We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our stay at Sunset Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our stay at Sunset Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Sunset Plaza was just as nice as other reviewers depicted it to be. When we arrived to check in, we were greeted with champagne, cold washcloths, and a complimentary aromatherapy chair massage. Our room was beautiful and faced the beach. It was equipped with modern amenities. We opted for the European plan, as neither of us are much into all-inclusive plans, but the pool area was very nice with plenty of places to lounge. The infinity pool was pretty cool, but the best part is that they have a private, adults only pool and 3 separate hot tubs with awesome views. The only downside to their pool area was that there was not much shade once the sun was at it's highest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rleonard74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Friends,
On behalf of all the staff of Sunset Plaza hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your holidays with us, we feel very honored.
I shared your good comments about of the service with our General Manager and the staff involved.
We are proud to hear that we were up to your expectations at this your home on the beach, Sunset Plaza Hotel.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future.
Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    521
    124
    44
    24
See reviews for
872
1,183
53
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Everyone and everything about Sunset Plaza is wonderful. The food is great at all three restaurants. We highly recommend the exclusive quiet dinner for two out on the jetty (where massages are during the day). It was the most romantic unforgettable dinner we have ever had the opportunity to experience. Not to mention the ambiance at sunset made the dinner even more complete. The butlers, bartenders, maids, turn down maids and concierge (hope I didn't forget anyone) are all absolutely fabulous. Now that we are home I really miss our butlers. Love how the butlers would even shop for us when we needed items whether it was for our refrigerator or if it was batteries for the camera. Take advantage of the morning deep stretch class it will start your day out with a smile. My husband and I did the tandem massages out on the jetty in the morning and everything about them was extraordinary. I would say that there is not anything negative to say about Sunset Plaza. We can't wait to go back. It was by far our best vacation ever!

Room Tip: Love the 1 bedroom as it has 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. I find it a must to have a fridge. The groce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everything about our stay was amazing. Me and my best friend checked in a couple of days after our two other friends. They already knew our friends very well by the time we got there. The service was excellent. Always smiling and very helpful. The food was amazing. The rooms were so clean and the turn down service with linen spray was a nice touch. Everything we needed was provided for and more. Nice, small, with a boutique feel. The entertainment guy hooked us up with a private tour operator from the beach. It was my third trip to PV and my best friends fifth trip. Both our friends were here for the first time. Big name tours are nice and all, but we wanted something more personal and intimate. We paid 1200 pesos each (times four people) for an 8 hour private boat charter with two snorkelling stops and a stop in Yelapa. It was amazing! Way nicer in terms of our own private time than the big name companies. We stopped off at a secluded beach and we were the ONLY people there. Very nice. Not rushed. No lineups for snorkels. Yelapa was pretty cool, too. I highly recommend the private tour route and would do it again without hesitation. Just ask the entertainment guide to recommend a reputable person.

Las Palmas is right next door. If you want all-day pool party action, then go there. Seriously they partied all day and late into the night. Our resort all but shuts down at 10pm. Nice to come home to after going out dancing elsewhere. Also nice to relax to.

Our stay at Sunset Plaza was awesome and amazing. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice room and very clean. Amazing viewing for sunsets/sunrises. All-inclusive best way to go and the dining was great pool side or at the restaurant. Dinks were great as well. Menu options vary daily. ***If you dine at Lucianos you have to try a coffee drink after dinner if only to enjoy the show for how they make the drinks tableside.
Butlers and desk staff were helpful when needed. Spa staff did a great job!!
We enjoyed having several pool options and plenty of cabanas, towels, lounge chairs available.
There is no place on property to by essentials but its located on a main street with lots of shops for anything needed. we walked the 1st night just to check what's around it's safe. If you don't get the all inclusive option and want to venture out there are convience stores, Burger King, KFC, Subway, and local establishements. There's also a Wal-Mart in driving distance.
Exchange rate is higer at the hotel but cheaper than airport. We had option to pay in US dollar or Peso.
It's also a kid friendly establishement but we were never bothered by this. The resport has lots of activities and pool for their entertainment.
For adults they offer yoga, sports, bartending demonstrations, poker, etc events as well duing the day.
Only negatives were no turn down service when requested our 1st night. When they do this you can customize the secents you like on your sheets and in the room. A must try.
We would stay again at this property and enjoyed all it had to offer.

Room Tip: Every room has a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank AdrienneD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Used this hotel as a base camp in-between a July 2012 surf safari. I found the accomodations to be exceedingly luxurious and it being the low season (Summer 2012), you got amazing services and fantastic rooms all at below the going market rate. Make use of alternate hotel websites and you're sure to score a deal. Lay out by the pool or take a bus or cab into downtown PV to explore all the nightlight PV has to offer!

Room Tip: Looking for luxury accommodations within the part of PV closer to the Airport, look no further...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful rooms and condos! Staff is amazing. If we could suggest anything it would be nice to have a small shop on the premesis to buy any sundries. The food was good but never order a big steak of any kind..not good! Luciano's restaurant claims to be Italian but has no Italian food! We did love the pools and bars though! It's a very clean place and that speaks volumes! We would stay here again for relaxation!

Room Tip: We had a 2 br condo and loved it! We had 3 bathrooms! Amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank mta1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff was amazing . the food was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable.. Everything about this place is great. I had a great message under the cabana on the beach.. the menu changed alot and the guacamole was heaven...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
5.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#3 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#14 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
2.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing