We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get our "all-inclusive" meal/Terrible Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Didn't get our "all-inclusive" meal/Terrible Sleep”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our stay was terrible....not only did we have to change rooms at 1am in the morning due to party below us, we were denied our lunch meal because we were a few minutes past the 12:00 deadline for lunch on our check out day (they did not make us aware of this when we checked in). Though we were told we could have late check out at 1pm, when we tried to get our lunch, they told us we would be charged for the meal. Staying here was a VERY expensive mistake. There was no compensation for the interrupted sleep and to top it off, they didn't care that we missed our meal.

Room Tip: Beware...if there's a party close to your room, your going to hear it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier V, Resort Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2017
Dear Angie
We offer an apologize to you for the experience you had with us..
Please give us another chance to prove that Sunset Plaza is one of the best hotels in Puerto Vallarta.

Sincerely
Javier Vergara
(Resort Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,328
    614
    143
    47
    26
See reviews for
1,072
1,426
70
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Not only was this our first trip to Puerto Vallarta, but our first trip to Mexico period. From the moment we arrived at our resort, we knew that we had made the right decision by staying here. The rooms were beyond amazing with upscale amenities, features, and decor. We had a one bedroom suite which was more than enough room for the two of us. We each had our own private shower, a full-size kitchen, living room, and a HUGE balcony that overlooked the Pacific. The food was exceptional! We ate at the main restaurant outside every day and had three meals at the Italian restaurant, Luciano. The reviews on Luciano were not very good prior to our arrival, but we absolutely LOVED it! The service we received from the butlers, the wait staff, and concierge were above par. The drinks at the bar were delicious and the pools were just the right temperature. The maid staff was SO friendly and always made it a point to make sure our room was spotless every day. The aromatherapy that was sprayed in our room made us well so "at home" when we would come in each night. The spa services were exceptional as well and the massages that we received were the best ones we have ever had. This is a smaller and quiet resort, but was just what we had ordered for a week of fun and relaxation. We will HIGHLY recommend this resort to anyone that is looking for an affordable and upscale, luxury vacation. Thank you, Sunset Plaza, for making our first trip to Mexico a most memorable one!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We travelled to Puerto Vallarta Feb.21-29, 2012 with our 2 year old. It had been about 8 years since we'd been there & were surprised to see how much nicer Puerto Vallarta is. They have really cleaned it up! The Mallecon is beautiful! We felt safe everywhere we went, despite the bad publicity Mexico is getting these days.
We stayed at Sunset Plaza Resort. It was beautiful, clean & met all our expectations. We have travelled a lot & have stayed in all classes of hotels & this was one of the nicest rooms we've ever had! We had a suite that had a full kitchen, 2 full baths, living room, huge bedroom with ensuite & jacuzzi tub. It also had a huge balcony with gorgeous views of the ocean. Our son slept on the very comfortable pull-out couch in the living room.
The pools were amazing. Perfect water temperature. You do have to get up early if you want chairs with umbrellas. Loved the service we received from Gustavo. He was awesome & brought us lunch by the pool almost every day. Also enjoyed the cocktails at the pool bar. They always made sure to include our son when making drinks. The food was fantastic! Really good quality. Far superior to any other all inclusive in Mexico. Menus have a lot of selection. However, I did find I was bored of the food by day 5. I'm picky though. My husband loved it!
The kids club area is fun. Our child was too young to go there but they did let us use the play area all the time & he loved it there!
We didn't use the spa at the resort, but we did find several great massage places down the street for $25 US. They also offered cheap mani/pedis too. The gym at the resort is small but descent. The equipment was in great shape.
The location was perfect. $5 cab ride to the Mallecon or Marina & only 6 pesos on the bus. The Resort next door did get a little too noisy on the weekends but quieted down by 10pm.
I would certainly recommend this resort to those who are looking for a quiet vacation. It isn't a very lively place & doesn't have a show in the evening for those who enjoy that kind of thing. It was great for people with small kids or couples. It would also be good for those who are older or have dissabilities because of the elevators.

Room Tip: I would recommend no connecting room, we could hear our neighbors loud TV. Mind you, they could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misspiggy-kermitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Excellent hotel! We had a great time here, just the vacation we needed. Everything is so new, clean and pristine. The views from the rooms are amazing. They gave us a room on the 14th floor. The food was great, a la carte(didn't have to worry about any buffets) It was like eating in a nice restaurant 3 times a day. The pools are awesome, perfect temperature with little palapas with beds around the adult pool. There's three jacuzzis as well. The staff were great and so friendly. We walked in the front doors they sat us down and one of the butlers brought us a glass of champagne each and some cool face cloths. They treated us so well and the swim up bar is a great time too. The only thing I would suggest is some nighttime entertainment but if you just need some r & r its the perfect place. They had a wedding the weekend we were there so the service was a bit more sparse but as an apology they gave every guest a bottle of wine and I think they did quite well with the resources they had. I totally recommend this place, the nicest place I've ever stayed! (we met a lot of great guests too which made it that much better)

Room Tip: I probably would have splurged to get the deluxe suite had I known what they looked like. Absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank welshjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Pros:
- New and clean rooms!!
- Great massage!!
- Great, fast pool service at the adult pool (Alfredo and Patricia)
- Everything is new
- Pools aren't crowded
- Air conditioning works well
- Great view from rooms above the 5th floor
-Pools and hot tubs are clean
- Friendly staff
- cleaning ladies do a wonderful job

Cons:
- Food almost always arrives different that what the menu stated (ie chicken soup with rice arrived with no rice)
- Food almost always arrives different than what you ordered (ie ordered turkey sandwich with cheese and lettuce only and repeated order with person on the phone and it arrived with tomatoes and lots of mayo)
- no hot water on one day
- deli is super slow (but good!!!)
- often they are out of something (ie ice cream) then someone else brings it to you
- food service is super slow (other than at the adult pool) and often arrives cold or not at all
- food doesn't arrive at the same time
- Lots of vendors bothering you all day!!
- Some of the meat seems to be mystery meat (roast beef is a weird cured ham)
- Not enough food options

To summarize the food, no matter what is on the menu or what you order, it seems to be chef's choice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Veuropa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The hotel/resort has ALL ocean facing rooms - we had the luxury of a 2BR unit; one room had a King-sized bed and the other BR had 2 beds (queen or double) and a pullout sofa in the living room. Square footage of the suite was beyond expectations with the balcony off the living room and King-sized BR, spectacular with room for two lounge chairs and a dining table with 4 chairs. The full kitchen was well stocked and THREE bathrooms - making a group of 4 or more guests eternally happy. The master BR has a separate shower and toilet and a soaker jacuzzi tub with opening bi-folds which look out into the bedroom. Bathroom amenities were from Crabtree & Evelyn, hair-dryer, ironing board and electronic safe - all part of the suite. A complimentary assortment of pillows can be selected for your bedrooms and scents for aromatherapy can also be requested from your turndown staff.

Rooms and resort areas were well maintained (I believe this resort is just over a year old?) and the pool area expansive with a smaller separate pool for adults only. Three hot-tubs above the pool area are easily accessible (by staircases).

All staff from check-in to check-out were friendly, responsive and helpful, ranging from porters, concierges, waiters, front desk and cleaning personnel. We decided to do one day of all-inclusive - food at the open air bistro and at Luciano's (open for Italian dinners only on selected nights) were mixed - some dishes better than others; our preference was to take the local bus (6.5 pesos) down to some wonderful restaurants in the old town.

The only drawback to our entire stay was loud music from the neigbouring Plaza Pelicanos club section interrrupting the tranquil setting over the weekends. Guests seemed to be able to go on with enjoying their time despite the dance beats filling the air.

In summary, I would not hesitate to recommend this resort and be lucky to get at least a 1 BR suite in a hight floor - you will have no regrets!

Room Tip: High floor - all rooms are ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTravellerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I am going to write this review and agree/disagree with the previous reviews to help sum up the trip. If you are younger and looking for a party this is not the place for you. However, as a young couple(25) looking to just relax and get away it, it is perfect. The place was quiet but everyone was friendly and always made sure you had anything you wanted. The staff helped us celebrate our anniversary by sending us a cake. Food quality was excellent. Only the matador was open but they moved the Italian food to matador for one night of our stay. Views are excellent. I recommend getting a floor higher than the 5th. If you are a couple the two bed basic room is plenty.

Things you must do at the resort-
1.Kayak for free on the ocean
2.Get a massage- Quality is amazing and you have the option of getting done right on the beach- The cost is about the same as massage envy but so much better
3.Relax in the sun on a comfy bed- These are located by the adult pool and beach. Remember to wake up early to make sure you get your bed.
4. Interact with Alma, Miguel and Marco. They are very friendly and offer incredible service.
5. Take a trip to downtown. It is safe and I would recommend using public transportation one way and walking the other.
6. Ask the bartender for their special drinks and make them as high end as possible

Things to improve-
Butler service- It is very nice but there seems to be a miscommunication sometimes
Remember to order pillows and scents from butler as early as possible during the day.
Drinks are good but inconsistent. Possibly create a drink menu
Remember that all inclusive ends at 12PM they day you check out. They tell this to all the guests but some are still upset the day they leave.

Overall this was a great resort. For the price and service it can't be beat. Four Diamond hotel says it all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,440 reviews
6.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,871 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,376 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing