as well as our traditional and famous cocktails, enjoy your favorite drink in the comfort of the pool. Open 10:00 to 18:00hrs
And do not forget our snacks and room service menus.
We will take all the actions we need to make sure our entire guests are fully informed. Please also accept my apologies for the inconvenient with our restaurant staff. I have brought this to the Food and Beverages Manager attention, who will make sure to provide the staff with further training regarding this kind of scenarios to avoid these kind of situations from happening again.
Sunset Plaza Hotel appreciates the time you have taken to give us your opinion and observations, please be sure that your comments have been very helpful and we are committed to improve our opportunity areas.
Once again, thank you for posting and from the entire team and myself, we do hope to see you again at Sunset Plaza.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is one of the best resorts we've stayed at. Can't think of even one thing which could be improved. Food was great; love the a la carte breakfast, and the Italian restaurant. Great Adult Only private pool area with comfy canopy beds and the fact that the hotel is more of a boutique hotel vs. a sprawling, too-big resort. We are already recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate very much your high opinion of our premises and the service you always receive from our staff. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and our all-inclusive; our executive chef and their great team are always happy to please any request. It was our pleasure to have you here and would love to host you again on your next trip.
Have a great day!
Leaslie Gómez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I don't know where to start without making this review too long to want to read! Right from the moment we arrived the service was excellent! We were greeted by our personal butler who welcomed us and ensured we were directed where we needed to check in. Then a lovely glass of champagne. All rooms are ocean view and very clean with all the amenities. Huge shower, blow dryer, flat screen TV, amazing balcony, safe, etc. Free wifi available throughout the resort and it worked amazing! They even scent the room and linens to your choice! The food is spectacular with no buffets. All a la carte. Great little fitness gym with newish cardio equipment and mostly hand weights. There is a time share person set up in the lobby but we said no the first day and that was that! Very quiet little retreat with about 105 rooms. There is no real entertainment at night but PV is a $5 cab ride. It is $8 back to airport and was $18 from airport but that is because it is regulated.

Hazael is an amazing representative of the hotel. He is a butler there and goes out of his way to ensure your stay is great. He arranged for us to have use of the hospitality suite as our flight was an evening one. Then ensured we were on our way by taxi on time.

Marta is in charge of housekeeping and the hotel is spotless! So enjoyed the beautiful linens, fresh towels in the evening, etc. great mini bar too.

Do not forget to bring tip money! Although it is never expected and you have paid for all inclusive tips are very much appreciated! The staff work so hard to make your stay perfect. Thank you to Alejandro, Juan, David and Jorge!

I will be back again as soon as I can! Want to stay at least ten days!! Thank you to the entire staff. Mexico is the perfect vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMFCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Ms. JMF,
Please let me express our gratitude for sharing such nice comments regarding your latest stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation and we hope to have you back soon. I will extend your congratulations to Hazael, Martha, Alejandro, Juan, David and Jorge for their great job.
We appreciate very much your high opinion of our premises and the service you always receive from our staff. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food, amenities, cleaning and good environment.
Sunset Plaza Hotel appreciates the time you have taken to give us your opinion and observations, please be sure that your comments have been very helpful.
We are very happy to hear that we were up to your expectations.
We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were greeted by two of the butlers while we waited the 3 minutes to vcheck in. One of them seated us, and made sure we were comfortable, another brought us fresh juice drinks from the bar and a cool face cloth to freshen up. While checking in,the resort manager introduced himself, and made sure we knew who he was, in case we needed anything. Check in was smooth. We had a reservation, and I was there from the US for surgery. They had all of my paperwork from the doctor and the hospital in order, and it only took a few minutes to check in to the resort.
The butlers took care of everything for us. From moving our luggage, showing us how to work the TV, giving us all of the information on the room and the amenities, calling taxi's etc...
The rooms were exceptionally clean, well appointed and nicely decorated. The balcony was huge compared to other resorts, and all balconies overlook the ocean! We spent a lot of time there. Remember,I was recovering from surgery. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of nice pillows. Turn down service every night too.
My daughter was with me, and we used the Mirador restaurant, and she had a few lunches from the Little Deli Restaurant. I couldn't eat, but she loved the food, and it was beautiful to look at and smell....next time Iwill enjoy it myself!
We did use the room service, and they brought broth soup to me, and juices, salads and sandwiches etc to my daughter....quickly too.It couldn't have been 15 minutes from the time we called, and it was sitting on the table. Fresh, hot and well prepared.
The grounds are well manicured and extremely well kept. Not a blade of grass out of place! Beautiful. The pools were remarkably clean and sparkly. Everyone but me seemed to be enjoying the drinks from the bar.
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We were there for a week, and it was heavenly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LAUREL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Laurel,
Thank you for sharing your gratifying experience in our resort and lovely Puerto Vallarta,
It is truly our ambition to be the best resort and fully comply with our member expectations. I will extend your congratulations to our staff, I am sure they will be satisfied to know your consideration for the excellent service rendered to you and your family.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit to the Puerto Vallarta.
We look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime. lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Leaslie Gómez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
6.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing