We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Took Excellent Care of Us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I had a reservation here for a room with two beds. Unfortunately, on arrival, the only room available had just one bed. The manager on duty at the time brought us cool drinks as we sat in the lobby waiting for a resolution of some kind. Soon, he came over with the news that he'd found another nearby hotel for us and already took care of the arrangements. He literally carried our luggage for us and walked with us the 1.5 blocks to another hotel and got us registered there. He even carried our luggage up the stairs and into the room at the other hotel. So while I didn't actually get to stay here, I was completely impressed with the care that they took to make sure we had a nice place to stay. And he offered us an upgrade at his hotel if we ever visit the city again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VeganCaptioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 371 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

We loved the Hotel Catedral. The location couldn't have been better; three blocks to the beach and right in the middle of good shopping and awesome food.
The hotel itself was very nice. The grounds were kept very clean and lobby had free computers to use and coffee in the morning. The rooms were clean and spacious. They had free wifi and the AC worked very well.
The best thing about the Hotel Catedral was the customer service. The front desk people were always friendly and helpful, but the hotel manager, Carlos, went above and beyond...As we were checking in to our airline at the airport to fly home, my wife realized she had left her wallet in the safe in our room. We realized we didn't have enough time to take a cab back to the hotel and still make our flight. When I called the hotel, the manager located the wallet and OFFERED to personally bring it to us at the airport. Thirty minutes later Carlos arrived with the wallet. Talk about Customer service! Thank You Hotel Catedral!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs! The churc bells ring several times a night and are quite loud since it is so close!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is a pretty basic hotel. It is clean and they are very nice there. The room we got does not look like some of the fancy ones in the pictures, but we were satisfied. It would be nice if the rooms had a mini fridge, but other than that I really can't complain. The hotel offers free internet access if you need it and they do have coffee, tea, and cookies in the mornings. The best thing about this hotel is the location. You cannot beat it. Very safe area and easy to get around. very close to the beach walk. The hotel does indicate that they have a deal with one of the hotels where you can use that beach. However, when we were there that hotel was being renovated and it was a little confusing to try to find the beach we were allowed to use. When we did we were not super impressed, but to be honest the pvr beaches are not great in general. Overall I would recommend this hotel. It was really quite charming.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

A business trip to Guadalajara late one week seemed silly not to end by a side trip/weekend to Puerto Vallarta, so my wife flew down Fri afternoon and we stayed the weekend here. Neither of us had ever been to PV, so I did what research I could, and based on the location and great reviews, I booked this hotel - and we weren't disappointed. We prefer to walk most everywhere, and we don't cotton much to the high-rise "gringo" hotels - and this one was exactly what we hoped - situated right down in the "old downtown" area, lively, lots of little shops and local restaurants, and very convenient (couple of small blocks) to El Malecon and the Pacific - and though not right on a sandy beach, it's only a few blocks away. Rooms are very large by outside-the-USA-standards, and a great value, though we did think the mattresses a little too firm (bordering on hard). Nice artwork and tile, nice little dinette set...very cute and homey. Not much room to set stuff around the bathroom sink, but a nearby linen closet shelf worked. AC and ceiling fans worked perfectly, and very quietly.
Check-in took a bit longer than I expected, but the rest of the weekend, the friendly woman at the desk was very helpful, and checkout was painless. We'd absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more stairs to climb...but the better the view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BuckeyeBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a total of 8 days. A wonderful place to stay. They have all what is needed. Perfectly functioning A/C unit,, Free Wi-Fi, bed (a bit uncomfortable but otherwise doable-we own a tempur-pedic at home so it was quite a change), bathroom was odd but we took it in as it is, daily housekeeping (expensive hotels do not do that) and we looked forward on coming home everynight knowing that we will be smelling that new and clean bedsheets, VERY, VERY clean and most of it all, great staff who are always willing to help in any way. We definitely will go back there the next time we visit.

Room Tip: I believe we were on the east side of the hotel or to make it easier to understand, room is located...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pilipinas604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catedralpv, Manager at Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Gracias ! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with so many future travelers. While reading your review I am happy to realize that we are achieving our goals, with what we decided from day 1, to be our "Basics" at Hotel Catedral.
#1 Cleanliness Over all, all the time
#2 A good firm Bed / Hipo allergenic Mattresses ( I am sorry it was a bit uncomfortable for you)
#3 A silent and effective AC (We equipped each room with brand new Mini Split Units)
#4 Free Internet /Wi-fi and Complimentary High Speed connection at the Lobby
#5 A Safety Security Box in your room
#6 And this one I inlcuded as an extra... A good HD TV (We do have 27 to 32" HDTV´s) 72 channels for you.
looking forward to your next visit. Hasta la vista !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This hotel has a lot of character. The reception and courtyard have great ambiance and very Mexican feel to them.

The rooms are on the small size, and the bathrooms are a little odd with the hand basin within the shower. The rooms are equipped with a great tv, aircon and a ceiling fan. They also had an in room safe, but it was mounted vertically so it was difficult to put things in.

The staff were very friendly and always helpful.

The location was outstanding. Right in the heart of "old" Puerto Vallarta. The main cathedral, town square, markets and malecon (beach side walk) are all within a two minute walk. There´s also a couple convenient stores nearby and it´s on a quiet street.

One of the downsides to this hotel are the rooms could do with some sound proofing. While it´s a very quiet hotel, we could still hear people people talking in the courtyard, or the closing of doors. Also the rooms smelt of humidity. You get used to it, but when you first walk in it´s quite strong.

But overall, well worth the price and you can´t beat the location!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank danm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Hotels.com, weekend rate US$40, very close to everything, clean and simple renovated rooms, firm beds. but very noisy bar next door till 2 a.m. in the morning, the church bell drove me crazy, every 15 minutes 1, 2 3 or 4 times during the hour and every full hour for the exact time, some construction still going on on the 4th floor.
if you want a decent night sleep find another place.
if you like to party into the whee hours - this is the place to be, close to everything. MeuterMedia

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#16 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#84 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#61 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#42 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Hidalgo Centro 166 | Between Libertad st. y Agustín Rodríguez st., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $36 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing