We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic luxury accommodations in an easily accessible part of PV from the Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic luxury accommodations in an easily accessible part of PV from the Airport”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Used this hotel as a base camp in-between a July 2012 surf safari. I found the accomodations to be exceedingly luxurious and it being the low season (Summer 2012), you got amazing services and fantastic rooms all at below the going market rate. Make use of alternate hotel websites and you're sure to score a deal. Lay out by the pool or take a bus or cab into downtown PV to explore all the nightlight PV has to offer!

Room Tip: Looking for luxury accommodations within the part of PV closer to the Airport, look no further...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,339
    615
    144
    46
    26
See reviews for
1,081
1,428
70
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful rooms and condos! Staff is amazing. If we could suggest anything it would be nice to have a small shop on the premesis to buy any sundries. The food was good but never order a big steak of any kind..not good! Luciano's restaurant claims to be Italian but has no Italian food! We did love the pools and bars though! It's a very clean place and that speaks volumes! We would stay here again for relaxation!

Room Tip: We had a 2 br condo and loved it! We had 3 bathrooms! Amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank mta1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff was amazing . the food was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable.. Everything about this place is great. I had a great message under the cabana on the beach.. the menu changed alot and the guacamole was heaven...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at this resort for about 4 days. This resort was very nice, it had an amazing view. I'm happy that I was able to enjoy myself here. The staff gave excellent customer service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marllana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Sunset Plaza. If you want to be waited on hand and foot, then this is the place for you. The rooms were exquisite and large. The staff was one of the best I have ever seen and experienced and I travel for a living all around the world so I have seen it all. All the rooms have an incredible view of the ocean were you can sit on your private balcony and watch the sunset. There are two beautiful pools, one for adults and the other for families. My wife and I have never come back from a vacation as well rested and as peaceful as we did from this one. If you are going to Puerto Vallarta and want to be pampered for a really great price, then make this your destination. We will SOOOO be back for our next vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach and have a superb view of it. If you are a couple and looking for a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ngc251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Lovely view, all rooms ocean view as they should be on the Pacific. 2 restaurants that were fairly good! I actually waited til end of week to tip some of the routine wait staff and did not as they never even came back to refil my coffee during breakfast!
One evening a 1 1/2 inch roach crawled out we reported then found another under dresser when packing! Ugh!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catgori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The plus is that the rooms are great, great views; only flaw they do not come back for room service until the next day.

Our biggest issues were with the pool area food, drinks and service. With the exception of the tacos (de-lish) they are in serious need of a new Head Chef and a mixologist, well mixologists. For such a spicy setting the food is bland and inconsistent. And just forget about the room service fare, It's worth it to venture out to PVR at large however late to taste the authentic food; it seems the resort folk made a decision to homogenize to serve en masse. Last, the drinks on your first day are good and served in fancy plastic hurricane glasses, by day three you're being served drinks in mess-hall 6 ounce cups sans fancy affects - fine, as long as the liquor is not watered down BUT guess
what!? Inconsistencies abound!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inedrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,459 reviews
6.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,875 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,382 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing