We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels all over the world, but the staff at this hotel are exceptional and compare only to a Ritz Carlton. They are helpful, available and truly care that your stay is wonderful. The rooms are spacious (we had a suite) with balcony and full kitchen. Beds are comfy, jacuzzi tub was NICE and we never wanted for anything. We also experienced massages above the beach in a cabana, as well as a private dinner there another night. WOW! Room service and any items we may have needed were delivered promptly and with a smile. Some of the outstanding staff included: Pablo, Honario, Josefa, Roberto, Luis x 2, Ramon, Abraham, Dahlia, Javier, plus all the other staff (too numerous to mention). What a wonderful vacation, we will definitely return. Beautiful sunsets every night :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Mrs. Joseph,
Thank you for sharing such nice comments and recommendations regarding your visit. Sunset Plaza hotel is oriented to for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a business event, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, whether you plan to visit Puerto Vallarta.
The newly constructed Sunset Plaza Resort & Spa is an impressive sight of contemporary architecture, curving gently around a lushly landscaped beachfront sundeck, where two infinity pools sparkle and guests bask in the sun in comfortable lounge chairs or enjoy a soak in one of three open-air Jacuzzis.
Each of the Sunset Plaza’s spacious guest rooms and suites features a private terrace with a breathtaking 180° view of the ocean and the spectacular Puerto Vallarta´s sunset. The rooms are warmly decorated in hues of orange, gold and sparkle, equipped with fine granite countertops, marble bathroom surfaces, and elegant contemporary wood furniture.
Amenities at Sunset Plaza include a large fitness room and spa; an activity packed Kids Club, two full-service restaurants – one international cuisine and one Italian – a deli, a lobby lounge, and the Poolside Aqua Bar.
Please know that Sunset Plaza takes highly consideration of all our guest comments, always working on pampering and making our guests feel at home.
We will be looking forward to seeing you soon.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,220)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 3,220 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed from 8/31-9/4. We had an AI package and had a great time. We would rate them 3.5/5 because they messed up our restaurant reservations, but we bumped them 4/5 because of few exceptional staff members.

Pros-
1. Very clean (way better than many US hotels)
2. Staff. I always thought latinos/spanish people are way more warmer and welcoming than say white europeans. The staff at sunset plaza will make sure that you drink too much and eat too much.
** Special mention Sentriano/Centriano who was beyond exceptional in service while serving the pool area.
3. Location - amazing sunset views; close to downtown
4. Food - we tried both italian and mexican. Both were extremely satisfying.

Cons-
1. Small resort (I would 3-4 days is max you can stay here)
2. Lack of any evening entertainment; no shows or dances; very quite
3. The bartender in the lobby bar was acting weird when we asked for a drink
4. They messed up our dinner reservation for the japanese restaurant and because of that we could not eat there. We were stuck with 2 restaurants - mexican (almost every day) and italian (dinner). We are from san francisco so that was limiting and a disappointment for us.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have good sunset/sunrise view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RU_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Warm Greeting from Sunset Plaza Hotel!!
We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your visit with us. We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion that definitely helps us to make sure that all our services and facilities fill up our client’s standards. Your opinion is very valuable to all of our staff.
I will extend your congratulations to Cipriano for their great job.
We would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us. We are taking care of your recommendations and taking the necessary steps in order to avoid these situations in the future.
We look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime. If you have additional feedback that wish to share, I will be more than happy to assist you.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is right on the water, has so many pools, activities for the kids, it rained the whole week and we were not bored for a minute, the restaurants are great, beautiful view, when it did stop raining workers were always drying everything up so you can go right out, Manager met us at the door when we arrived, would never go anyplace else, thank you to all at the Sunset Plaza for helpinig us celebrate a wonderful 30 year anniversary:) Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite, all rooms overlook the beach, so much room for two.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Borntoclean56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please allow me to start by thanking you for taking the time to share with us your impressions regarding your stay, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we will be looking forward to seeing you here every anniversary.
It is great to hear you were celebrating your 30th Anniversary and you choose Puerto Vallarta and our hotel to celebrate this important date.
Thank you so much to share your lovely experience; Sunset Plaza is very proud to know we exceeded your expectations making your vacation memorable and special.
Puerto Vallarta has many options to offer when it comes to food, fun and nature areas, so we will be very happy if you give us the opportunity to host you in your home away from home.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our stay at the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa was wonderful! It was just what we needed. From the time we arrived until we left, everyone there made our stay perfect. Our room was spotless & the view was amazing. The food was wonderful, all made to order, no buffets. The french toast for breakfast.....wow! All the staff are very friendly and helpful and always busy making the grounds clean & beautiful. If you want a resort to relax and be pampered, this one is for you. Not a resort with loud music and lots of activities. They do have a children's club if you do bring the kids. I would definitely recommend this resort for and excellent vacation.

Room Tip: Try to stay on floors 4 or above.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Mrs. Tina,
Please let me express my gratitude to you for sharing such nice comments regarding your latest stay with us, we are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation.
Sunset Plaza hotel is oriented to for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a business event, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon whether you plan to visit Puerto Vallarta.
The newly constructed Sunset Plaza Resort & Spa is an impressive sight of contemporary architecture, curving gently around a lushly landscaped beachfront sundeck, where two infinity pools sparkle and guests bask in the sun in comfortable lounge chairs or enjoy a soak in one of three open-air Jacuzzis.
Each of the Sunset Plaza’s spacious guest rooms and suites features a private terrace with a breathtaking 180° view of the ocean and the spectacular Puerto Vallarta´s sunset. The rooms are warmly decorated in hues of orange, gold and sparkle, equipped with fine granite countertops, marble bathroom surfaces, and elegant contemporary wood furniture.
Amenities at Sunset Plaza include a large fitness room and spa; an activity packed Kids Club, two full-service restaurants – one international cuisine and one Italian – a deli, a lobby lounge, and the Poolside Aqua Bar.
Please know that Sunset Plaza takes highly consideration of all our guest comments, always working on pampering and making our guests feel at home.
We will be looking forward to seeing you soon.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Amazing / Fabulous / Friendly... great view... what a terrific place to stay... we had the 1-bedroom suite... it was gorgeous and huge... everyone gets their own Private Butler with a suite... super nice, makes reservations on and off property... makes sure you have a car waiting when needed... everything you want he is there to help... this is a smaller, more "boutique" resort, not some mega-resort you get lost in...

The food is wonderful and a nice variety... something for everyone... we did the all-inclusive and I recommend that package... the Japanese Restaurant was not that great, but all the other options available more than made up for that one... Luciano's is amazing... try the Spanish Coffee for sure... an amazing presentation!!!

The staff was very friendly and courteous but not in the way... the resort manager, Javier Versara was friendly and helpful...

Humberto
Cesar
Enzo
Pablo
Abraham
Alejandro
Sergio

FABULOUS!!! They totally made the trip an experience to remember... we will definitely be back!!!!!!

Room Tip: Spring for the 1- or 2-bedroom suite and get the all-inclusive...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Mr. Skip,
Thank you for your recent stay and posting your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the benefits that Sunset Plaza Hotel guests have.
I will extend your congratulations to Javier Vergara, Humberto, Cesar, Enzo, Pablo, Abraham, Alejandro, Sergio I am sure they will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.
We appreciate very much your high opinion of our premises and the service you always receive from our staff. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and our all-inclusive; our executive chef and their great team are always happy to please any request.
Sunset Plaza Hotel appreciates the time you have taken to give us your opinion and observations, please be sure that your comments have been very helpful and we are committed to improve our opportunity areas.
We are very happy to hear that we were up to your expectations.
We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had the one bedroom suit during our stay back in April. The service is really good. All ocean view rooms. One of the best vacation stay thus far. The rooms are so clean with twice a day maid service. The jacuzzi in the bathroom is amazingly clean and comfortable. The balcony is huge with two long beach chairs and table/chAirs. Every morning I was able to lay on the beach chair and enjoy the sunrise and the cool breeze. The one bedroom suit comes with two bathrooms, two beds, one fully furnished kitchen. It can fit 4 people with room to spare. We also got to choose the fragrance of the room. Every night when we return, the room is always so clean and smells wonderful and refreshing. We totally enjoy our stay at the resort. The resort has breathtaking sunset view. The best thing is the restaurant by the pool allows us to enjoy the view every night. We also really like the ping pong table by the pool. Friday night, the resort has special program with live show. It is a must see.
The resort is located outside the downtown area. There are several supermarkets are within 10mins walking distance. The taxi is also cheap and price is negotiable. We highly recommend this place. You will love it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oneness7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the benefits that Sunset Plaza Hotel guests have.
I will extend your congratulations to our staff, I am sure they will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.
Our rooms were designed to appreciate a beautiful view of the Bay from the comfort of your balcony. It is amazing to look the sunrise and sunset from it. Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa Located right on the beach at the center of the hotel zone, just a few minutes´ walk from the rich culture and traditional architecture of downtown and it is only 2.5 miles from the international airport and steps from the most important malls and beautiful Marina Vallarta. Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa is very close to everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer: dining, nightlife, shopping, golf and culture – yet far enough to ensure a relaxing and tranquil retreat.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to PV for bariatry surgery--the hospital put us up for three days--we stayed a further 10--first class accommadation, we did not go all inclusive, they have no buffet, just a restaurant where food is cooked to or -----excellent staff

We intend to return--off season rates-late summer are very attractive--weather in July was great, some late evening rains---fantastic lightning displays

Room Tip: All rooms ocean front---no bad rooms that we could see
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tbrenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
We hope that all is well with your surgery and we wish you a better health day by day. Please let us express our gratitude for sharing such nice comments regarding your stay with us.
For us it is really motivating to know that our service makes the difference in our guests’ visit. We are very proud we were able to surprise you with our a la carte service. We strongly believe in the personalized service and the benefits of having menu choices with tasty dishes. Thank you for your appreciation.
We look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime.
We will be waiting for you to come back really soon.
Best Regards
Leaslie Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,546 reviews
6.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $199 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing