We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but not that special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Viejo Vallarta

Viejo Vallarta
Ranked #150 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mexican restaurant family owned since 1969. Water front dinning, beautiful sunsets on the boardwalk, full bar.
virginia
Level Contributor
807 reviews
487 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Okay, but not that special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and friends wanted to have Mexican food with an ocean view. Well, you kinda get what you pay for. We all had the $9 fajitas which were "good" but nothing special. The 60 pesos un-ending magaritas was the best deal. Service was friendly and professional. You will enjoy the view, with all the other tourists.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    87
    24
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Whole red fish is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant in our quest to find the best whole red fish in PV. It's located on the Malacon on the third floor and you have to walk through a restaurant to get to it. So keep walking to find the stairs up.
Red fish is very delicate and must be cooked carefully to keep from overlooking. The Viejo Vallarta cook grilled it to perfection. It was fully cooked and very moist. The fresh veggies and rice were also perfect. The presentation was colorful and added to the enjoyment of the meal.
The location overlooking the Malacon made things even better.
Our waitress Mimi was attentative without being a pest.
The Dos Equis made up for them not carrying Pacifco beer.
The price to value for food quality, location and atmosphere is excellent

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zfreebyrd2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great service, food and view of the Malecon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

This restaurant has a great view on the third floor of a building right in the middle of the Malecon. You can sit and people watch while enjoying really delicious Mexican food. The tortilla soup was excellent! More than anything else the service was what sold me. Ask for Fernando if you want a very funny and attentive waiter. I would definitely go back here!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duffy1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice Located Over the Malecon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My wife, I and 2 friends just had dinner at Viejo Vallarta and were quite impressed. The service was excellent and our waiter has highly entertaining, as well. The restaurant sits on the 3rd floor over looking the Malecon so while dining you can enjoy the sights below and hear the waves crashing. All 4 of us had a seafood dinner and all of us were very impressed. The prices were very reasonable and the quality and quantity of food was also very good. I would not hesitate to suggest this place to others and it now has gained a place on our list of "must eat's" while PVR.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JR0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry,IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I think I posted in hotel but need to in restraunt !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Worth the extra flight of stairs !!!! Excellent food and Margarita !!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viejo Vallarta also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Viejo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing