We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snorkeling opportunity”
Review of Ecotours de Mexico

Ecotours de Mexico
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ecotours Mexico is a small, family owned and operated Eco- Travel and Adventure Tour company that started operating in 1991, which makes them pioneers among the eco- tour operators in the country, we are also founding members of the Mexican Association of Adventure Travel and Eco-tourism (AMTAVE).We have led tours for international associations such as the World Wildlife Fund (WWF), the American Museum of Natural History in N.Y; the Saint Louis Zoo, and the National Wildlife Federation.At Ecotours de Mexico, we offer a different option for people who are interested in having a new and unique experience, who want to learn about the places they visit and are concerned about nature and conservationIn order to provide this, we have a great team of guides, mainly expert biologists and naturalists with a huge passion for nature. Our goal is to offer personal and professional attention on every one of our Eco- tours.Our tours are run based on the premise that you can't love that which you don't know, and we truly hope that after traveling with us you'll definitely share in our knowledge and our love for nature.Ecotours & ConservationBeing an authentic eco- tourism company, we have our own ongoing Humpback Whale research project since 1996. We are founder members of Ecologia y Conservacion de Ballenas (Ecology & Conservation of Whales) a NGO dedicated to research, conservation and protection of our oceans with main focus on Humbpack Whales. We have collaborate on the photo-identification project on the Humpback Whales and we are part of the Banderas Bay Humpback Whale Disentanglement Network. Ecotours is also involved in the Sea Turtle conservation program. We have been working as volunteers at different turtle camps in Michoacan and Oaxaca since 1990, and since 1998, we have been making donations and funding scholarships for the volunteers working at the main Turtle Camp in Banderas Bay. In 2010 we started actively supporting the conservation project of military macaws in the Sierra MadreWe believe education to be of outmost importance, and our staff frequently takes part in seminars at schools and universities in the area. We have also been invited to speak at several local, national and international tourism and eco- tourism conventions.
El Paso
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“snorkeling opportunity”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Booked at the beach at Barcelo hotel in Mismaloya. Crew took us to Los Arcos to snorkel. Because the tide was high which made snorkeling difficult, they also took us on a tour of the area and the coastline. Very accomodating guides.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleannElPaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    20
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Whale Watching ever”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A small tour with great guides. We saw so many whales, and babies we lost count. The staff are friendly and knowledgable. They seem to really love their job and go out of their way to make certain everyone aboard has a Great time while protecting the integrity of the wildlife.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAMFORD
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of the best things I've EVER done!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was truly an amazing experience for me. In a small Zodiac 12 of us ventured out into Banderas Bay for the whale-watching trip. Within 20 minutes or so we were 10 feet away from a mother humpback whale and her baby. We saw more than a dozen whales in all, displaying an amazing variety of behaviors: breaching, pectoral slaps, fighting, more...
We received detailed info about whale behavior, anatomy, conservation status, and many other topics from the wonderfully knowledgeable staff & crew. Because this tour is run by dedicated, responsible biologists (and not just a booze-cruise for yahoo tourists) we were afforded an incredible opportunity to experience these amazing animals in a fun & exciting setting, while learning a lot!

I HIGHLY recommend it!

Helpful?
1 Thank ofglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, TN
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superior whalewatching experience”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We took the Ecotour whalewatching tour March 6, 2012. Usually we book excursions through the cruise line, but decided to take a chance and book this tour online directly prior to leaving on the cruise. We thought we would have to cancel when we found PV's local time was an hour ahead of ship time which would not give us time to make the tour. We emailed Ecotours and they delayed the tour for us. This wasn't a problem for them because there were only 2 other couples signed up. Because one of the other couples cancelled due to illness, it turned out to be a 4 people tour along plus the biologists, Fernando and Carlos. Before we left the office, we were given a short lecture about whale anatomy and behavior and the opportunity to use the rest room (this might seem minor, but when we took a whalewatch tour in Cabo, a rest room was not offered and public rest rooms are hard to find) In addition to whales, we saw 2 different types of dolphins, rays, sea turtles, and Fernando even told us what kind of birds we were encountering. We were offered snacks and drinks and the zodiac even had a top to keep the sun off. This was without a doubt the most enjoyable whalewatching tour we're ever encountered. I highly recommend Ecotours.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_lover055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exciting Seadoo ride!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I shared a Seadoo for the Seadoo/snorkel trip. Ricco was our guide, he was so nice, and we had a really good time...I even got to throw my husband off my Seadoo, but he pulled me in too:). So much fun! Definately would do again. Our hotel recommended them and they where great!

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzieq198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecotours de Mexico also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Ecotours de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing