We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood for 1!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Polo's

Restaurant Polo's
Ranked #65 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Known for seafood but eclectic
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Seafood for 1!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had Mariscos Polo first on our "to do list" so went for dinner on first night. Food was prepared perfectly and presented beautifully. My daughter was disappointed because she did not like the sauce on her mahi mahi. No problem, they made her another without the sauce and she was very happy. Several days later, I asked if she wanted to return to Polo, she jumped up off the chair with a big smile and said, "Yes, lets go!" She ordered the Seafood for one and was in heaven.
The staff remembered her and joked with her. (She is 13 and you know it is hard to please at this age.)

Go, enjoy and promise yourself you will return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank buckeyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    112
    32
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been coming to Polo's for 13 years and this is our favorite Restaurant in Puerto Vallarta. We always have excellent service and great meals here. Their is something for everyone from seafood,steak,chicken and traditional Mexican dishes. If you don't see it on the menu they will do their best to make it for you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chyllypepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gourmet cuisine on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had this place on our list of places to eat, and boy are we glad we did. It is nothing fancy inside, but the food and service rival places that are much more expensive. Started with some excellent margaritas and guacamole, but the two mahi mahi dishes we had( one wrapped in bacon and stuffed with octopus and the other done in banana leaves with chipotle were simply amazing. Both dishes were attractively served and done to perfection. Christian and the other servers spoke excellent English( wish we were more proficient in Spanish) and the service was very attentive and gracious. Although we have other restaurants on our bucket lists for this years trip, I am sure we will return again to this fabulous restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lefthanded1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
166 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

A group of eight friends visited Polo's restaurant on 6th April and had a great evening. The food was excellent as was the service and the price was good too.
Before we ordered the food we enjoyed the usual tostadas and pico de gallo. I had a micholadada to drink and my wife had a margarita, both of which were very good.
I ordered a broiled whole red snapper and it was served with a nice selection of vegetables and rice. My wife had their bacon-wrapped shrimps, which also came with rice and veggies. We each a dessert....a chocolate cake for me and a cheesecake for my wife. Both were yummy and the envy of our friends who had already filled up on soups or salads before their main course. We also had coffee americano. The bill for the two of us, including the tip was 500 pesos. In Canada a meal like that would cost us $80 to $100....more than double the price we paid at Polo's.
Unfortunately we are headed home in a week and will probably not be able to get back to Polo's before we leave but it will certainly be on our list of favourites for next year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Authentic dining in casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stumbled upon this restaurant after asking a local pub proprietor where to find a quality fish and chicken dinner. The gentlemen kept the restaurant open and served what was the best dinner of the trip. Big portions, fresh ingredients, and a real variety of dishes for all diets. When the bill arrived, I was surprised as the cost was half of what I expected. If you like to get off the main drag into the heart of the old town, definitely visit "Polo's" as you wind down your day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Conal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Polo's also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Restaurant Polo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing