We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Beach Front Resort with Top-Notch Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 5-night stay at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort in Puerto Vallarta. This was our first adults-only vacation since our honeymoon in Cabo San Lucas back in 2005, so this was a much-needed getaway. The hotel was VERY nice and the staff was incredible – by far the best service I’ve ever received. The room itself was nice with a fairly simple/modern décor. We were on the 7th floor and had a great view. Every room is ocean-front and has a private balcony.

The hotel location was great – about a 2 mile walk south to the Malecon and a 2 mile walk north to the marina. We walked everywhere we went and felt very safe wherever we went (we did not go out at night however). There are a variety of activities rights there along the beach, including jet-skiing, fishing, para-sailing, etc. I tried para-sailing and the prices are a little cheaper as you walk north towards the marina. They will quote you $45-$50 but I was able to negotiate them down to about $35. We didn’t do any tours or activities through the hotel because we didn’t want to be bound by any time constraints.

We did the all-inclusive option and that made things so much easier by not having to worry about money while we were at the resort. We did exchange US Dollars for Pesos at the front desk of the hotel and would often tip 20-50 pesos, especially if a particular server had been taking care of us for a while.

Since we were all inclusive, we ate most of our meals at the resort. Most breakfast choices were great, my favorites being the omelet and the cinnamon French toast. Lunches were also good except for the hamburger (not sure what the patty was made of but it’s definitely not 100% beef). A few times we would just order their nachos with flank steak and ask for an extra side of chips/guac – soooo good! I’m a little surprised at the so-so reviews of Lucianos because we ate there twice and found the food to be quite delicious (admittedly though, I ordered the Filet both times).

The drinks were great and one of the servers recommended a Cabana (vodka or rum, orange juice, pineapple juice, banana, grenadine, crushed ice), which tasted just like a smoothie (see image) and was very refreshing after a long walk on the beach. They also made several types of margaritas (regular, strawberry, banana, mango), but my favorite was a Cadillac, which includes Grand Marnier. Be careful though because the service is so great, they will often keep the drinks coming and it’s easy to get carried away and drink a little too much!

The only real down-side to the resort was the lack of beach in front of the hotel. It wasn’t a major issue to us, but if we would have had our kids with us, we would have had to go elsewhere for some good beach-time. Fortunately there is a very nice beach about ½ to ¾ miles (10-15min walk) north of the hotel in front of some condos (see image). However, the on-site pools are very nice if you want to cool off and don’t want to worry about the sand.

All in all, this is a fabulous resort. I’m not sure when we’ll be taking our next trip to Mexico (hopefully sooner than 7 years), but if/when we come back to Puerto Vallarta, we’ll definitely stay at Sunset Plaza again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mswguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,443 - 2,449 of 3,327 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a week stay at the Sunset Plaza, and we both had a great experience! We were in a standard room on the 7th floor. For a standard room it was great! Ocean view balcony, very clean, nice linens and comfy (although firm) bed. The bathroom was nice & they use good quality toiletries as well. They stock the mini bar with 2 beers, 2 juices, 2 soda pops and snacks daily, which are included in the all-inclusive. Would be nice if they included coffee in the rooms.

All the public areas, both indoors and out, are very well maintained, clean and modern. The grounds are immaculate.

We were on the all-inclusive plan and are glad we were! The food was excellent 90% of the time. Fruits and veggies always fresh, and the quality of seafood was excellent! There were a few things that were slightly over or under cooked, but for the majority of the time we really enjoyed all of our meals. We preferred the main restaurant Mirador over the italian restaurant. It has more variety, and the food just seemed slightly better quality. Service in both restaurants and the pools was also top notch! Most of our servers (particularly Oscar, Ernesto, Daniel, Joann and Reynaldo) were very attentive and friendly. We ordered things that weren't on the menu a few times, and it wasn't a problem at all.

The drinks varied a little, depending on the bartender. But they would quickly correct anything that wasn't satisfactory. Most of the time drinks were great though. Servers were very prompt to make sure you had a cold drink when around the pool. We even got food and drink service on the beach.

While we typically prefer beaches over pools, we tended to spend more time at the pools. The beach area is okay, but the vendors were always there, and would constantly bug us. The main pool is beautiful. Although the adult pool was more chill, and we really enjoyed napping on the beds. Never had a problem finding good pool chairs or a bed.

The location is a little far from town, about a 45 minute walk, or a 10 minute bus ride. The buses are very easy though and only 65 cents, and run 24 hours a day.

We would definitely go back to Sunset Plaza, and hope to next year!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Just returned and we loved the place! Our room was spacious and clean. We had a suite on the 11th floor the view was fantastic and sitting on the porch SO enjoyable. The daily housekeeping was very good. Both items that I had read in reviews were true - no coffee and no paper towels but Ok that was about all it lacked. We loved the pool and the swim up bar. The beach was small and the vendors pesky so we stuck to the pool - it was awesome! But my tip - while waiting for your room on the 1st day ...use the free sunscreen, near the towels - we burned bad on day 1!!! We had any and all food ...room service, Mirador, Luciano, Deli, snacks at the pool ... all were good and I liked the ala carte over the buffet for sure!! Menus were not extensive - we ate at the Italian restaurant twice. The food was simple but good and service was great. Drinks around the pool were also good. I wish there would have been some advice in terms of tipping - we just were not sure when and how much was appropriate. Its funny how annoying it is at the end of a cruise to do the mandatory tips but that may have been helpful to assure everyone that served go their fair share?? We did not use our butler, and found the pressure to do the time share a little much but we did not do it -sorry. The location is awesome - easy to get a taxi or bus and a safe area to walk around too, There is a mall nearby we even saw a movie! Hunger Games with spanish subtitles! The rooms, the pool, the location and the value - all good! I would tell anyone I know to stay here!!

Room Tip: Everyone says get a suite and upper floor... we had a suite on the 11th and it was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wi_bay_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Plaza in February and it was not crowded at all. We were on the 9th floor, had first class accommodations and a killer view. Wow! The staff was incredible also. Anything we needed was taken care of and taken care of with a great attitude. The only minor complaint we had was in the limited selection for dining options at the resort. Once they get the other wings built and have more people staying there I'm sure that will take care of itself. It actually was not a big issue for us as we ate in town often. We do not partake of the all-inclusive plans at resorts if we can help it. Our greatest enjoyment is going out and experiencing the local cuisine and culture. That is another reason we like this resort, because it is close enough to town to just jump on the very inexpensive city buses and you are downtown in 5 minutes. Cabs are also only about $5 to most major destinations from this location. We will definitely return to Sunset Plaza.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBtravel425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

the hotel was very nice and clean and the people are very friendly that work there,if you need anything just ask.the food was good except for their hamburger not soo good.the french toast and the bread basket is a must.yum yum!!!! we had the all inclusive which made the trip much easier.their drinks are yummy the miami vice was great.my grandkids spent a lot of time up at the swimming bar!!they are only 11 and 8 and enjoyed their non booze drinks every day.

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor and it was just fine once in a while a little noisy but not that bad!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjfica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel and property certainly lived up to expectations and more. The rooms and view were awesome, the service great and the people friendly. We would return to both Puerto Vallarta and this resort. I really liked the fact that it was a la carte as opposed to buffet and even though the Italian restaurant wasn't great (c'mon it's Mexico folks, not Italy), it wasn't as bad as some made out either. None of us felt that the menu was limited or repetitive at the resort because they are always willing to make something off the menu if you ask, we found all the staff very friendy and accommodating. While we did the all inclusive plan we also went out for a couple of meals as well because we'd heard such great things about the restaurants in Puerto Vallarta (which proved to be true as well!). I honestly can't say a bad thing about our stay at the Sunset Plaza. We spent most of our time at the adult pool simply because we loved the beds, both pools were nice though. Loved, loved, loved it!

Room Tip: We had a room bedroom suite on the 4th floor. The best views are higher up but all the rooms are we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LynnandSteve13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were staying at the Sunset Plaza with a large group and everyone had an excellent time. The rooms and amenities were great, but what really made this hotel stand out was the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful during our entire stay. Also, we were lucky enough to have a suite on a higher floor and it was gorgeous, I would recommend asking for a high floor, and the suite was huge, plenty of room for the four of us (2 adults, 2 teenage children) to spread out.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chloto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,711 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
774 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,945 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,537 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $220 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing