We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome, beautiful resort and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awesome, beautiful resort and service”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We just got back from Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and absolutely loved everything about it. We had the suite and it felt like an expensive apartment instead of a hotel room. We walked in and were speechless when we saw the breathtaking view of the ocean, the huge deck with sun chairs and a table and chairs for eating breakfast in our rooms every morning. The room was spotless and the sheets were at least 1000 count. The bed was so comfortable, it was hard waking up. We had an issue with hot water in the showers but the staff tried hard to fix the problem. I especially loved the adult pool with private cabanas. A wonderful man named Oscar made sure we had everything we wanted at all times. The town is absolutely safe and we went to Old town for dinner and walked the boardwalk with no problems. The City tour is fun and we really enjoyed the Rhythms of the Night trip to a secluded island for dinner and a show. Please remember to tip the wait staff and bartenders,they only make a small amount and work long hours. The maid really appreciated getting a daily tip and showed us special attention. We are planning on going back at Christmas.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to get a suite, often Bookit.com will offer it free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa trough TripAdvisor, it help us to continue providing the highest quality service.

Hoping to have the honor to see you again the next December.

Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,259
    599
    139
    45
    25
See reviews for
1,036
1,392
68
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with charming and gracious staff. When my daughter was stung by a jellyfish they acted immediately with an employee running to the pharmacy to get us some ointment.

The food was good and the service staff was great. I've discussed the food at length at: http://whatsdorothyeatingnow.com/?s=la+comida

I would happily go back.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of a very gentle sell by the concierge upon arrival to attend a two and a half hour presentation on the hotel. She would not refer to it as a timeshare, but it sure sounded like it to me. My other concern was that she recommended that we go on the one day tour of Puerto Vallarta which after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor were universally bad. I tried to get a refund and was told that the travel agent "just left" and I could not. So, skip meeting the concierge and you're golden!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

All the staff of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa appreciate the feedback which help us to improve the excellence in service.

Our commitment is to provide the highest quality service that is why we offered to you a sincere apology for the tours suggestion, we are taking corrective actions related concierge information.

Hoping to have the honor to see you again in a near future.

Receive our sincere greetings!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is definately one of the best stays in PV.

Clean and well maintained, friendly staff.

The all inclusive food and drinks were great for the most part. Wish they had stayed away from the "Itallian" food and stuck to local fare. The "mexican" food was great!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa trough TripAdvisor.

It is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded your expectations in regards of the service provided by our staff.

Our sincere greetings!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

As a travel critic and designer I take a more detailed look at a property than most. This is one of the best hotels in PV standards. With a few changes it could rate a five, however. These are the things that I feel should be changed. Put duvets on the beds - this is a must. We stayed in the deluxe unit that is quite large, infact too large for us. The furniture is minimal and it needs to be "finished". The lack of seating, uncomfortable seating is a big problem. They spend a lot of money on granite in the kitchen (very nice) and then stop at the furniture. A love seat with two dining arm chairs does not cut it. Put in a larger sofa in an L shape and a couple of comfy chairs to see the great view. Call back the designer!
Loved the pool area. Especiallyt the adult pool with the canopy beach beds. Get up early to get yours as they fill up fast. I would suggest that they take some off the beach and put them up by either pool so they get better use. I noticed most of them on the beach were always empty. It is a waste of a great amenity. Yes go all inclusive - it is a bargin even if you go out to eat once in awhile.
The resturants serve mostly good food however it is very boring if your stay is a week or more as it never changes. Hopefully they have come up with an "American" hamburger, without heavy fillers. Get out the BBQ for lunch time. Liked the Italian resturant but it is next to the adjacent hotel and they keep the drapes closed.
One day from 4-8pm there were several complaints about 4 hours of loud music and yelling by the pool DJ when they had special parties. By the way, that hotel is owned by the same company so they do have a say - stop it.
This is a quiet hotel, mostly adults. Children are not allowed in the Italian resturant. They do however take up a front and center spot for a childs play building right in front?. Seems like a big waste of real estate and it should be something else to bring in revenue, as I saw 2 children there in 11 days. A store would be wonderful with great beach fashions, lots of reading material and sun products, art etc.. There is none and the deli has nothing except 2 month old magazines. Another wasted space.
Quickly: The spa is wonderful, great massages. Staff very accomodating. The lobby bar needs some live music at night or afternoon. It is almost always empty and it is very nice. Even a guitar player would be terrific. Tourists like Mexican music.
And remember unless you want to there is no tipping as the staff gets a share of the room revenue.

Room Tip: If you dont need a huge room go for the smallest. All have views. North side is noisey with the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwilson126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate all the feedback which help us to improve the service, we are working and taking corrective actions.

Hoping to have the honor to see you again in a near future in order to show you the improvements thanks your comments.

Receive our sincere greetings!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I just spent 3 nights in Mid-may at this hotel. It is very clean and well kept up. We were on the European plan (just the room) as we wanted to explore the city and thought that it was too expensive to add the all inclusive. Most people had the all inclusive and I saw many people running the wait staff ragged with their poolside food and drink request to "get their money worth".
They have movies to borrow and DVD players in the rooms which was a nice touch. The water in the hot tub was NOT HOT so this did bring down our enjoyment level. The bus system is very cheep 6.5 peso and easy to use. Do not bother with the taxi especially from the airport. Once you exit the airport walk our to the left to the street and at little further to the left is the bus stop. They run every minute or so and the 6.5 peso ride in the bus will cost you 130 peso in a taxi. The hotel in a few minutes away to the right and is a bright orange high rise building just down a side street with a sigh on the main road...it was very easy to spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate all the feedback which help us to improve the service, we are taking corrective actions related hot tub temperature.

Hoping to have the honor to see you again in a near future in order to show you the improvements thanks your comments.

Receive our sincere greetings!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We love this resort because of its location. We like to travel a lot during our stay to visit other surrounding areas and the sunset plaza has a great central location for doing just that. The rooms are really nice. The views and balconies are awesome. The food is ok, having said that I have never been to a resort anywhere where I enjoyed the food. I like eating at restaurants and local spots to get the real flavors of the area. Resorts always try to cater to their guests from other countries, and I go to Mexico to have local food, not a rendition of what I eat at home. Everything was clean and the staff was very kind a helpful. We did not spend a lot of time at the pool but on the first and last days we enjoyed the cabanas in the adult area, which was private, quiet and beautiful. We are going back for sure! There are so many hidden secrets of the area that with a car and a little adventure you can find what this region of Mexico really has to offer. Don't be a resort bum... take the time to meet the people, see the rest of the bay and experience Mexico!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tefaloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plato, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We recently spent our Honeymoon at Sunset Plaza in Puerto Vallarta. We had a wonderful time. The resort was excellent! We stayed 7 nights. The service was superb, they were always there if you needed anything. We did all-inclusive and the food and drinks were great. We were a little worried about their only being 2 restaurants and 1 cafe, however there were many options, and the food was very good. The entire resort was very clean. The king bed, two room suite we stayed in was also very clean. The room was very nice. (Too big for just 2 of us though :)) We could not stop talking about how nice the resort was and how pleasant and welcoming the staff was. The butlers were always there if we needed anything or had any quesitons. As this was our first trip to Mexico, we were a little nervous, however everyone at the resort was very helpful and assuring. The resort also had an activity director that hosted kayaking in the ocean, ping pong, dart tournaments, black jack, cooking lessons, volleyball, and even offered deals to go out on the town in the evening. We would recommend anyone to this resort, and plan on returning at some time!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean! Higher the floor the better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia-Sunset, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for expressing your opinion about your stay at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, we are always willing to welcome and pamper our guests as a commitment.

Thank you again for sharing your opinion and it will be our pleasure to welcome you in your next visit.

Receive a warm greeting from Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
6.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing