We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small resort, great location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small resort, great location, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this resort with another family (8 of us total - 4 adults, 4 kids) for 2 weeks and was very impressed overall. Gloria in the kids club was awesome with all of the kids. We couldn't have asked for a more inviting and friendly person. Alejandro in the pool area is an absolute work horse. This guy speed walks the entire day making sure everyone he is attending to is taken care of in a timely manner. His friendliness and attentiveness was awesome. I made him promise to stay at this resort so we could see him again next year. Hazael (spelling?), our butler was great as well. We didn't run into any major issues, but he was always around checking on us to make sure things were good.

The rooms were awesome - we stayed in the 1 bedroom suites - 4th floor

The resort overall is very small and peaceful - this was great for us

Jose, the events coordinator was extremely friendly and worked hard at making everyone aware of the daily activities.

A few minors issues we had were 1. The kitchen service at dinner in the outdoor restaurant. The wait staff wasn't the issue. It was the kitchen staff preparing the food. I know there was 8 of us and it is difficult to serve all at the same time, but we had to wait 20-30 minutes sometimes between people getting their food. The indoor restuarant (Luciano's) was perfect - no issues ever. 2. The beach was small. Not a major issue for us but if you are the type that likes to spend a lot of time on the beach, this resort will not make you happy. 3. The fitness centre is lacking. Again, if you like to get in a good workout with variety, this resort will not make you happy. There is a set of free weights from 10-50 lbs and a bench and 6 cardio machines - 2 treads, 1 elipt, 1 stepper and 2 stationary bikes

Overall, I would recommend this resort and would stay here again myself. We have been to PV for 6 years in a row now and we know for sure that we will be back next year again. The staff at the resorts and the people of this city are extremely friendly, helpful and we always feel safe.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have a great view. I can say this for any rooms above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeSB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded your expectations in regards of the service provided by our dedicated staff.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa trough TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Our sincere greetings!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,218
    592
    136
    45
    25
See reviews for
1,014
1,371
67
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first time on a resort vacation and we couldn't have asked for more. We wanted a nice quiet resort because we had lots of tours planned for our week. If you need a lot of night time entertainment this isn't the resort for you. Our days were so busy, we were glad to come back to someplace quiet! The views from our room on the fourteenth floor were spectacular. I loved sitting out there in the early morning drinking coffee and watching dolphins swim in the bay. The bed was very comfortable. We slept great! All the staff at the resort is so helpful. Our meals in the restaurant and deli were always very good. The only complaint was the one night we had room service and the food was terrible. We ordered a pizza and a pasta. The portions were very small and the quality was not good. We thought this was weird because all of our other meals had been so good! That's the only thing stopping me from rating this resort a five. Drink service was always prompt, especially around the adult pool. The resort offers a few daily activities. I did yoga one morning which was very nice. I also used the spa for a massage and facial. I got it in the hut on the beach. It was wonderful and having it on the beach did not cost any extra. My tip though would be to book early in the morning before the noise from the beach is too distracting. There is a bus stop on the corner. The butlers were very helpful in making sure we got the right bus to take us downtown or to the marina. Six pesos for the bus totally beats paying for a taxi! We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the more panoramic the views. Plus it's quieter. We left our balcony door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alissarawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor and for choosing us. At Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, we appreciate all of our guest’s comments and suggestions regarding our services and facilities, which benefit our impulse to increase and maintain our ambition to achieve top quality service levels. We are really glad that you enjoyed the experience.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Sincerely!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Sunset Plaza after much searching. We read many reviews and looked at the photos, and felt we made a good choice. From the greeting by Javier as the cab pulled up to the butler showing us to our room, it all happened much as other reviews had described. The room was great, clean and a great view of the water front. All the things you may have read before are true. The turn down service, the scents, robes, slippers, and evening sunsets, we saw it all. We found the meals to be very good, they usually came quickly, and yes after a week long stay, we did feel that it was getting to be repetitive. I always enjoyed the beef dishes, but found the seafood dishes to be over cooked, with not much flavour. The wait staff tries very hard, they smile and offer greetings, and want to ensure you are being looked after. Humberto was always at the ready to take your order and after a very short amount of time knew our room number. Oscar came by the pool to make sure we had drinks and snacks, and I appreciated the efforts and hard work of these men, in making us feel extra special. We did not experience any of the bad service mentioned in some other reviews.
We enjoyed the calm of the adult pool, and due to the excellent service did not even make it to the other pool or swim up bar. The pool was always clean, and the water warm, staff coming around often to make sure things were in order.
After the first very quiet night, we had new neighbours move in next door,.......noisy new neighbours. We mentioned it at the front desk and asked to be moved, which they were not able to do, but the noise stopped, and the quiet returned, so I have to say thanks for that. Other reviews have mentioned hearing noise from the other resorts close by. Yes that does happen, but it did not last long, and by 11PM all we could hear was the waves on the beach. We also heard about the music in the lobby bar, and the fact there is no nightlife or activities. Yes on both accounts, it is very quiet, and not a lot happening. That is what we were looking for. Families with teenage kids along may have a hard time keeping them occupied, without going off the resort.
We went to relax, and that is what we did. It was not a chore to get up a little early, and grab some sun before breakfast, and then back to reading, napping and enjoying the ocean breeze, and parade of people on the beach. As always, there are guests, and that behave poorly, with little regard for others, which is not the fault of the resort, but it was annoying to watch. There were frequently folks that "toweled" their beds, and then disappeared for 4 hours. With more guests than beds it is an ongoing issue resorts have. The Sunset has notices posted about this practice, but only once did we see a staff member free up a bed for someone.
We got in the habit of looking thru the movies they had available at the desk for guests to borrow, before we changed for dinner. Not a lot of selection, but here are a few gems, and it was better than what was on TV most of the time. This was an unexpected, but appreciated extra we took advantage of.
On our last day, our flight was in the evening, and yes they provided us with a room to shower and change. The resort next door, is not as nice, but we appreciated the offer, and went to the airport clean and changed. The one hitch we had with all this was the check out. After checking out, you are free to stay around the pool, but you are required to pay for any food or beverages you order. We had a little warning, and were advised to have lunch before check out, except that check out is noon, and lunch cannot happen before 12:30. Other all-inclusives we have been to accommodate this situation, so you are still able to have lunch and a few drinks. The Sunset has not got this figured out yet, which is a shame, to have this negative conclude the end of a really nice week.
Yes we would return for another visit, we found it a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The week at Sunset Plaza was one of our best trips we have been on. Beautiful hotel with amazing staff. Small enough place that you can meet people easily and staff gets a chance to get to know you. Javier, the Resort Manager, listens to you and if there are any concerns he addresses them immediately. The view is second to none and the food we never tired of.
Thanks my friends - we will see you again.

Room Tip: The higher your room is the better the view. All are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My family and I arrived at Sunset Plaza after a long day of travel with a two year old. We had stayed at this hotel last year, and were so impressed that we decided to spend 2 nights ($700) here again, before moving to a condo rental in old town. We were met by the reservations manager and thanked for returning, and this is when things went awry.

To cut a long and anoying story short, we were told that they were overbooked ("but don't worry, someone got fired"??), and that they had an equally fabulous suite in their adjacent timeshare property. Well, this "fabulous" suite wasn't even close to the calibur of the Sunset Plaza. It was dingy and basic, and had an odor of mold, and we were expected to stay here for the same rate as the beautiful room we had booked. Also, the person who walked us over provided a completely different story of a maintenance issue that closed down an entire floor. Perhaps they should have conferred?

We refused the accomodation and were then told they could move us to the Sheraton. From a full suite to a hotel room, again with no compensation. At this point, we excused ourselves for a much-needed cocktail and private discussion. Not 15 minutes later, the reservations manager magically appeared with keys to our suite. There was no apology or accountability at this time or during our stay. I'm afraid this soured our experience at this property, but we had a truly fabulous condo in old town and enjoyed the remainder our vacation very much.

Apologies to whomever was saddled with the "fabulous" suite next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MandGandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa again as your hotel destination.

Your feedback about your recent stay and experience, help us to improve our service and take corrective actions. Definitely your opinion is very valuable to us.

On behalf of our General Manager and the staff, please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience about your room assignation.

There is never a second chance to make a good impression but we do hope you give us the opportunity to have the honor to serve you again in a near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

What can I say??!! This resort has the best staff I've ever encountered. They are happy to help you and are always smiling. The rooms are so luxurious and spacious with fabulous views and extra large balconies. The only slight complaint I have is the food. More selection and perhaps different menus would make it a bit better. However, this said I understand that having a smaller menu keeps quality better and is easier to control. The food at Luciano was delicious! Highly recommend this resort. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWright780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel location is good with nice but small beach. But the service is poor. There is one kids' room with a few activities such as vedio games and some session to hand made some goodies. It closes at 5pm. But the hostess seemed to be looking forward to her release time starting from morning. We visted the place twice and each time she was not in good spirit. One time I was there at barely 4:20 with my 2-year-old after her afternoon nap. We wanted to join a session to make some beading toys. The hostess told us that the session was closed because it's "too close to 5pm". I saw a couple of kids there were not even starting yet but did not want to bother. I thought if the official close time is before 4:20, they should just say so, so that we did not have to show up and get sent away.

There were some other small things that i thought was just as unnecessary. i was trying to break up a $20 bill into $10's at the cashier and was told that i can only exchange to pesos but not in US $. Not sure if this was for purpose of making money. if yes, it surely had failed it since I've got enough pesos from them earlier and decided to go for my friends to break the bill.

The dinner service was super slow and it was almost everyday practice such as we order some drinks and the server forgot about it until the end of the meal. One time they forgot about my husband's order completely and he had to watch 3 of us eating wondering when his meal would be ready. The servers were very nice though that they always smiled and said yes. But whether your order will show up right or not was often a matter of luck than norm.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happyrabbit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate all the feedback which help us to improve the service and also offered to you a sincere apology for the inconvinience about the kids club and Food & Beverage service, we are taking corrective actions related both areas.

Our commitment is to provide the highest quality service and your comment help us to improve our excellence in service.

Hoping to have the honor to see you again in a near future.

Receive our sincere greetings!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
6.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing