We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alaska's Diner is a gem!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaska's Diner - CLOSED

Alaska's Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: American, Diner, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Alaska's Diner is cozy, affordable, friendly and a favorite of the locals. Featuring Steaks, Thai Curries, Fresh Fish, Shepherds Pie, Chili Dogs and lots more comfort and different selections. Located in Old Town near the Tunnel. The slogan is Never Fast but Always Good. It really is all about the love.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alaska's Diner is a gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and myself tour to Vallarta annually, and two or three years ago a friend took us there. Alaska's Diner is an absolute gem that is almost hidden among the quiet streets of Old Vallarta. The owner....Roger,is a class act,and the food is second to none. We've eaten here several times and have always found the meals to be substantial and very well done. Prices are great but more importantly is the ambience. With the collection of locals and ex-pats that seem to assemble here,the place has got a great "feel".....and I've been made to feel truly welcome. My wife and myself always look forward to dropping in to eat and visit whenever we are in Puerto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bearblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“prime rib!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

A group of us from Bucerias, both expats and snowbirds, make the trek to Alaska's once a month for the prime rib.
It is a great little spot run by a fun fellow named Roger. The prime rib is always good, served with mashed potatos, gravy, a litle corn on the cob and a roll. Since that is wha everyone has on prim rib night, service is super fast.
Drinks are reasonably priced and the rest of the menu looks good.
Just walk up Lazaro Cardenas and it is on the left. A little hard to see, but it's there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sioux4noff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We literally stumbled into this restaurant because we needed help. Our keys were locked in our car and Roger and his staff couldn't do enough or be more solicitous of our needs. As he planned his prime rib dinner menu for the next night, I understood why all of his seatings were reserved and people would be coming by to join Roger for his 5th year anniversary of the Alaska's Diner. Based on our experience, a lot hinges on the foods that Roger serves, his reasonable prices and sincerity, Roger will be celebrating many more anniversaries, and we intend to become one of his "foodies" who go there on a regular basis.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank judm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hidden Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I love going to Alaskas! The food and drinks are always cheap. All the locals come and gather here to have a good time with friends. The owner Roger is a blast and makes the best steak in Vallarta!!! His dinner specials are always good and under $10. Great atmoshphere and home cookin food at Alaskas Diner!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joaquin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ex-Pat Hangout, Diner and Dive... Excellent Value, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is not the Ritz Carlton, and nowhere will you find a Michelin rated chef, but if Guy Fieri showed up in Puerto Vallarta this would definitely be a stop for his TV show Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. This Hole in the Wall restaurant is run old school by an Ex Pat by the name of Roger... Not only does he shop daily for the food, he prepares the food as well, and his one stop shop features old style comfort foods that bring back memories for the customers who long to go back to the States or Canada... The specialty of the house is a once a month Prime Rib fest featuring beautiful cuts of meat and great flavors, served with corn on the cob and mashed potatoes and gravy. This night sells out as it is once a month... Other menu items feature a fresh fish, cooked to perfection, and usually a steak dinner. There is a house chile, (which has beans) that is packed with flavor, and though I would not personally put this chile on a hotdog, I would most definitely bath a bowl of rice or pasta in it and you would have the most wonderful slice of Americana... The Chicken Wings are not your typical wings, but then again the menu is eclectic and deservedly so. The Chicken and Curry is very good, and they even offer Shepherds Pie. Beer and wine as well as a bar is available. Beer is priced right as happy hour runs till about 8pm I think. Wine is priced super fairly, and the selection is very drinkable. You can tell Roger puts a lot of effort into running his restaurant. The decor could definitely be much nicer, but then again what is wrong with a restaurant covered in blue? There is a projection screen for movies and sports, and music when nothing is on TV! As a tourist visiting Vallarta, I dont know if this would be my first stop, but if someone comes to Vallarta enough, and is looking for something different, then this is a great place. Also if you live in Vallarta and miss your home cooked food, Alaska's Diner is the place to come to get your fixings... I like the fact that there are specials every day of the week... and the prices are fair, if not inexpensive! If you are a tourist and want to try an Ex-Pat hangout check this place out, if you live in Vallarta, it is worth visiting and returning. Roger does not disappoint and nor does Alaska's Diner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska's Diner also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing