We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go there the first day of arrival, you won't be sorry.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Polo's

Restaurant Polo's
Ranked #70 of 981 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Known for seafood but eclectic
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go there the first day of arrival, you won't be sorry.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Consistently good quality. My personal favorite is the Marinara Mahi Mahi, stuffed with octopus, scallops, cheese, onions and bell pepper, wrapped with bacon and served with shrimp sauce. This dish is currently 142mp and worth every peso. Another great option is the Kevin, cheese stuffed shrimp, wrapped with bacon. The Chile Relleno stuffed with smoked marlin and cheese is a great different twist. If you have room, the coconut flan is wonderful. The service here is impeccable. Hard to find but worth the effort.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    111
    32
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great place! This little gem is out of the mainstream tourist route but well worth the extra walk. My soul mate and I had the whole red snapper and it is awesome. It was cooked perfectly. A lot of places tend to overcook fish but not Polo's. I wanted some queso fundido which wasn't on their appetizer menu but they made me some. Our waiter was very courteous and helpful. I highly recommend you try this restaurant while in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AHollis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Old Town- Great Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

After spending a few weeks in PV I found a true gem in Old Town. MP's has the best seafood and at very reasonable prices. It is family owned and they treat you like family with great service. The shrimp wrapped in bacon was something we ordered for every visit. Hector's Mahi-Mahi was also delicious and consider the seared fish with mole. This will be the first place I visit when I return to PV.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chicagobackpacker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The food at Polo's is truly excellent - you wont be disappointed. Margaritas are great too! Our waiter was very professional and fun. We'll come back next time in Vallarta!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank omegaman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Restaurant in Old Town, Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just returned from another trip to Puerto Vallarta and had to share that Polo's remains at the top of our list for anything to do with shrimp! We love the Shrimp Kevin! The fish is always fresh and the preparations are excellent. The food is simply delicious. It's a small place so make sure you call ahead otherwise you may not get in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nutbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Polo's also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Restaurant Polo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing