We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come Here Before It's Discovered By All!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come Here Before It's Discovered By All!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We booked our late March trip here simply because it seemed to be the best deal with the highest ratings. Wow! Was it ever! We were immediately impressed when we were greeted with drinks and our butler who took us around the resort and offered several services, including a pillow menu, scent menu, restaurant tips, and offered his help in absolutely anything we needed. We were thoroughly satisfied with the amenities such as the bars, pools, beach area, morning yoga, dining options and the list goes on! The drinks and food were absolutely 5 stars, freshly prepared with every order. The service was great as well. Although, it wasn't as "fast" as we might have been used to in the USA, it was nice to sit back, slow down and just enjoy being on vacation. We have been to other all inclusive resorts and this one doesn't even compare. They take the "buffet" feel out of it and make everything personalized for guests. Every room here has an ocean view balcony. Absolutely fabulous! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone I know and hope I can someday return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taramaste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,218
    592
    136
    45
    25
See reviews for
1,014
1,371
67
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days (Apr1-6) and absolutely loved it! Go before other find out about this place!

This was our first all-inclusive experience and it was excellent!...perhaps ruining any other future all-inclusive experiece for us. The food was fresh, diverse, and a la carte. Simply amazing since I was expecting buffet style fare. You are not limited to "house" drinks. They are made on the spot and anything you want. Anything!

The entire staff is excellent!

Just go! Now!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garnettguy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

A wonderful resort. Great location. Amazing service. If you are thinking about booking a trip to Puerto Vallarta and are diligently searching the on-line reviews and rankings of the various resorts/hotels (like we did)… you can STOP NOW! Book an all-inclusive at Sunset Plaza. You will have a wonderful time and you will be blown away by the service and the food (and the drinks too)!

We spent 4 nights at Sunset Plaza in late March/early April. We still haven’t figured out how we were able to find such an incredible deal. We have visited quite a few warm weather destinations and Sunset Plaza far exceeded our expectations. We learned that Sunset Plaza will be growing rapidly (currently 1 tower; 2 additional towers will be added in the next 2 years or so), which could be a good thing or a bad thing. Hard to tell. No matter what the future holds, Sunset Plaza is currently a wonderful place to visit.

Our two favorite things about Sunset Plaza: (1) The service; and (2) The food. SERVICE: The staff at Sunset Plaza is second to none. We’ve stayed at all-inclusive resorts before and although we’ve always experienced “friendly” service, the staff at Sunset Plaza goes the extra mile. There are no plastered-on, fake smiles like at some other places. The staff seemed genuinely happy to have us as guests. The staff members who made our stay especially enjoyable were Iban and Guille at the pool bar (Iban even walked down to the beach while were swimming in the ocean to see if he could get us another drink; Guille was the happiest and friendliest server we’ve ever encountered), Raphael the waiter (very friendly, genuine and helpful) and Charlie (he’s the best Mixologist on staff- he makes amazing drinks). FOOD: We like to eat at nice restaurants as often as we can afford. I don’t think we’re snobbish my any means, but we’re definitely opinionated about food. The food at Sunset Plaza blew us away. No buffets. No pre-assembled snack bar food. The Chef is doing great things and we didn’t expect to eat so well at an all-inclusive resort. Red Snapper. Swordfish. Beef Short Ribs. Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon. Tuna Sashimi. Steak and Eggs Breakfast Burritos. Ratatouille. Astounding!

Our room was spacious and immaculately clean. The bathroom water pressure and water temperature were great. We didn’t use the flat screen TV much, but it was a nice addition to the room. We were almost wishing for one cloudy day so we could take advantage of the free DVD rental (on the other hand, we were satisfied with sunny skies every day). The butler service is second to none (a pillow menu; a “scent” menu for your evening turndown service; pre-dinner shoe shining; and dinner or tennis reservations with a quick phone call; taking a guest’s football HOME in order to inflate it with air!). Book an all-inclusive at Sunset Plaza, you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MUMM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

This resort is gorgeous and the staff create a welcoming an warm atmosphere. They are attentive without being obtrusive. Dario, our butler followed thru on any/all inquiries we had. Cab rides to the marina, local restaraunts, and downtown are around $5 and they are happy to summons a cab with a moments notice. The cabana massages with Alejandra are wonderfully relaxing and both therapeutic if you request/pay for a deeper massage. Her supervisor stayed well past her time to go home one evening as she assisted numerous couples with questions/schedules....she discreetly tucked her purse under the desk and kept a smile on her face. We appreciate the spa's attention to detail, the linens are even dreamy! Antonio was a delightful soul to spend mornings with as he instructed us into wonderful yoga poses seaside! The poolside bar was fabulous, but we found ourselves in the poolside and beachside cabanas more often...where we sipped on freshly squeezed juice cocktails, freshly prepared pina coladas (no mixes!) and the most wonderful homeade salsa and tortilla chips. The bartenders were GREAT! both in personality and mixing ability. They were delighted to offer suggestions. Sorry I don't remember any of their names...I guess they did TOO good of a job! They do want to introduce you into the timeshare structure, but it is very low pressure and they do not mention it again. We enjoyed our conversations with the lovely concierge girls. The wait staff work very hard to make your meals wonderful. Seating was always available. Wait times for meals were acceptable for the price we are currently paying, but as they are aware of, need some improvement. The atmosphere while you wait is spectacularly calming, so it did not bother us a bit. The food was ALWAYS worth any wait. As many have mentioned, the beef is very tender. There are fresh veggies and well-prepared fresh menu items, including fresh squeezed vegetable juices! The chefs are fabulous and we are appreciative of their attention to quality food items. Wonderful architecture, in that every room has a comfortable balcony with ocean view. We saw dolphins and whales and boats galore. It is a very relaxing resort with benign background music to enjoy or easily override with your ipod. The water was a bit variable in our shower as well, but nothing we couldn't jump out of the way of for a second. I am sure they are working to resolve this, as they seemed to be making improvements daily. In fact, we enjoyed the entire experience so much we just booked another trip and are returning soon for another stay while they are offering the all-inclusive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacret34
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We are just returning from Sunset Plaza as of March 31st! And I cannot say enough good things about this place or our stay!

From the warm greetings, down to the accommodations ! Food was fantastic ,some of the best I have ever had!

Just to do a few name dropping, we loved Julio, Jesus, David and our wonderful swim up bar tender Evan!

We cannot wait to go again. If you have any doubts, don't it's fantastic!!!! An absolute 4 star place

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seacret34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Nebraska, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

For my first time to Mexico I would recommend Sunset Plaza to anyone! We where there for 4 nights and loved every minute of it. Every employee was very nice and helpful, especially Dario, our butler. I proposed to my girlfriend while we where there and he help me with the planning. He moved all our stuff to a suite while we where gone and also set up a nice table by the ocean with candles and champagne for when we got back. It was perfect! He went out of his way to make our stay memorable. We are already planning to go back for our honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days in early March . I think my favorite thing was how few people were there . However this increased at the weekend . When the next part of the hotel is built I do not think Id go back . Until then I plan to make a few more visits. The food was great , too great !! bring bigger clothes to travel home in ! The staff were very helpful . I found it hard to know who and when to tip with it being an all inclusive. I would recommend this hotel highly having stayed in Vallarta a few times. Good for all ages . Not much entertainment in the evenings but nightclubs etc close for those that want that sort of thing . The beach is not huge but it was great for us to lounge about on , we were not looking for miles of beach . Some websites are pushing the hotel being newly built , so Id spend some time searching for deals .

The only problem we had which was not the hotels fault was the car we rented through them with National rent a car " Never again will I use National again. We were quoted a price and without dragging the story out ripped off by a very rude man who lied about all sorts of things .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsygirlforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
6.0 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the master key to Paradise at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort All Inclusive & Spa. Our suites and rooms are designed with technology and comfort inspirited décor. Each one of these units features an amazing ocean view. Seduce your senses with our exclusive all inclusive plan, Haute cuisine, Premium Drinks, 24-Hour Butler and the most beautiful Puerto Vallarta Sunsets, all in one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing