We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #47 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Booked this hotel for a quick, inexpensive night in Old Towne recently. Only had one night and wanted to be in the heart of things. This was a PERFECT choice. Everything was exactly as promised. The service at the front desk was efficient and friendly. Our room was small, but offered everything we needed and the bed was so comfortable. The art work through out this boutique hotel is beautiful. We loved the location -- such a vibrant neighborhood with galleries, little shops, and a great market. The hotel is just steps away from the Malecon (boardwalk), the great restaurants in the Romantic Zone, the cathedral, and all the other great attractions of this area.

What really sets this hotel apart was the amazing service we received from the owner/manager. As we were checking out, Carlos introduced himself and chatted with us for a moment. We needed to purchase a prepaid cell phone and he directed us to a local store. Unfortunately, the girl at the store spoke NO English. My husband walked backed to the hotel, spoke with Carlos again and he came to the store personally to help us through the process. He was so helpful and kind -- even gave us his cell phone # to call if we encountered any problems or needed anything at all while in Mexico!

If you're planning a visit to Puerto Vallarta and want a quaint, clean & comfortable hotel in a great location -- this is it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwhitwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    107
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
45
143
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for one evening prior to checking into a timeshare we had reserved in Nueva Vallarta (the Grand Mayan). We wanted to spend a little time in Old Town Vallarta - and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. At the end of our vacation, our stay at the Mayan was so bad - my kids actually said they wished we had just stayed at Hotel Catedral the entire time we were in Vallarta.

Note: They don't have hotel parking. If you rent a car, you'll be parking on the street.

Room Tip: The AC is from a split unit - very cold, but also kind of loud. If you have trouble sleeping through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MLHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Hotel Catedral is a small, boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. A great location near El Mercado and a quick walk to the famous catedral make this one of the best located hotels to stay in. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are wonderful. If you can, get the top room, a wonderful suite. The owner and manager Carlos was terrific, making sure he got to know all his guests, spending time with us and sharing stories. The hotel has free coffee, tea and cookies and has a small gift shop. Prices are terrific, comparable with other older hotels but you get so much more. We'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeffobrien65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hotel Catedral is a small, boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. A great location near El Mercado and a quick walk to the famous catedral make this one of the best located hotels to stay in. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are wonderful. If you can, get the top room, a wonderful suite. The owner and manager Carlos was terrific, making sure he got to know all his guests, spending time with us and sharing stories. The hotel has free coffee, tea and cookies and has a small gift shop. Prices are terrific, comparable with other older hotels but you get so much more. We'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffobrien65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel really enriched my stay in Puerto Vallarta. When I first arrived I was given a room where the safe did not work. I was taken to a second room where the safe also did not work, however the third room had a newer safe that was operable. My stay, after that shaky beginning, was excellent. This is not a luxury hotel (if you want one of those, be prepared to pay $100 more per night) but was very comfortable, well appointed and spotless. Its location could not be beaten (unless you want to be right on the beach). The staff was very courteous, helpful and patient. Carlos, the hotel manager, will do anything he can to make your experience a pleasant one. He recommended a family-owned restaurant (El Campanario) three blocks down the street in front of the Cathedral. It is very simple and has no air conditioning. Eat there. For less than $10 you can't get better or more authentic Mexican food. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All roomsregardless of location, will be subject to some external noise because the location is in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boneman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is of an older style, however - good location, clean rooms, air conditioning, comfy beds plus a pillow menu, friendly staff, complimentary internet. The only downside was that the bathroom lacked shelving.

The room was called Amore, Amore, Amore - which didn't quite suite the two single friends, but it gave us a good laugh :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goca_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

my brotherinlaw and i stayed there in february . we were very happy with the staff and hotel. it was clean,and bright.if you are looking for good value, great location, nice hotel,give this place a try.( ps for the price this is a great deal)

Room Tip: pick a room with a balcony, they look out onto the street with shops, and lots of action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jburian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#40 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#34 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#19 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#67 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Property: Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing