We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$338
$284
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$519
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$238
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$396
$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$185
$149
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$207
$154
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$271
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
$352
$324
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,509)
Filter reviews
3,509 results
Traveler rating
2,598
676
159
48
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,598
676
159
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager javierone bedroom suitemirador restaurantadult poolpersonal butlerbutler serviceitalian restaurantmain restaurantswim up barall inclusive packagekids clubthe hotel managerrooms face the oceanlarge balconyfull kitchenthe general managerocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,681 - 2,686 of 3,509 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Overall Sunset was a good value because it's in a nice location close to town, is a new clean property and all rooms feature ocean views. We were lucky enough to have a room on the 15th floor which offers an incredible view of the water and town as well.

Many reviews mention the butler service which I must clarify is really just a glamorized guest relations agent. They are very friendly but don't expect too much from them. Request are often lost somewhere between the butler and whomever needs to fill the request (housekeeping, etc).

Sadly the food was not a highlight. In fact, it was quite poor. Drinks were acceptable but nothing to brag about.

Sunset is only a good choice if it's at a great price. I doubt that I will return.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FussyCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Sunset and really enjoyed out stay. We had a one bedreeom suite and it large, comfortable, clean. Check in was quick and effiencient. They meet you with a cold cloth and a glass of champaign. The Vacation Club people tried a couple of times to talk to us, but we dodged them and after the first day never approached us again. When you get off the elevators there is an enterance to the right that does not cut through the lobby area.
The room was large and very nicely furnished. The jacuzzi has shutters that open so you can enjoy the ocean view. The bed was very comfortable, we could have used an extra blanket at night if the air was on. We slept a couple of nights with out air and the patio door open to enjoy the sounds of the waves at night. The kitchen is well equiped (does not have an oven). They provided coffee filters on request. We used the fridge and coffee maker and toaster. There are plenty of dishes. The bathroom is large and very nicely done. There are two bathrooms, lots of closet space and drawers. It was large and spacious, the furniture is comfortable. We loved the large balcony and had breakfast and coffee in the morning and watched the sun set at night.
We spent most of time at the adult pool on the comfortable beach beds. It was quiet and people for the most part were friendly. The hotel was only 50% full with only a few kids there, so it was quite and there were always lots of loungers and beach beds. The infinity pool was very nice, and not busy. I am not sure how it would be at full capacity or if there were a lot of kids at the hotel. I have a hunch that our experience would be different during holiday periods with lots of families. The children that were young and very well behaved.
There are tons of loungers around the pools and hot tubs. You have an excellet view of the beach from the higher hottubs. We didn't use the hot tubs, they didn't seem very hot.
The beach was nicer than I thought it would be. It is sandy and small rocks once you were in the water. We walked a long ways down the beach one morning...you have to climb over a few rock barriers but it wasn't difficult. We walked down to the Venitian Towers and then took the bus home. The climbs over the rock barriers seem steeper in the direction of downtown, but the vendors didn't have any problems.
Vendors were plentiful on the beach but left you alone once you said no a few times. If you show the least amount of interest in their product they can be relentless...if you don't look at their stuff they moved on quickly.
There are lots of staff to bring you anything you need. They came around a couple of times a day with cold towels and water. Drinks were served all day. We thought the service was excellent. The Butlers delivered what ever we asked for really quickly...no waiting. We didn't ask for a lot, but I felt like they would do anything possible to meet your request. We weren't on all inclusive and there was no issue with us brining a beer, or snacks to the pool. We loved sitting on our large balcony as the sun set every night. If you are not doing AI there is a Mega down the road and a Sorriana in the other direction.
There is a small shopping area, Villa Vallarta right next door, there is an exit/enterance on the south side of the hotel that is steps away from a beer store, a couple of restaurants and massage spas etc. This was much easier than going out the front door We ate at Blakes Sports Bar and the food was fantastic. We went in to town a couple of mornings and every evening. Restaurants in the PV are amazing...;lots of great seafood restaurants. Our taxi rides ranged from 50 pesos (beginning of the Malecon) to 80...far end of the Malecon. Most of the time we walked to corner to catch a cab instead of having them call one to the hotel, we found it quicker not really that much cheaper. Our trip back to the airport was 80 Pesos compared to the 20 US$ to get us there. The only complaint we had was we deceided to have lunch at the hotel on our last day and the prices were crazy. It was our most expensive meal and the least enjoyable. They charged us $5 per glass of fountain pop and the refill was not free...so our pop cost us $20. Close to the same price of blender drinks. I had the fish and chips and my husband has the fish burrito. The food did not compare the food we enjoyed in any of the restaurants. If you are not on All Inclusive I would be careful of the prices (they aren't posted anywhere). We have no regrets not doing all inlclusive and when we return would still opt for EP Plan. The drinks at the bar were expensive but not outragerous...the fountain pop was crazy. Beer and food at the stores is good and affordable!

Room Tip: I think the one bedroom is worth the extra price...it was amazing, large, clean and comfortable
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judyedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Staying here now actually. Day 6 and don't want to leave Saturday back to Chicago. Super friendly staff and feel like home vs. impersonal resort often experience at Westin or Marriott. First day the spa folks were a bit overly pushy but they backed off and nothing but best rate service since then. Ivan our butler even tracked down Almond milk for baby with allergy. Was amazed. Alma and Gustavo at pool nice and Diego the pool butler is great young man also. Always making sure you have everything need.

Cecelia such amazing woman the resort should make her employee of year. She has biggest heart.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RatsoverboardChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a great place for the money! The staff did a great job! There was only two complaints and out of these only one major one! The small one being the mini bar was in are package and a few times the dud not restock it! This seemed to happen when most the regular staff had the day off. The next being the location of it there was a lot of noise at night! All and all they seem to be on the right path!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Masterviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena23738, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Dear Guest

We really appreciate all the feedback which help us to improve the service and also offered to you a sincere apology for the inconveniece during your stay, we are taking corrective actions relate it.

Hoping to have the honor to see you again in a near future.

Receive our sincere greetings!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a relatively small prpoerty as far as the number of rooms go (112) but the grounds are beautiful, well kept and lacking nothing...Adult, family and kids pools with a separate kids play area....No buffet but the food is excellent, made to order and on or off the menu they will prepare it for you! Staff is attentive and friendly and there are no real organized activities that they try to drag one into,,,,the one bedroom suite is the way to go-it is enormous and lacks nothing!!!!! All rooms are ocean front view...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcgraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena23738, General Manager Assistant at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa trough TripAdvisor, it help us to continue providing the highest quality service.

Hoping to have the honor to see you again in a near future.

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews