We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Watch out!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked a week in May at this hotel based on the reviews. Our past experiences based on the reviews hotels rang true but not for this hotel. I cannot understand all of the great reviews for this place – it does not make sense if you’ve been to other hotels in the same ratings range in PV. The first thing our "butler" did was tell us about all the extra charges: room water and coffee and a room service surcharge! Oh and there’s a surcharge for "all-inclusive people" for certain menu items! I thought I purchased and “All-inclusive”? Food is hit and miss, choices are limited and service is spotty. Oh and how about the noise from their sister hotel next door until 11 pm every other night. Staff are friendly enough and the room was clean. I expected more and there are much better boutique hotels in PV IMHO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calgarian1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,822
    503
    120
    44
    23
See reviews for
835
1,155
51
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I visited Sunset Plaza for the second time April 20-27. We visited last May and obviously enjoyed our experience enough to return. This visit was even better! It was the BEST and most RELAXING vacation ever! It started before we even arrived with personal attention from the Resort Manager, Javier. Thank you so much for EVERYTHING Javier. What makes Sunset Plaza extra special is the service. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. There was a HUGE improvement in the cuisine, variety and quality. Each meal was delicious. The property is beautifully situated with constant ocean views and sounds. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. This property lacks nothing! It is obvious that the staff and management aim for customer "delight" and they absolutely achieve it! We are planning our third visit for next year, if not sooner!

Room Tip: The higher floors afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaniej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the minute you walk in the door, you are greeted personally and greeted with a glass of champagne. The staff was personable and attentive throughout our entire stay. There are so many things to rave about so I'll list them out here:
- Small boutique size so you can get from the room to the pool in 3 minutes. And yet the main pool is big enough for a swim and has a swim-up bar.
- Every room has an ocean view
- Food at the 2 restaurants and deli were delicious and they were always open to your customizations
- Always able to find a spot by the pool
- Bed cabanas by the adult pool area to relax in
- Rooms were set up with different wonderful aromas every day
- Beds were comfortable
- 5 minutes to the Malecon area
- 10 minutes to get from the Airport to the hotel
- Everyone there was super attentive to our needs. Special thanks to our butler, Juan, for always making sure we were well taken care of.

To sum it up, we had a great experience and couldn't have asked for a better place to spend it in Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: You'll always get a room with an ocean view! If you want slightly quieter in case you have a no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calgirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I just wanted to shared my 2 cents worth. This resort is great. If you want a place to truly relax with great ocean view suites (we watched whales and phenominal sunsets from the balcony), gourmet foot, and service better than I have experienced anywhere in the world, this is your place. This is not a big party resort, which I loved. Pools not filled with loud blasting music, but the swim up bar provides geneous fun drinks to keep you happy!!!! NO BUFFETS! A huge plus for me. Nothing I hate worse than buffet lines, complete with little kids fingers in everything you were thinking about trying or worse, food just sitting for hours attracting bugs. It is a sit down venue with truly good food served by amazingly friendly and accomodating waiters. These people truly go the extra mile and even print out your boarding passes when you leave, I will go back. I will tell everyone I know to check it out. To give it extra kudos, we had a no smoking room, and no smoking was allowed around the pool. Sa-weet! Roberto, our personal butler saw to it that we had everything we needed, cabs in 5 minutes when needed, and kept the time share sales folks away, per our request. This was a great vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors =better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambush99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hi,

We Travel to Mexico Twice a Year and Stay at Highly Rated All-Inclusive Hotels. This was our first stay at the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort. We Traveled with our 5 Year Old Daughter and my Wife's Mother (aka Baby Sitter). We Chose this Resort due to it's high rating on Trip Advisor.

The Good:

One Bedroom suites are big and comfortable
The Food is Above Average
The Pool was very clean and warm
The Butler and Manger were very friendly
It was Slow the week we stayed there
The Activities Staff was outgoing and engaging
The Kids Club is Great and conveniently located near the pool
The Gym is nice and never crowded
Massages were nice and fairly priced
Unlimited Towels

The Bad:

Resort to the North is Noisy until at least 11pm each night
The Bar and Restaurant Staff was not attentive or very friendly
The Food Selection is very limited
The Beach is Small
The Beach/Pool Chairs are not cushioned, only in the Adult Area
The Whole Roof Top Hot Tub Area, seems like a complete waste of Space

Overall the Hotel was Above average, compared to other hotels in the area. We went to the Marival Residences for the Second half of our stay and the Food & Service was superior to this Hotel. One Night the Air Conditioning was blowing warm air, I called Maintenance and they admitted to turning the temp up to Save Money, because it was so slow.....Really!

We are not planning on Staying at this Resort Again, but would recommend it to Families traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as close to the Roof as Possible, this will help with noise issues from the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redtailnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had an amazing experience at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa. It was just what we needed great service, friendly people, good food and drinks, and a clean/comfortable room. I've been telling all of my family, friends, and co-workers that this is the place to stay. It was our first time in Puerto Vallarta and Sunset Plaza and I felt right at home. I felt really safe in comparison to travel in other cities in Mexico. The staff was attentive to our needs and my only complaint...is that I didn't stay long enough. The excursions via Vallarta Adventures are so much fun.Thanks for a very relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room on a high floor to appreciate the view. Also, the temperature cools down at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishikka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went with my best friend for a "girls" trip for a 4 night adventure. The accomidations were excellent with turn down service every night. Every room has an ocean view. The staff all spoke english so that was helpful. They were all very accomidating and friendly. We got complimentry champagne greeting while we checked in. Then a butler took us up to our room and showed us around. There were no buffets which was nice and they had a few top shelf vodka, rum, and teaquila. For all inclusive thats a plus. The food was served in one of two resturants and all was good. I just wished the menu changed from night to night. The pool bar menu was all very good and the deli had good sandwiches but not alot to choose from. We had a late flight home so they let us stay by the pool all day and they held our luggage for us. Upon leaving we got a "hospitality" room to shower and get ready for our travel. It was awesome. I would definatly go back . Be sure to bring a big insulated cup if you are doing all inclusive. your drink doesn't get warm and less trips to the bar!

Room Tip: Bring a good insulated cup if you are doing all inclusive. Don't need a beach towel. They have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
5.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
2.4 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#3 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
2.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#10 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,492 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing