We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and delicious”
Review of Alaska's Diner - CLOSED

Alaska's Diner
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Alaska's Diner is cozy, affordable, friendly and a favorite of the locals. Featuring Steaks, Thai Curries, Fresh Fish, Shepherds Pie, Chili Dogs and lots more comfort and different selections. Located in Old Town near the Tunnel. The slogan is Never Fast but Always Good. It really is all about the love.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I always make it a point to eat at Alaska Diner on every trip to Puerto Vallarta. The food is great, the prices are reasonable, and the atmosphere is fun and laid back.
Roger, the owner, is always fun and entertaining too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best of the North Down South”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from PV and the Diner was the best find in years
Roger is a great host and the service is wonderful
Food is EXCELLENT
Look forward to returning next year for more good times and great food

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alaska's Diner is a gem!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and myself tour to Vallarta annually, and two or three years ago a friend took us there. Alaska's Diner is an absolute gem that is almost hidden among the quiet streets of Old Vallarta. The owner....Roger,is a class act,and the food is second to none. We've eaten here several times and have always found the meals to be substantial and very well done. Prices are great but more importantly is the ambience. With the collection of locals and ex-pats that seem to assemble here,the place has got a great "feel".....and I've been made to feel truly welcome. My wife and myself always look forward to dropping in to eat and visit whenever we are in Puerto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bearblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucerias, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“prime rib!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A group of us from Bucerias, both expats and snowbirds, make the trek to Alaska's once a month for the prime rib.
It is a great little spot run by a fun fellow named Roger. The prime rib is always good, served with mashed potatos, gravy, a litle corn on the cob and a roll. Since that is wha everyone has on prim rib night, service is super fast.
Drinks are reasonably priced and the rest of the menu looks good.
Just walk up Lazaro Cardenas and it is on the left. A little hard to see, but it's there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sioux4noff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly people”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We literally stumbled into this restaurant because we needed help. Our keys were locked in our car and Roger and his staff couldn't do enough or be more solicitous of our needs. As he planned his prime rib dinner menu for the next night, I understood why all of his seatings were reserved and people would be coming by to join Roger for his 5th year anniversary of the Alaska's Diner. Based on our experience, a lot hinges on the foods that Roger serves, his reasonable prices and sincerity, Roger will be celebrating many more anniversaries, and we intend to become one of his "foodies" who go there on a regular basis.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank judm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska's Diner also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing