We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 consecutive years and just booked a 3rd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have 2 kids, and Sunset Plaza is great for families with kids because 1) all meals are a la carte (no lining up at the trough) 2) it isn't a mega resort, so you see the same families each day and the kids get to play with familiar kids 3) all the staff is wonderful 4) the kids activity center is well-stocked with toys and arts/crafts project material 5) all the staff is wonderful.

After a day of traveling, you are greeted with sparkling wine at check-in.

The staff has remained consistent. We look forward to seeing Cesar, Juan and Javier again.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clinton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Clinton,
We are very proud to have you back at your home away from home!! Thank you for posting your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the benefits that Sunset Plaza Hotel guests have.
I will extend your congratulations to Cesar, Juan & Javier. I am sure they will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.
Our one bedroom suites are comfortable and everyone have terrace and amazing view.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,075 - 2,081 of 3,340 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were there from August 17-22 and all I can say is what an awesome hotel. We had room 914 a one bedroom suite. The views from this room were breathless. My husband said the butler service was excellent almost family like!! Glad we booked this place. In no special order...I would like to thank Ivan, Javier the Resort Manager, Juan, Jose, Cesar, Rigoberto, Pablo, Humberto, Roberto, Diego and Wendy. These people made our stay SPECIAL. The hotel is very clean and tidy. Close to walking distance to many stores. There's a 24 hour pharmacy at the corner and it was more like a 7-11 than pharmacy. The taxis were all over if you needed one to go downtown (50 pesos), or Romantic Zone (80 pesos). The hotel is centrally located so that it is away from the hustle and bustle for relaxation but within walking distance of a bank, burger king or subway. Overall this place was great, we would definitely go back again!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveLife72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please allow us to start by congratulate you for your birthday; we wish you another year with love, fun and success. Thank you for choose Sunset Plaza Hotel and Puerto Vallarta to celebrate this special date with us. Thank you for taking the time to share with us your impressions regarding your stay, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation.
I will extend your congratulations to Ivan, Mr. Javier, Juan, Jose, Cesar, Rigoberto, Pablo, Humberto, Roberto, Diego and Wendy for their great job and making a memorable stay for you.
Sunset Plaza Hotel is located right on the beach at the center of the hotel zone, just a few minutes’ walk from the rich culture and traditional architecture of downtown.
We will be looking forward to seeing you here every year to celebrate your Birthday!!
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gomez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, the service provided for you is fantastic. The manager Javier greats you and your butler has champagne ready on tray. Every room has a gorgeous, large balcony, overlooking the bay. Each and every sunrise and sunset view are beyond beautiful. All of the restaurant staff members are attentive hard working people. The food was delicious. The bar had great drinks. I highly recommend the All Inclusive package. We went Sunday to Friday. It was perfect. Every time you leave the hotel for whatever reason, your room number and taxi number were logged in. Same for when you return. Guests are truly treated like royalty. I cannot wait to go back. Oh and they have a hospitality area (showers and all!) plus a luggage room for checked out guests who still have time to soak up the beautiful sun before catching a flight. Amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nati2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Ms. Nati,
Thank you for your recent stay and posting your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the benefits that Sunset Plaza Hotel guests have.
I will extend your congratulations to Javier and our food and beverages staff, I am sure they will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.
Our rooms were designed to appreciate a beautiful view of the Bay from the comfort of your balcony. It is amazing to look the sunrise and sunset from it.
We are very proud we were able to surprise you with our a la carte all inclusive. We strongly believe in the personalized service and the benefits of having menu choices with tasty dishes.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez
Quality Manager
l

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I would stay at this hotel again, no hesitation, but there were a few quirks and procedures I did not read about on TripAdvisor that you may find useful. Some of these are standard in PV hotels, I'm told by locals.

-Going in and out of the hotel is monitored, there is a gate. You even get 'tagged' at check-in with a bracelet (a standard practice at most PV resorts) and no unregistered guests can go up to the rooms or grounds. This is quite inconvenient if you have friends at another hotel or family in town.
-Check-in requires they make a copy of your passport and they don't give it back or seem to destroy it at check-out.
-Don't book on Hotwire or Priceline if you want a room on a high floor. They were not full when I checked in and the staff made it clear since I had booked on Hotwire...I got the second floor, which overlooked the jacuzzi, and not the ideal location when you want privacy.
-Use AMEX to check-in. They don't put a hold on your cc with AMEX, yes with VISA and MC.
-You get a "butler" with or without all-inclusive. As others have pointed out, it's a concierge service.
-There is a fragrance pushed thru the AC. You can customize it. It's tolerable, but sensitive types may not like it.
-Ordered room service. It was mostly bland, and the coffee was very bad, below 7-11 quality. Creamer is evaporated milk from a can, but seems to be the standard in PV. The oatmeal option that comes with a yogurt and fruit plate comes uncooked. I wasn't expecting a fried green tortilla boat for my beans in the chilaquiles dish- not refined at all.
-Pay for room service at the time it is delivered or wait until they add it to your check-out bill, which added 20 minutes to the check-out process.

+Towels, linens, and pillows were clean and plush.
+The shower is fantastic, fully enclosed, but no tub.
+Great balcony with table and chairs.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more privacy. All have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gl0betr0tter_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Warm Greeting from Sunset Plaza Hotel!!
We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your visit in Sunset Plaza Hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion that definitely helps us to make sure that all our services and facilities fill up our client’s standards. Your opinion is very valuable to all of our staff.
We would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us. We are taking care of your recommendations and taking the necessary steps in order to avoid these situations in the future.
We look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime. If you have additional feedback that wish to share, I will be more than happy to assist you.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
Quality Manager
lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in September of 2012-
I have to agree KittyKatla,
This property is wonderful. It faces the ocean, all rooms are ocean front, close to town, excellent food, and the rooms are to die for. One full bedroom suite the size of some apartments.Two bathrooms, and full living room & kitchen. We actually called our friends who work for the airline to come join us as we had so much room. Furnishings were very modern and clean.
- The restaurant was spot on. Delicous ala carte items. There was this shrimp ceviche item that we must have had at least twice a day. It was to die for. Servers were friendly.
Down side- Lots of kids. I love kids mind you, but when I leave my twin 16 year olds at home, I want peace from throngs of small kids. I remember trying to enjoy a meal and the kids day care was next to the outdoor restaurant. Not very relaxing. Of course we avoided the main pool due to the little ones. This is probably the only reason why we would not return to this property. But if you have small children in tow, GO FOR IT!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Mrs. Nicole,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments after your experience in our beautiful resort.
We appreciate your recognition for our resort characteristics, room comfort, and for highlighting the strengths of our facilities to fully comply with our guest expectations.
We appreciate your giving us the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Puerto Vallarta with your kids.
Have a great day!
Leaslie Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were greeted by the resort manager Javier, and our "Butler" Juan. Juan took us to our suite and explained all about it and the resort. Our one bedroom suite,1200 sq ft, plus a double balcony over looking the resort and bay, was beautiful!! The whole resort was kept clean at all times by a staff that was friendly and helpfull. Our "Butlers" Juan and Roberto were always available and more than helpful and charming. The resturants were great, fresh, hot cooked to order food, be sure to have the French Toast. We had fun having lunch on stools in the big pool. tho we spent more time at the adult pool, loved the covered beds. It is great being all inclusive as we didn't have to carry money and could have all the instant gradification we wanted. I had fun using the little Spanish I know and everyone helped me get better, though they all spoke English. I had not wanted to stay in Mexico for fear of getting sick but did not have a problem at this resort. PV is a great place to visit and Sunset Plaza is the best place to stay, I recommend the suite. The staff was outstanding and made the vacation special. We celebrated our 50th Ann. and it was perfect! Thanks to Javier the manager, the wonderful staff and outstanding service. The people of PV are warm, friendly and helpful. We felt completely safe in the area, its a great place to visit. It was hot and sunny even tho it was rainy season. It rained at night and was abit humid. On Sundays there is free dancing to Latin music in the Town Square, very fun!!

Room Tip: Go for the suite, it is worth it. It is spacious, beautiful, full kitchen, 2 baths, master has whirl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldventurer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Friends,
It is amazing to hear you were celebrating your 50th Anniversary and you choose Puerto Vallarta and our hotel to celebrate this important date.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely experience, Sunset Plaza is very proud to know we exceeded your expectations making your vacation memorable and special.
I will extend your congratulations to Juan, Roberto and Javier for their great job.
Thank you for your French Toast recommendation we are pretty sure all our guest will love it.
Puerto Vallarta has many options to offer when it comes to food, fun and nature areas, so we will be very happy if you give us the opportunity to host you in your home away from home.
Cordially,
Leaslie Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This resort is beautiful and clean. The restaurants had delicious food, try the french toast, that was sooo good. The staff was unbeatable. So helpful and friendly. We had Roberto as are main staff member who was amazing and friendly. Also Sammie helped us plan a special night for our friends bday. Would like to say thank you to the two of them from all of us!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisalargen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Friends,
It is amazing to hear you were celebrating your 50th Anniversary and you choose Puerto Vallarta and our hotel to celebrate this important date.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely experience, Sunset Plaza is very proud to know we exceeded your expectations making your vacation memorable and special.
I will extend your congratulations to Juan, Roberto and Javier for their great job.
Thank you for your French Toast recommendation we are pretty sure all our guest will love it.
Puerto Vallarta has many options to offer when it comes to food, fun and nature areas, so we will be very happy if you give us the opportunity to host you in your home away from home.
Cordially,
Leaslie Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,730 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
778 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,946 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,547 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $222 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing