We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A bit late in providing the feedback, since it's December and we were there in August, but the memories and impression of the resort are still fresh in our minds. Bottom line.. we had a great time. The resort is new, perfectly located along the shore line between the city and the marina so access is easy to anywhere. The facility is new, and very well kept. A real highlight of the stay was the hospitality of the staff. Each and every one of them made us feel welcome, treated us as if they'd known us forever and not just as transient tourists. They were very helpful, friendly and willing to do anything to ensure our stay was as positive as possible.
The rooms were clean, Room service was very good. Food was good. We pretty much ate only at the hotel since this was an all-inclusive package plus our diets were somewhat restricted for personal reasons. Nevertheless the food was good. The was decent variety even for us and some dishes we just didn't mind having more than once. The weather was favorable. It was beautiful during the days and each evening, late, the clouds rolled in to give us some rain. Would definitely consider going there again.
The only issue I may have had is because of the small strip of 'not so private' beach behind the hotel. Still we spent most of the time in the sun at the adult pool in cabanas which was fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie_Plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,853
    514
    122
    44
    24
See reviews for
858
1,168
52
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We loved this visit... it was our 2nd stay down in PV. We took the "all inclusive" package again. My husband wanted to bring our room attendant Irma home with us, she did such a great job keeping our suite nice and tidy and clean,... the pictures are spot on. We are booked to stay in February 2013 at the Sunset Plaza. All the butlers, went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. We met lots of friendly, interesting people... big shout out to The Big Dog,Miranda and Jessie, we bought the the Roku II! The pools were great, nice and warm! Sunset Plaza was well worth the money.

Room Tip: take the suite... its worth it. All rooms have balcony's with wonderful ocean views. You can wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBTravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great modern, clean hotel
I would definitely stay here again
Staff under manager Javier Vergara very good - always happy and helpful , good English
Good pools , ample chairs and a half dozen divine devan beds around adults pool
Rooms good size, large balcony , clean, functional
Comfortable beds and pillows
Good restaurant , good cafe - service sometimes a little slow, bar OK
Reasonably good red wine ( $30 / bottle Australia quality )
Initially stayed room only - about $105 / night , small room for negotiation
Then took all inclusive - an extra $110 for two of us
Food was slightly above average , everything was a little overcooked
We didn't find any of the alcohol to be watered down
Beach directly in front , sand was clean, sea was warm , resonably clean, vendors not too hassling
Well equipped gymnasium - 2 treads, 2 spins, bike, cross, free weights
Spa - $60 for 75 minute massage - heaven !
Guest self laundry service
Two elevators worked very efficiently
Otherwise not a lot to do in the hotel - darts, one table tennis, few kyacks, no sails, no pool table
A long walk to Malecon ( 30 minutes ) 50 cent bus, 4 dollar taxi
Not a lot to do in the surrounding area
Marina similiar distance in other direction
Few surrounding restaurants of any quality
Similiar quality hotels in the downtown area were an extra 50-100%
Hotels at the same price were nowhere near the standard

Room Tip: all the rooms have sea views - treated to the near nightly fireworks on the beach interconnecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I made our first trip to PV to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We espically enjoyed staying at the Sunset Plaza where we were treated like royalty. Upgraded room, early check-in, personal butler, Hazael was fantastic and took care of all our needs and one's we had not even considered! We had so much fun and are raving about our trip to friends and family. We will return!

Room Tip: They are all ocean view, we were on the 11th floor; the ocean waves lulled us to sleep each night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandaceKay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I would not normally choose to stay at an all inclusive hotel, however the Sunset Plaza is above the standard of your regular all inclusive hotel.

The service is excellent across all areas.
The rooms are beautiful - we had a large suite and were able to cook for ourselves. (We just booked the room, not the all inclusive package)
The food was very good.

As the hotel is a medium sized hotel, it did not feel crowded, chaotic or busy as many resorts can. It is family friendly and also has a separate adult pool overlooking the ocean, with comfortable lounge/beds to rest on.

The spa is also excellent.

I would definitely recommend staying here with friends, as a couple of as a family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Never having been to this resort, we were aprehensive, wondering what it would be like compared to others we had stayed at in Puerto Vallarta. We were pleasantly surprised and awed by everything there.
First of all, the staff were sooo friendly and welcoming; couldn't do enough for us. Then the suite surpassed our expectations. Clean, well furnished and well stocked with ample dishes, silverware, glasses...a great set of knives, and great cooking pans. Four of us were in a two bedroom suite, and we had room for two more easily.
The attention to detail was evident throughout the resort. Staff 24 hrs...waiters and the restaurant perfecto....activities, enough throughout the day for all ages. We really felt cared for and we relaxed and enjoyed our time there immensely. We are going back - and soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are have an ocean view...we were high up to get the best view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed like royalty. From the attentive resort manager (Javier Vergara) to the room's housekeepers (Josefa and Laura) and everyone with whom we came into contact, everyone was incredibly nice, helpful and a pleasure to be around. The ocean view room was great, the food at the Grill and Lucciano's was always tasty. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. The people of Puerto Vallarta were friendly and helpful (and incredibly patient with my horribly broken attempts at Spanish -- We'll be returning there as soon as we can!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJM1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
5.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
2.4 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#3 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
2.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#14 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing