We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovering Puerto Vallarta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Having spent time on a resort(Mayan Palace) last fall decided that we would rather experience P.V. in a realistic way. Found and booked the Catredal online. It is not comparable to a 5 star resort, but more than makes up for it in location and friendliness.
Met several people who make this hotel their destination while in P.V. Can understand why they return. Would not discourage anyone from spending time at the Catredal while exploring the charm of the real Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard room to escape strret noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Les O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 374 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

Good location to enjoy Old Vallarta vibrant (night)life. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nicely decorated but the bathroom outdated, too small and with a few glitches.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We've stayed in Puerto Vallarta for 3,5 weeks and booked the "Cielito Lindo" room at Hotel "Catedral Vallarta". Very nice room, but needs some renovation. Bit by bit, they'll get there.
Room; Good bed, nice tv, not modern furnished, but very clean.
The staff of this hotel is very friendly and helpful.
Doesn't matter if it's the reception, the cleaning-ladies, or the director, they're all very professional and wonderful to there guests.
If we go again to PV, we will stay with them!!!
We as long-stay guests can really recommend this hotel.

Hasta la proxima vez, Carlos y todo el personal.
Saludos de; Leo y Mark.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank markleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Jenifer and I returned to the Hotel Catedral Vallarta for 7 nights in March 2012, exactly a year after our previous visit. This charming 21 room hotel was created new only a couple of years ago but has the feel of a place that has welcomed travelers for a while. The rooms are individually decorated with artwork from the decorative pillows, to fabric coverings, wall hangings and paintings - all tasteful and all available for sale if you just need to have it. A just-opened rooftop area with chairs and views is available to all guests. The beautiful and iconic Catedral de Nuestra Señora is two blocks away and tolls the bells regularly.
The staff is wonderful and cannot be more friendly or welcoming. On arrival you choose from a pillow menu and toiletries scents menu as you sip on a refreshing drink called Jamaica. The hotel is two short blocks from the newly re-constructed 3/4 mile long Malecon-a seaside walk that you can navigate safely, with the ocean on one side and numerous shops and restaurants opposite, and also winds to the south into Viejo Vallarta.
A ten minute stroll south from the hotel will take you to a sister property, The Emperador, where you can use the beachfront chairs, have a meal and secure towels from the staff of the new Si Señor restaurant that is excellent and fronts the property.
We have stayed in two different rooms at the Hotel Catedral. Both have fans and a/c units called mini-splits that are very efficient and not the noisy, hung-in-the-windows type that some hotels have. All rooms feature one or two double beds. Both of ours also had very useable kitchenettes and large-screen tv's with at least 70 channels, many in English. Both also had walk-in shower units, in-room safes, tables and comfortable seating. Free cellphones for local or in-room hotels calls are available for guests.
Guests of the hotel mingle and chat in the gaily decorated, oasis-like central court where free hot beverages and cookies are available mornings. This courtyard is incredibly welcoming whenever you return, and the front desk is staffed 24/7. During our stay we met guests from the United States, Canada, Italy, Mexico and more. One couple from Quebec that we had met in 2011 were in their final two weeks of a 10 week stay hereat the hotel.
The hotel makes a great place to take a morning and/or evening walk thru the neighborhood, and stroll to the beach, restaurants or one block to the incredibly frequent buses that go almost anywhere for 6.5 pesos.
We are great fans of Puerto Vallarta and its friendly, lovely people. You will feel AND be safe. There are tons of activities and things to do (or not do!!). Staying in the downtown area at the Hotel Catedral makes our time in PV even more special. Me Gusta Vallarta! More please!

Room Tip: They are all colorful and uniquely decorated. "Double Doubles" have two beds and may be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Location is excellant, easy walk to Malecon and beach. But this central location is noisy.
Room was clean but sparsely furnished and beds not comfortable. Hot water for shower took a long time.
Room definitely not renovated. WiFI was not always available with No phone service.
Door on room did not give a secure feeling.

Room Tip: Rooms away from staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Highly recommended. We stayed for a week with our two 4 year olds. Carlos was often on-sight and helpful. His staff was wonderful. Thank you Marco, Mara, Yailin and the other ladies who keep the place clean and running well.

Room Tip: We had a room with a small kitchen and with kids this made a big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed but one night prior to leaving for home and wanted to satay downtown close to the Ocan, shops and restaurants. Hotel Catedral is in an EXCELLENT location for it all. The hotel is very clean, serene, comfortable with great outdoor areas for lounging. Service was fantastic with friendly greetings when you walk in to great assistance with any of your needs. The hotel is a basic old style Spanish hotel so don't expect alot of frills and spaciousness like in a big resort. It has exactly what you need with the personal touches from the staff and the decor. Just as described on their website. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VernandMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#81 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#43 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#61 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $36 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing